We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great central location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great central location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Really nice, clean, friendly hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and varied. Room was nice - stayed in the front room, overlooked the coffee shop opposite which is a great little place for a pre-hotel coffee! Location is great and would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    167
    72
    13
    8
See reviews for
42
149
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Good location - and would suggest that's why cost was so high ! Room on 1st floor facing street, small and noisy overnight, both street noise and noise from corridor. Room was in much need of refurbishment, tired and needing 'freshened up'. On arrival, requested a room with a bath, and was advised, only 2 available in hotel and both being used ! Shower was ok, but after long walks around city, a relaxing bath would have been appreciated. Continental breakfast was enjoyable, great choice of cold meats, cheese ( Dutch cheeses would have been appropriate ) eggs, breads jam and fruit, cereal and juices too. We will consider other places in future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very nice, low cost hotel at the centre of Amsterdam, located just 1 min walk from Dam Square. Very friendly staff, good service, clean nice rooms with good Facilities. All and all this is the hotel i would reccomend for anyone looking for good price nice hotel in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've stayed in Best Western's outside the US before and they are generally nicer than the ones in the US. This one was small, clean, nice, and centrally located. Breakfast was pretty decent. No cooked food but plenty to choose from. Rooms were bigger than a lot of the tiny European rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is my second stay here and I still think its the best place to stay in Amsterdam. Just a minute away from dam square and 5 minutes to the train station, the location is just the best. Room we stayed this time was larger and more comfortable. Breakfast is good enough with cheese,eggs and a few types of ham, jams, cornflakes,muesli,dried fruits, fruit juices,tea,coffee. Little more of the Amsterdam cheese would make it better. Rooms are clean,shower is clean and water is hot always. amenities are standard 3-4 star hotel type. Room heating is good. Even though it is not looking to the street the room was getting enough light. Its not loud even though there is a coffee shop right across and the location is at dam square. Overall, it was yet another good stay. My only concern is the price and I say this for all Amsterdam Hotels. I think the correct value for this hotel should be around 120-150 euros /day at max yet we paid like 200 Euros on new years, booking 6 months in advance. I know it was a special time and prices are high but I also stayed earlier in 2013 and it was still like 160-170 Euros in March.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 6 nights here the first week of December. The rooms, while small by US standards, are more than adequate, very good sized for European rooms, and well laid out. We were on the third floor and found the room to be very quiet, despite the central location. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and everything was fresh and quickly restocked. While all of this was fine, there are two primary reasons to choose this hotel:
1. Location: While the hotel is on a quiet side-street, it is very centrally located. The choices of restaurants, bars and shops within a 5 minute walk are amazing.
2. The Staff: As others have commented on, the staff here is top-notch. A special kudos to Hussain at the front desk; he helped make our stay great. The hotel also provided all the guests with a St. Nicholas Day gift (we were there on December 5th). What a great touch! This will be our "go to" hotel for our future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Xmas break. Room ready upon arrival. Standard double room...small by American standards, but adequate for a few days. Hot water kettle was a big plus. Lobby and breakfast room were clean and inviting. Breakfast was fine - European style. Lobby was clean and inviting. Staff were really nice and fun...spent some pleasant time with Mustafa the night front desk man/bartender. Very nice guy! Really quiet street 100m from Dam Square. A nice coffeeshop (Barraka) right across the street. Also a nice cafe and a few good looking bars. 10 min walk to Centraal. Within 30 min walk of everything as far as Vondelpark. I highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.