We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here after finishing a river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. Despite pre booking and advising we would be arriving early we were unable to check into our room for several hours. Our room was on the 2nd flor and faced the street and we were subjected to noise until the early hours of the morning. The room was dark and it was difficult to read a book unless the drapes were opened. I suggest that better lighting be installed. The bed would have to be the worst one I have ever slept in. The hotel is in a good location but would need to improve before I would ever return there again. The night before we left we asked the lady at reception to book us a taxi and gave her a number to ring as we had a voucher for this particular company. Despite giving her the number she rang the number of the company they normally used and didn't tell us. The end result was when we arrived at the airport we were asked to pay an additional 35 Euros for a taxi when we had already purchased a voucher for another company.Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    197
    85
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
167
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Located near Dam square, right behind Nieuwe Kerk compares its price. From Central Station you are there in 10 minutes walk and from the hotel everything can be reached easily.
The hotel is nice, rooms are clean, staff is friendly and helpful, always ready to offer something unique.
Since 2008 every year we always choose this hotel to stay.
But you need to think in advance, as they are always fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is located 10min walking from AMS central station and in the City center. The hotel is nice and comfortable. They have a great customer service at the reception and at the breakfast room. You will really enjoy the stay with them.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property last week for part of our European vacation. It's a bit of an older hotel, but well kept and GREAT location. It was only 5-10 minutes from the best attractions and had great food within the block. The hotel includes breakfast, which included tableside coffee service. We were able to check in VERY early since our plane landed around 8:00a - the hotel staff, especially Hilkka, was very friendly and helpful. She was able to switch rooms around so we could get in right when we arrived, which was great. Definitely a great option to stay at when we are next in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a pretty nice stay in this hotel for three nights. This hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam near shopping and restaurants. It's about a 15 minute walk from the central train station. The hotel staff is quite friendly and helpful. The hotel seems to have a mixture of older and newly renovated rooms. We had one of the older ones, but our friends had a renovated room, so we got to see both. Both rooms were very clean. Ours was very quiet which we like, but the lighting was rather dim and the space a bit small. We had a king size bed which was pretty comfortable. There was a sitting chair and a desk chair in the room. The bathroom was very spacious with a tub and shower and a long vanity so there was plenty of room for everything. Each room comes with a hot water pot and plenty of tea and coffee, so that was nice. Their breakfast buffet is quite good with a nice selection of cereals, breads, rolls, pastries, juices, yogurt, meats and cheeses, and of course coffee and tea. We would give this hotel strong consideration if we were to return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night before taking a river cruise that began in Amsterdam. Had a difficult time finding a hotel for May 1, King's Day, a big holiday in the Netherlands when Amsterdam was crowded. We were very lucky to find accommodations at the Best Western, and we were very pleased with our stay.

Centrally located on a side street near the large C&A department store. A 10-minute walk from the central train station. Dam Square was about a 3-minute walk. Other sights are walkable from the hotel, Anne Frank's home, Heineken beer tour, Flower Market, Canal tours, etc.

The hotel and rooms were new, clean, and quiet. Buffet breakfast was nice with a large selection of items, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, boiled eggs, breads, fresh fruits and juices.

Cute small cafes were nearby, just outside the hotel.

We felt safe and comfortable.

Would very likely stay here again and highly recommend the Best Western Dam Square to other travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had four, triple rooms booked for my Hen weekend over 9th - 11th May. After some bad news on the night before we were due to travel, we needed to cancel one of the rooms as only 9 people would be attending. I called the hotel direct, and explained the circumstances and they were fully understanding and offered us free cancellation upon written request (even though there policy is free cancellation up to 24 hours in advance - they were willing to accomodate this even though we fell outside of this time span)

Hotel:
Brilliant location, about a 2 minute walk from Dam Square and only 10-15 minutes walk from Centraal Station. Rooms were big enough, and very clean. You need to use your hotel key to get into the corridor to the lifts / rooms - therefore also making it very safe.

In room facilities included 2 single beds, 1 pull down bed, hair dryer, kettle, safe, tv and toiletries.

Breakfast was adequate - usual European continental and not bad choices for £10pppd.

We were very happy with our stay, and would definitely return on future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.