We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Msk
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two night. It takes 10 minutes to go in the hotel by walk. The street is small and there are a lot of people but they did not make a noise. Staff was helpful. There is tea maker in the room. Wi-fi internet was good. Room was clear, bed is comfortable. Bathroom is good and clean. Breakfast was modest, but not bad. Minus: hotel took 50 euro guarantee fee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    197
    86
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
168
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This Hotel is a real gem, it is very clean and great value and best of all only a few yards for Dam Square in the Heart of Amsterdam.Staff were also very friendly and made its a very pleasant stay.Only a 5 to 10 min walk from Central Station which links you to the Airport. Would defo recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Best Western Dam Square Inn in downtown Amsterdam is nicely located within walking distance to the Main Train Station and with train access to points around the city and close access to canal cruises, shopping streets. The reception staff are always helpful and nearby are a number of good restaurants and pubs. Check out the all-you-can-eat Sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel was right in the center of city just 5 minutes walking from city rail station connecting Airport and Europe. Tram connections, Canal cruise, shopping street, restaurants, Tour departures too were very close. Staff was very helpful and kind. The room was very small, but our overall stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: Take higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Bad service, bad attitude, bad quality... :(
I used to love this hotel, but I will never come here again. The cleaning lady broke my laptop, denied it and then the manager blamed me for leaving my laptop on the room's carpet. So I wouldn't go there if you plan to leave valuable belongings in places where the hotel thinks it is ok to break them. Of course, no compensation for my broken laptop was offered. I used to go there a lot and it really saddens me to be treated this way.

Room Tip: DO NOT put anything on the floor (including your suitcase), they are NOT responsible for any damage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam on 2 January so the streets of Amsterdam were filthy! There was litter everywhere! We walked from the Central Station to the hotel (about 2.5kms) not bad and instructions on how to get there worked, but when we arrived in our street we were shocked that that was where we had to walkled down - quite dodgey! Once found the hotel wasn't as bad as the rest of its surroundings. The rooms are quite old fashioned and carpets are dated. There were two single beds pushed together - which I hate (hardly romantic!) and no curtains - it was winter and the sun only rose at 9h30 but still it made the room cold and unfriendly. Towels were the size of my bath mats at home and could hardly wrapped around me. The buffet breakfast was just cereal, youghurt and toast.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We only stayed one night in the hotel during a mini cruise from Hull to Amsterdam so we chose it mainly for the location as we were only staying for 2 days. Being just around the corner from Dam, it was within easy walking distance of just about everything and being a very flat city, you can do LOTS of walking!
The hotel itself was extremely nice and exceptionally clean. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and spoke very good English. The rooms were quite large with a great big comfy bed which made it even better for us being as the tiny single beds on the ferry across were not that great! The rooms had everything in them you could need including a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. The breakfast was nice but didnt have as much choice as other hotels i have stayed in, including other Best Westerns. Overall this was a great choice of hotel and i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.