We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #144 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manalapan, NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We found this hotel online and were delighted with it's central location. We were easily able to walk aound the city for an afternoon.

The staff was friendly and our room was quite comfortable, (especially the beds). Breakfast the next morning was a definite plus for our stay. We'd stay here again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The hotel is small enough, only 3 floors, we couldn't say there were any obvious bad locations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    224
    104
    17
    10
See reviews for
55
194
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

An old hotel with slightly tired decor, but great central location and delightful, efficient staff. Good continental breakfast included in room rates. Despite central location, my room on the third floor was quiet and free Wifi worked well in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here after finishing a river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. Despite pre booking and advising we would be arriving early we were unable to check into our room for several hours. Our room was on the 2nd flor and faced the street and we were subjected to noise until the early hours of the morning. The room was dark and it was difficult to read a book unless the drapes were opened. I suggest that better lighting be installed. The bed would have to be the worst one I have ever slept in. The hotel is in a good location but would need to improve before I would ever return there again. The night before we left we asked the lady at reception to book us a taxi and gave her a number to ring as we had a voucher for this particular company. Despite giving her the number she rang the number of the company they normally used and didn't tell us. The end result was when we arrived at the airport we were asked to pay an additional 35 Euros for a taxi when we had already purchased a voucher for another company.Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is located 10min walking from AMS central station and in the City center. The hotel is nice and comfortable. They have a great customer service at the reception and at the breakfast room. You will really enjoy the stay with them.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property last week for part of our European vacation. It's a bit of an older hotel, but well kept and GREAT location. It was only 5-10 minutes from the best attractions and had great food within the block. The hotel includes breakfast, which included tableside coffee service. We were able to check in VERY early since our plane landed around 8:00a - the hotel staff, especially Hilkka, was very friendly and helpful. She was able to switch rooms around so we could get in right when we arrived, which was great. Definitely a great option to stay at when we are next in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a pretty nice stay in this hotel for three nights. This hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam near shopping and restaurants. It's about a 15 minute walk from the central train station. The hotel staff is quite friendly and helpful. The hotel seems to have a mixture of older and newly renovated rooms. We had one of the older ones, but our friends had a renovated room, so we got to see both. Both rooms were very clean. Ours was very quiet which we like, but the lighting was rather dim and the space a bit small. We had a king size bed which was pretty comfortable. There was a sitting chair and a desk chair in the room. The bathroom was very spacious with a tub and shower and a long vanity so there was plenty of room for everything. Each room comes with a hot water pot and plenty of tea and coffee, so that was nice. Their breakfast buffet is quite good with a nice selection of cereals, breads, rolls, pastries, juices, yogurt, meats and cheeses, and of course coffee and tea. We would give this hotel strong consideration if we were to return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night before taking a river cruise that began in Amsterdam. Had a difficult time finding a hotel for May 1, King's Day, a big holiday in the Netherlands when Amsterdam was crowded. We were very lucky to find accommodations at the Best Western, and we were very pleased with our stay.

Centrally located on a side street near the large C&A department store. A 10-minute walk from the central train station. Dam Square was about a 3-minute walk. Other sights are walkable from the hotel, Anne Frank's home, Heineken beer tour, Flower Market, Canal tours, etc.

The hotel and rooms were new, clean, and quiet. Buffet breakfast was nice with a large selection of items, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, boiled eggs, breads, fresh fruits and juices.

Cute small cafes were nearby, just outside the hotel.

We felt safe and comfortable.

Would very likely stay here again and highly recommend the Best Western Dam Square to other travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.