We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for car drivers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New West Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
New West Inn Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location for car drivers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Good location especially if you come by car. It is located in a nice and safe suburb in the western part of Amsterdam. It is easily reachable from Ring 10. You can easily reach the city centre by tram n. 17. A ride takes ~30', the tram stop is 10' away from the hotel.

The hotel is clean and we'll-maintained. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    283
    178
    58
    51
See reviews for
97
227
28
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We paid 49 euros for one night which I found very reasonable as all other hotels nearer to the city centre were almost double. It has a nice bar and restaurant with a limited menu of pizza and spaghetti dishes. Friendly staff and clean rooms with a nice powerful shower. We found a nice Turkish restaurant about 10 minutes walk away. You can get here with the number 17 tram from the city centre and a 10 minute walk. It very quiet as it is away from the main road.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Reformed hotel in the west new area of Amsterdam. Free parking in the street, clean room and bathroom and very kind staff. There are a lot shops and supermarkets in the surrending area where it is possible to find the tram (line 17) and stay in the Central Station in 15-20 minutes.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Free parking, very friendly staff and the room was perfectly good. The walk to the tram is 5-10 minutes, very pleasant through the park. about 30mins on the tram to centrum, 2.80 euros. The location is a bit out but the price was good, 49 euro for a double room we paid. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel is a basic hotel and nothing fancy. We were able to check-in late in the evening, and we had to pay at check-in. When we got to our room we discovered that the sink didn't work properly. We notified the front desk and the maintenance guy came soon after. He wasn't able to fix it so they gave us another room as well as a complimentary breakfast. The shower was a bit funny since it was hard to regulate the hot water. Otherwise it was a comfortable room with a decent bed.

The hotel staff gave good service and were friendly and helpful. They showed us where we could find a supermarket to buy food, which was about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the hotel. This was necessary as the breakfast wasn't worth 10 Euros per person. Glad we got one breakfast free.

The best thing was that we were able to park our car for free in the hotel parking lot. Most places I could find the parking cost 25-30 Euros per day. The tram to go into the city center was about 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and it was at least a 20 minute ride to Dam square. Also, it was easy to travel from the hotel to other nearby towns or cities.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the top floor. We had pigeons above us and it was hard to sleep with the thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The good bits .... Price, quite reasonable for a family sized room. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was OK. not a huge choice, especially if you have a fussy eater in your party (remind me not to take mother in law next time :) ) , but the food was hot and tasty and again service friendly. Price for 3 meals and a beer / soda ~€ 40.00

The location was out of town and as we had an 84 year old with us we opted for a taxi. The hotel used a taxi company that was good, friendly and again reasonable. We paid € 33 for a trip into town (same price for the trip to the airport - and for 3 people that was less than the shuttle buses which are €17 per person).

Tip - Try to get the Hotel to arrange a taxi to collect you from the airport. we were charged €45 to the hotel from the airport taxi company.

The room was OK - beds were comfortable, but no tea / coffee making facilities, holes in the curtains, a missing light bulb and missing curtain. To be fair to the hotel, they did resolve these issues but it shows that regular proactive maintenance isn't carried out

People with mobility issues make find it hard to use the bath if they were in the room we had due to the layout.

It does have free wifi

We didn't venture out in the evening due to Mother in Laws mobility, but there didn't seem much around locally (ie bars / restaurants). It served its purpose for a few nights I won't be rushing back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.