We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
east riding of yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

we stayed for 1 night. it took us ages to pick a good location and hotel but we finally pick this one. we have stayed with the company before last year in bussey saint george France and could not fault them hence going again in Amsterdam. we got there early and the room was not ready til 2 but they let us unload our bags into the store room which left us free to roam and sight see. they informed us that the double bedroom was not big enough to put an extra bed in for our 8yr old but had put us in the triple for the same price as the double. once in the room it did smell of smoke but with Holland not having a no smoking policy i did expect it but we opened the window and went out while the air blew threw. the beds were good and comfy the room was clean the location was excellent for us with our 8yr for walking to and eating could not of picked a better location. the breakfast was plentiful and eat as much as you want. once again as we had to be out of the room by 11 and not getting collected until 5 they let us put our bags in the store room til we needed them. all in all i would recommend and stay there again.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    191
    82
    14
    8
See reviews for
43
164
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Great location just off Dam Square in a nice little lane.
Hotel is clean and comfortable and is what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Nothing special about the rooms or facilities.
However this hotel scores very high on value for money, exceptionallly helpful staff and good breakfast.

We paid 79 euros for a double room including a nice breakfast.
Now if you are expecting bacon.eggs and blackpudding then you will be disaoppointed but if you like fresh breads. cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit and cereal washed down by good coffee and fresh juice then you will enjoy it.

Staff very helpful and efficient.

Room was quiet and spacious although bathroom was small but very modern and clean.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Corridors
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Myself and two girlfriends stayed at The Tulip Inn Dam Square for 3 nights in November, thanks once again to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor I booked a lovely hotel which was central to everything in Amsterdam, just what we required.
Arriving at Schipol airport we came through arrivals and walked straight to the railway station just follow the signs, to take the train to Amsterdam Central, really easy, trains run every 20 mins, you get your tickets from a yellow ticket machine (3 euros and 60 cents one way) then the train journey takes about 15 mins. When you exit the railway station be aware of the trams and of course the bicycles which are everywhere.
We walked from the station to the hotel which took about 10 to 15 mins with cases, just head to Dam Square, the hotel is easy to find.
On arrival we were checked in really quickly by nice staff and then shown to the lift to take us to the floor our room was on. I had requested a quiet room on a high floor with 3 single beds and this was just what we got. The room was clean and of a good size with heating and duvets on the extra long beds rather than sheets, there was coffee making facilities, tv and a nice size bathroom with a walk in corner shower and soft towels, there was also a hairdryer. This is the cleanest bathroom i have seen in any hotel i have stayed in.
The room rate included breakfast in the lovely breakfast room which was never busy but always had plenty of food on offer, you had a choice of tea or coffee which was brought to your table, you then served yourself to cereals, fruit juices, cold meats, cheeses, yogurts,rolls, toast and fresh fruit, a great leisurely start to the day without feeling you had to rush.
There was also a bar in the foyer of the hotel, not that we used it as there is so many bars to choose from just outside the hotel especially St Pauls bar and restaurant which is 2 doors away from the hotel, very relaxed atmosphere with nice food.
The other bar and restaurant i must recommend is one we found close to the red light district called Het Karbeel in a street called Warmoesstratt, an excellent find with attentive staff and a wonderful menu, we ate here two evenings out of the three we were in Amsterdam. The cheese fondue was mouth watering as a starter and the king prawn was too die for. Both nights we spent over four hours eating our meal, nothing was rushed and we felt totally relaxed, the glass of Port at the end of the meal was the icing on the cake.
This was a great city break, nice hotel in a central location just what you need without having to spend a fortune. I couldn't fault the hotel at all and would recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the hotel, nice breakfast, central to all the sights.
  • Disliked — No safe in room.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. it was a fantastic hotel and great value for money. The hotel is right in the centre of the town and situated beside dam square and the dam rak. The room we stayed in was massive with your own tea and coffee facilities. The room and hotel were spotless. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a selection of breads, hams, cheese, fruit or cereals. I would advise everyone looking for a perfect hotel right in the centre of amsterdam to book this one.

