We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New West Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
New West Inn Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Exactly what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel during summer, with my friends and it was the perfect choice for us, it was clean, the room
looked good enough, the people were very nice, the breakfast was ok if you are not pretentious.
It was a little bit far(10
min to the tram station - 15 min with the tram-2.8 euros/person) from
the Dam square, the tram worked until 12:00 in the night, once we had to take the taxi :26 euros from Dam square. For some young couples who took trips all day and all we needed was a place to sleep and shower, it was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NewWestInnAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
We sincerely thank you for choosing New West Inn and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you think so highly of our hotel and service. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
New West Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    249
    160
    53
    46
See reviews for
90
199
25
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Rude and aggressive staff! who are racist! Actually have the audacity to raise their voices at guest!
We had bloodstained sheets, no kettle or wifi which came with our package, No hot water in the bathroom! The bathroom had a strong stench of urine!
We had to get the police involved to get a refund! The Manager had to eat his own words!
Too far out form the city centre! stay at the flying Pig or somewhere in central as you will be spending the same amount of money on travel differences!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, you will ruin your holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is not bad. It's a good option for people who wants to save some money and don't mind that the hotel is far from the center. It doesn't have much, the wifi signal was very poor in our rooms and the decoration is a little bit old.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for a business stop in this hotel.
The room is clean, spacious, compared to the price, the bathroom functional and spotless. The breakfast absolutely sufficient. Parking is in front of the hotel on the public road and a non-guarded parking place of the hotel, but well illuminated at night.
Very satisfying, compared to the price of this all!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel's location close to the outscirts is a big plus for those travelling with a car, otherwise tram #2 will take you straight to the centre after cca.1 km walk to it. Metro is also in 10 min. walking distance.
Service is sufficient, staff is professional and friendly, beds were changed daily. Local pizza/pasta place is open until late, beer is a bit expensive, as in all hotels all over the world.
The biggest trick is that there is a "main" hotel with decent size rooms etc., and there is a "hostel" building opposite with really small rooms, windows being screwed to the wall, no AC and the overall cheap feeling.
Make sure you know what you are getting before getting exited about such a bargain price in a hotel with such nice pictures.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing I would of been happy to pay double the price! The food was great staff were so helpful It was so clean and cosy i would defo come back again already looking at my next trip! Thanks for making our holiday the best! Chelsea

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWestInnAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing New West Inn and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you think so highly of our hotel and service. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
New West Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed in a double room for two nights. The room and bathroom was spacious, clean and nice, there's also a TV and safe in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful! There's also a restaurant/bar in the hotel, but the food is not very good.. Though the hotel is located outside the city centre it's fairly easy to get there, and there's also a tiny park close to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.