We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too horrible location, typical rooms, poor water temperature” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New West Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
New West Inn Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not too horrible location, typical rooms, poor water temperature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The location, while far out of the city is easy to make up with the tram system that is a mere 10 minute walk from the hotel along the canal. The rooms are quite typical, and quiet, no noise issues for us. We had a 3 bed room, and it was a typical 2 bed room with a cot tossed in for the third bed, nothing overly nice or really that comfortable in the form of a third bed, just basic. The other two beds were quite comfortable, and the room itself was well suited and seemed to have been refit recently.

The downfall was the showers in the morning and the inconsistent water temperature which came from the shower. This made showering more difficult then it needed to be as the showers seem to zip between cold to boiling hot quickly. We tried to hold off and use the showers at night, rather than in the morning and the same issue persisted.

Other than that, the hotel doesn't seem as friendly on walk up or arrival at night as many of the clients seem to be out front for a cigarette. While this area is known to not be a very nice one, we had very few issues with locals or other guests in or within the area of the hotel over our 2 night 3 day stay.

Over all, if you are looking for a hotel outside the centre of Amsterdam with good links to all that the city has to offer and out to the airport, this hotel seems like a prime candidate as long as the hot water issue isn't a constant problem seen throughout other reviews. I'd suggest the place even with this problem as for dollar value we did end up getting a nice room, in a fairly O.K location with the tram link, so I don't have too much to complain about over all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    261
    163
    55
    48
See reviews for
91
204
26
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my two teenage children. We found the hotel to be spacious,clean and good value for money. It is easy to catch either a 61 or 69 bus from Schipol airport to the hotel and it's only a ten minute walk from there. We bought a GVB travel pass at tourist information in the airport, and this worked out an economical way to get about in the city. The staff at the hotel are very helpful. The breakfast buffet is good and stays open until 11am at the weekend which I thought was good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to other tripadvisors. I thought the area around the hotel was nice and transport to the city easy. Tram 17 takes you to Central station or you can catch tram 17 then change and catch tram 1 for Museumplein. Shame that there was no kettle in the room but for this price I can't really complain. Many thanks New west inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWestInnAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We sincerely thank you for choosing New West Inn and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at New West Inn and that you are so positive about our staff, the room and the location.
We really hope you will come and stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam

Kind regards
New West Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked this hotel to stay from this coming April 29th through to May 2nd. Due to a medical emergency last week, it was declared it was medically unsafe for me to travel. I called to cancel my reservation (I booked online through a 3rd party site), and was told that, even with a medical certificate, I would not be able to receive a refund for any portion of my stay, even though it was 5 full days prior to our check-in date. We even asked if we could get a credit, as we're hoping to re-schedule shortly, and we're told that was not a possibility either.

Out of 12 hotel reservations we made for our 3-week trip, only this hotel and 1 other hotel refused to refund our money. I just wanted to ensure others were aware before they purchased.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed in the New West Inn for three nights. It was ok. It is outside Amsterdam centre, but the tram stop is only a few minutes walk away and they run very often. The rooms are very big, but basic. The heating is erratic, and cannot be controlled individually, despite the thermostat in the room. The room was clean, but only superficially, the carpet was quite stained. Didn't have breakfast, but the buffet looked quite good. Some of the staff were friendly, some not. The advertised WiFi did not work well on the sixth floor, unfortunately. The bar prices were ok, comparable to downtown Amsterdam. It suited fine as a place to sleep, but lacked in atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWestInnAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review regarding your recent stay at New West Inn.
Your compliments and feedback are from great importance to us to constantly update our level of service!
Again, thank you very much for leaving your comments and I do hope to welcome you back once more.
Kind regards,
New West Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the remco hotel, service was excellent, bar and restaurant are Lovley very welcoming, staff very smiley and friendly, would defently stay here again. We particularly thought zibby the bar man was great and was very helpful explaining how to get to certain places. Rebecca and cheryl from England. Xx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWestInnAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review.
Your feedback is truly appreciated and I will ensure that your kind words about Zibi will be shared with him!
Hopefully we see you back again soon!
Kind regards,
New West Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.