We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Central Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #135 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Central Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very nice, low cost hotel at the centre of Amsterdam, located just 1 min walk from Dam Square. Very friendly staff, good service, clean nice rooms with good Facilities. All and all this is the hotel i would reccomend for anyone looking for good price nice hotel in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    213
    97
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
184
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've stayed in Best Western's outside the US before and they are generally nicer than the ones in the US. This one was small, clean, nice, and centrally located. Breakfast was pretty decent. No cooked food but plenty to choose from. Rooms were bigger than a lot of the tiny European rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is my second stay here and I still think its the best place to stay in Amsterdam. Just a minute away from dam square and 5 minutes to the train station, the location is just the best. Room we stayed this time was larger and more comfortable. Breakfast is good enough with cheese,eggs and a few types of ham, jams, cornflakes,muesli,dried fruits, fruit juices,tea,coffee. Little more of the Amsterdam cheese would make it better. Rooms are clean,shower is clean and water is hot always. amenities are standard 3-4 star hotel type. Room heating is good. Even though it is not looking to the street the room was getting enough light. Its not loud even though there is a coffee shop right across and the location is at dam square. Overall, it was yet another good stay. My only concern is the price and I say this for all Amsterdam Hotels. I think the correct value for this hotel should be around 120-150 euros /day at max yet we paid like 200 Euros on new years, booking 6 months in advance. I know it was a special time and prices are high but I also stayed earlier in 2013 and it was still like 160-170 Euros in March.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 6 nights here the first week of December. The rooms, while small by US standards, are more than adequate, very good sized for European rooms, and well laid out. We were on the third floor and found the room to be very quiet, despite the central location. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and everything was fresh and quickly restocked. While all of this was fine, there are two primary reasons to choose this hotel:
1. Location: While the hotel is on a quiet side-street, it is very centrally located. The choices of restaurants, bars and shops within a 5 minute walk are amazing.
2. The Staff: As others have commented on, the staff here is top-notch. A special kudos to Hussain at the front desk; he helped make our stay great. The hotel also provided all the guests with a St. Nicholas Day gift (we were there on December 5th). What a great touch! This will be our "go to" hotel for our future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Xmas break. Room ready upon arrival. Standard double room...small by American standards, but adequate for a few days. Hot water kettle was a big plus. Lobby and breakfast room were clean and inviting. Breakfast was fine - European style. Lobby was clean and inviting. Staff were really nice and fun...spent some pleasant time with Mustafa the night front desk man/bartender. Very nice guy! Really quiet street 100m from Dam Square. A nice coffeeshop (Barraka) right across the street. Also a nice cafe and a few good looking bars. 10 min walk to Centraal. Within 30 min walk of everything as far as Vondelpark. I highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have stayed here about 5 times now,the staff are so friendly nothing is to much trouble,rooms are basic but very clean.tea & coffee making facilities.Convienent for eating out,shopping .!0 mins walk to Anne Frank Museum ,art galleries .

Room Tip: Ask for a south side room on top floor,if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here got 2 nights
Room was small and there was a constant background drainage smell, not pleasant but not enough to ask for a room change.
There was a chocolate wrapper stuffed into the top of the headboard which wasn't the best regarding the cleaning.
Perfect central location in pleasant area
Lovely coffee shop directly opposite
Breakfast was fine for buffet breakfast with good service
Very pleasant staff
Had a slight problem with them requiring more euros when leaving, after getting fed up with arguing regarding extra cost for room we paid and left !
Only for our son to get text !! (Who also booked another room) to say sorry ..We should have refunded rather the recharged the euros
Son left items in room just confectionary gifts but on my message I was told "nothing was found" ! .. On my questioning of this I was then told the said items were found but disposed of ! ?
They were boxed confectionary gifts that were from lovely store and not cheap.
I wasn't expecting them to be dispatched to me free of charge but the fact that I was originally told they were not found has left me with a pretty sour taste ..and a slight feeling a small untruth.
Overall the hotel was in a prime spot.
The room was very dark.
The heating you could regulate to your own comfort, which was great as it was very hot in there.
Our bed was a tad on the soft side to the point I sank into the mattress so far I awake with shoulder pain on the first night .
It was pretty quiet hotel due to extra internal door between door entrance and sleeping
area .
Would I recommend this hotel ?
For the central location most defiantly,
The staff were really helpful and obliging
Just a couple of incidents that have prevented me from giving the 5* rating I could have :(

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.