We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Basic, but Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Firstly I have to say the staff were fantastic. I arrived with a severely sprained foot and in a wheelchair. They did everything they could assist. The room is basic, but we weren't in it much. The location is great and easy to get to. You are 2 metres from your first coffee shop, 3 mins from clothing shops and lots of them, there is a big mall pretty at end if the street across the road and 10min walk to red light district.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    178
    78
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
155
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose this hotel for location, location, location and it was a perfect choice! Danielle at the front desk is truly delightful and assisted us in many ways; namely getting us a room quickly after our long day of travel. Thanks you, Danielle! However, the hotel could us some major upgrades like new carpeting and room furnishings. But, it's clean, convenient, and reasonable priced with breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just spent 5 days in Amsterdam and had a wonderful time. The hotel was in the middle of all the activities just a 10 minute walk from Central Station. The room was clean and tidy, and the right size for the 2 of us with a shower room as well. I was concerned when I saw we were next to the stairs, but thankfully did not hear any noise at all from there or anywhere else in the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful - no full english but plenty of fruit, cereals, meat and various breads. Coffee or Tea and other juices too. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was 110 - it did face other buildings but we weren't in there long enough to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My parents and I have just returned home from 5 nights here. Lovely hotel, good sized rooms, everything we needed in the room. Friendly helpful staff. Good continental breakfast. Brilliant location. The only very minor criticism was the TV in our bedroom which had a mind of its own - would suddenly switch off itself with practically no warning and no option to reverse it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good location beside the Dam, and not far from Central station (10 - 15 min. walk). The staff is very welcoming. We had a nice room, with view on the roofs, very charming. It's beside a busy street but it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

First off, it took me an hour walking around the Dam Square to finally find this place. Extremely hard to find if you are unfamiliar with the area. From the train station the taxi drivers will tell you it is a short walk, but I would demand they take you & offer how ever much of a tip you can! I ended up in a suite some how & it was very large. The wifi didn't work very well. There is a 24 hour snack service that I was unaware of at the front desk. It is a great location though. Very old though. I would request a room with a window where you can see the street atleast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We found this hotel online and were delighted with it's central location. We were easily able to walk aound the city for an afternoon.

The staff was friendly and our room was quite comfortable, (especially the beds). Breakfast the next morning was a definite plus for our stay. We'd stay here again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The hotel is small enough, only 3 floors, we couldn't say there were any obvious bad locations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.