We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay location, bit difficult to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay location, bit difficult to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for four days. It's nothing really special, the location is OK and near most 'attractions' in Amsterdam. The front rooms are a bit noisy, especially since there's a bar and a coffee shop nearby. On request I moved to a room in the back which was much better. Breakfast wasn't that special either, it was adequate though. Staff was very friendly!

Personally I'd advice this hotel if you're only staying a few days, and are in Amsterdam for business or if you're on a tight budget. If you are visiting Amsterdam for a longer period, there are other hotels you should consider.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Pvanberlo,
Thank you for your review. I'll pass on the compliments to our staff! Hope to see you next time in lovely Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    172
    74
    13
    9
See reviews for
42
149
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Location: The hotel is a few steps away from Dam Square although it is hidden behind the church and it took me ages to find it. (DO NOT use Google Maps as it is in the wrong location on there!) It is just two or three stops from the train station by tram to get to Dam Square. So the hotel is ideally placed for shopping or sightseeing in the surrounding area. If you want go to the museums or enjoy the nightlife you do have to take the tram or face a rather long walk.
Hotel: The hotel really isn't the prettiest and you can definitely see signs of old ages (especially the windows). I was first given a room facing the street and it took me just a minute to realise that it would be too noisy for me. The rooms facing the back are nice and quiet though. The room is a decent size and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit strange as the sink was sort of squashed between the wall and the shower. All in all the room was fine and I felt comfortable in there.
Breakfast: The room is actually quite nice but the breakfast did not offer much variety. It did however have a good range of cereals and fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Quiet room facing the back with a bathroom where you can actually access the sink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Shanghainese8,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to see that you liked our back rooms and will assure you that we are taking your remarks seriously! We are glad to hear that you where comfortable in our hotel. Hope to see you again in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Short walk from central station ,arrived at 10am and they had a room for us if not they had a luggage room for storage.Room 209 is small and at the front facing a street can be noisy at times .
Beds where very comfortable en suite was dated but good shower , safe for valuables free of charge. Continental breakfast was very good,Staff where very helpful all have excellent English as do most Dutch people we met.But the best thing about this hotel is the location around the corner from Dam Square , walking distance from all attractions

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you are a light sleeper 209 is a small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear MarcoIreland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor, It is very good to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. I will make sure that our staff gets your compliments!! Hope to see you again in beautiful Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading pretty good reviews. So was surprised when i checked in. - The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby is modern, free wifi and breakfast included. But the room was outdated with broken bed lamps and switches. The bathroom was very basic and worn out. The front rooms are close to a bar open to the late hours and did disturb my sleep..Hotel has free wifie and a really good generous help yourself breakfast with fresh fruit cereals and bread. However, for the money paid I would of expected a higher standard of room.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms at the front of the hotel. - Adjacent bar open very late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We can assure you that we have resolved the issues in the room. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you. You can email me directly at Francina@bestwesterndamsquareinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My room had a separate shower room with lots of space. It had all the things I like, a good size desk with power sockets and a bright desk light (dimmable). TV, and fairly rare on the continent, a kettle, tea bags and instant coffee.

Breakfast - breads, fruit, juices, tea/coffee, ham, cheese, eggs, yoghurt, cereals etc.

Reception is attractive the rooms are good, the breakfast room is nice, the corridors are a bit bleak and feel like being on a ship, don't let that put you off, how long do you spend in te corridor?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good value hotel well located quite close to Van Gogh museum, short walk to Central station.
I got buffet breakfast included in room price.
Had a room on 3rd floor that overlooked a very small inner courtyard.
his is defiantly not a 5 star hotel, but great value for the location...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having been to Amsterdam many times, we had spotted this hotel on our last visit and decided to try it out as its location is absolutely perfect for Dam Square and our favourite haunts.

We stayed here early November 2012 for a 'big' birthday - and we had 6 twin/double rooms booked. As it was my birthday they had upgraded my husband and I to the Bootz Suite, and I felt very special indeed.

The standard rooms were all clean, although varied in size a bit - from compact to spacious.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from the initial booking process through to checkout, and I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade, ask for the Bootz Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.