We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, Amsterdam 1012 NM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here got 2 nights
Room was
small and there was a constant background drainage smell, not pleasant but not enough to ask for a room change.
There was a chocolate wrapper stuffed into the top of the headboard which wasn't the best regarding the cleaning.
Perfect central location in pleasant area
Lovely coffee shop directly opposite
Breakfast was fine for buffet breakfast with good service
Very pleasant staff
Had a slight problem with them requiring more euros when leaving, after getting fed up with arguing regarding extra cost for room we paid and left !
Only for our son to get text !! (Who also booked another room) to say sorry ..We should have refunded rather the recharged the euros
Son left items in room just confectionary gifts but on my message I was told "nothing was found" ! .. On my questioning of this I was then told the said items were found but disposed of ! ?
They were boxed confectionary gifts that were from lovely store and not cheap.
I wasn't expecting them to be dispatched to me free of charge but the fact that I was originally told they were not found has left me with a pretty sour taste ..and a slight feeling a small untruth.
Overall the hotel was in a prime spot.
The room was very dark.
The heating you could regulate to your own comfort, which was great as it was very hot in there.
Our bed was a tad on the soft side to the point I sank into the mattress so far I awake with shoulder pain on the first night .
It was pretty quiet hotel due to extra internal door between door entrance and sleeping
area .
Would I recommend this hotel ?
For the central location most defiantly,
The staff were really helpful and obliging
Just a couple of incidents that have prevented me from giving the 5* rating I could have :(

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    151
    64
    13
    9
See reviews for
35
127
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just came back from a one night stay (business and pleasure) and this hotel covered all my bases. The location was excellent, the double room tidy and clean, the breakfast sufficient and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the location being down an alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location, easy to find and friendly staff. Rooms are a bit worn out, but very clean, comfortable, warm, roomy (for the city centre) and kitted out with most mod cons that you'll need.

Breakfast was a bonus, and decent enough for a continental style breakfast, but the addition of bacon and eggs would have been lovely.

Our room was one of the one of the inner rooms, so ne real view as such and not much light through our window. Might get hot in the summer.

I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I come to Amsterdam every other year to attend a trade fair. I chose my hotel based on price, location and ease of access to transportation. The Best Western Dam Square Inn fulfilled all of my needs. In addition the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was wholesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is a great deal for the location and it's condition. Looked at so many local hotels and hostels before finding this gem. It is much cleaner than the hostels in the area for around the same price. Friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, and you are right downtown. Just a 2 minute walk to the red light district and about 10 minute walk from central station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Reception staff extremely helpful. Gave us map and advice around where to visit in town. Hotel great location, walking distance to everything. Breakfast was included and couldn't fault it. Service for tea and coffee quick and all you can eat buffet. Coffee shop straight across the road does the best cakes ever! The red velvet cake is to die for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was so small, we moved the one seedy comfy chair to a corner in the hallway, as there was no room to move around. But staff was very friendly. So-so WiFi, good one day and not usable the next day. Great location and wonderful breakfast. This hotel is on a walking street - which allows cars and taxis to unload before noon. The nearby parking garage was REALLY expensive - 52 Euros per day or 2 Euros every 20 minutes. No wonder Amsterdam was not difficult to get around by car - but watch out for the thousands of bicycles. The little coffeeshop across from the front door of the hotel was really good, but only open for breakfast and lunch. Another Italian restaurant nearby was horrible - more of a bar only. We didn't eat at any really good restaurants, but got names on the last day from the staff. Close to the Red Light District, which was really fun to walk around at night - very safe. Lots of tourists. I'd stay here again, despite lousy room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Dam Square Hotel
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, Amsterdam 1012 NM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.