  • Liked — That it was right beside everything and also that no one could access through the door to go upstairs without their room key, this mean't no one could walk of the street into the hotel.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I stayed at the Tulip Inn Dam Square for 10 nights in March/April. Overall, it was a positive experience. The hotel is in a perfect loction, regardless of what you want. With 3 tram stops within one block of the hotel, you can get anywhere quickly. All major attractions are within walking distance if your willing to walk 20 minutes or so. Its on a quiet street with a few bars (hit the one on the corner) and other attractions. For those interested, there are 2 coffee shops right accross the street (10 yards maybe) and the main RLD as well as a second are minutes away by foot. The location can't be beat. The room was clean, small but reasonable size, with a comfortable bed. I had a little mold in the shower, but otherwise the bathroom was fine as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good depending on your expectations. Tea, coffee, milk, OJ, a few cereals, rolls, other pastries, a variety of cheese and lunch meats, and yougart. I enjoyed it, but did find myself just making sandwhiches each day. If you want a full hot brekfast, there is plenty around the area. Worth noting, I did have some problems with them recognizing I had paid for my trip using an large internet travel site. It was eventually resolved, but not after a big scare. If you book over the inet and prepay, make extensive efforts to get that clarified before you leave. Also, the internet is a bit pricy (5 euro per 1/2 hour) and the access is in the loby. The rooms have data ports, but they appeared to be disabled. Cheaper internet is in the local shops, but if you want it in the room, this isn't the place for you. I would consider staying at this hotel when I go back to Amsetrdam. I wish it had in room internet access, but otherwise, relly enjoyed my stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower- had some mold and was tiny
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

Me and my wife stayed in this tulip hotel for 6 nights. In Amsterdam hotels often charge more than they are worth so i chose this hotel mostly based on tripadvisor reviews. I wanted to stay near Damrack so location was perfect. The hotel didnt disapoint me. I was relieved when we arrived and entered a nice lobby with a bar and a nice reception, everything ok. Also, we arrived at 1pm and the room was already ready for us.Clean room, nice bed, small tv with remote but tv wasnt really important, there is a phone with answering machine, window to the front street but we didnt hear noise at night or morning because its a quiet street, nice bathroom with window to the front street too, a nice shower but water pressure was a bit weak, they offered coffee and tea and we could make them in the room. there is an elevator, the corridors are also clean.For breakfast they had diferent types of bread, corn flakes, boiled eggs, youghurt, coffee, tea, cheese, etc.. but it could be a lot better. Dont expect a big breakfast. Staff was nice, all of them.
i noticed that some of the rooms didnt have a window facing the front street, but they had a window facing an inside terrace instead, wich wasnt ok for me. if i had stayed in one of those rooms i would probably be complaining here, instead of saying that as long as you get a room similar to the one we got, you will be happy. Its not expensive by amsterdam standards, you pay but its safe, and the location is great, so it justifies the difference in price to similar hotels with not so good locations.
I would stay there again.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — weak water pressure in shower
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne (United Kingdom)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We had two night break in late May 07 in Amsterdam, we stayed at the Tulip Inn Dam Square.

If you are like my wife and myself who looks for a clean, well run hotel situated in the heart of the city, this is the hotel for you.

For a 3* hotel it far surpassed our expectations, the rooms were fairly large with a beutiful bathroom and plenty wardrobe space, air condition and t.v. ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you require total peace and quiet. The breakfast which was included in the price was continental style, the variety was exceptional and the staff were very attentive. The reception staff were very helpful and assisted us with all our enquiries about getting around the city and places to go.

The only downside to this hotel is that one of the lanes that leads to the hotel has a fair bit of graffiti on the walls, we were not put off by this but i thought it might be worth a mention.

This hotel could not be better situated, you are within walking distance of most of the main sites and shops. Unless you are a tourist who finds faults in everything you will not be disappointed with this hotel

  • Liked — Clean, well run hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike at this hotel
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.