We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, basic, no frills, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“clean, basic, no frills, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location couldn't be better - walking distance to Central Station, close to Dam Square, trams and canals. Staff were great - pleasant and knowledgeable. Hotel was full on our arrival (0700 - early flight). Reception provided access to toilets, luggage storage for the day, walking plan of the city, suggestions for ways to spend the day. We checked at 1400. Room we had requested (quiet - interior courtyard) was ready. Room was pretty basic but clean and airconditioned. Bed was softer than we prefer...Breakfast was advertised as continental, but included hard boiled egg, sliced meats and cheeses, tea, coffee, juice - much better than expected.
Good value for money, we thought.

Room Tip: our 2nd floor room faced the interior courtyard - quite quiet - very little street noise (the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    171
    77
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
150
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC 'burbs
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We picked this hotel for two reasons: location and cost. The location is outstanding, about a 10 minute walk from Central Station, 1 block to Dam Square, 1 or 2 blocks to multiple tram lines, 3 blocks to the Red Light district, and lots of restaurants and taverns in the area. We discovered that September is a busy conference season in Amsterdam and that hotel rates go up, so most of the hotels that we would normally have chosen would have cost 2 or 3 times as much as we paid, so, recognizing that Best Western is essentially a good hotel, we went with it. It was a good choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. The carpets should be replaced or at least cleaned. The rooms on the street side are noisy. We (and our travel companions) had trouble getting the TV channels to work properly. The staff seemed perplexed and it seemed to be problems with wiring connections. We would go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 117 which is on the street side and our traveling companions were in 115 which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in August for work. Is a 2/3 star hotel in a pretty central area of Amsterdam and although very basic and in need of a facelift, was pretty clean and provided a quiet night's sleep. Imagine a rough-around-the-edges Travelodge and you're not far off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location of the gotel is ideal to cover all the main points of the city. The staff is very polite and helpful. However our room in the second floor (don't rebember the number) needed a change of mattress and a deep cleaning of the carpet!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Depending on what you are looking for, this could be a great hotel for you in Amsterdam. It is not a 5 star luxury resort. It is a small, clean, well located hotel. The staff was excellent. They gave me great recommendations for a walking tour of the town, and stayed out of my way when I didn't want to talk to them. My room on the first floor was simple, but clean, and the Wifi worked.

On a side note, there is a great bar just down the street with a fine selection of Belgian beers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Dam Square hotel is ideally located just off the main square on a pretty narrow street with cafes and restaurants. It is a short walk to the shops, Amsterdam museum, station and the red light district.

It is perfectly clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. We booked Dam Square in at the last minute when our original hotel proved unpleasant. It was the same price but so much better in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the location. It is an excellent location for walking and sight-seeing in Amsterdam. Dam Square is just minutes away, central station is a 15 minute walk or a $6 cab ride. The Red-Light District is just blocks from the hotel as are the canals and shopping.

The hotel itself is basic - small rooms but very comfortable. We had a triple room and it was sufficient. The air conditioning crashed the first night but was fixed by the next afternoon. The free breakfast is a nice perk. It is continental but does the job first thing in the morning. The free wireless internet was great with a strong signal.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early (9am) after an all night flight from Toronto and were able to check into our room and catch a nap before venturing out to explore. We took a cab from the airport and it was about 60 Euros with tip. You can catch a train for 4 Euros from Shipol Airport if you like - it is quick but a little akward with large bags.

There are lots of nice little cafe's and restaurants nearby with a wide range of ethnic food choices. We never had a bad meal, the food was great.

Just beware of cyclists - they don't stop for pedestrians, almost worse than New York City, ha ha.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.