We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, x” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New West Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
New West Inn Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it, x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the remco hotel, service was excellent, bar and restaurant are Lovley very welcoming, staff very smiley and friendly, would defently stay here again. We particularly thought zibby the bar man was great and was very helpful explaining how to get to certain places. Rebecca and cheryl from England. Xx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWestInnAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review.
Your feedback is truly appreciated and I will ensure that your kind words about Zibi will be shared with him!
Hopefully we see you back again soon!
Kind regards,
New West Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    247
    157
    53
    45
See reviews for
88
197
25
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I visited the remco hotel twice last year and was not disappointed. The staff are very friendly and the hotel very clean. The rooms are basic but have everything that you need for an enjoyable stay. They hotel is out of the city centre but we saw this as a plus. The surrounding are is beautiful with canals, park areas and lots of wildlife! Perfect for renting bikes and having an explore! The tram stop is not far from the hotel and only takes around 20 minutes into the city, and there is a night bus as well. I would recommend this hotel as it is amazing value for money and a good choice if you want to experience less touristy parts of amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 4 star review. The hotel is indeed not in the city center but just outside it. Like you said some of our guests see it as a positive thing. Most of the hotels that are inside the city center are much more expensive. Our hotel is just outside the city center, therefore we have lower prices and you are not far from the city center. and there is a good public transport connection day and night, so you can reach the city center within 20 minutes.
We are so happy if you will come back and stay with us again. We cannot wait to welcome you in our hotel again!
Kind regards,
New West Inn (former Remco Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel has recently changed it's name to New West Inn,
The hotel is a bit out of the way but only a 10 min walk to Tram Stop €2.80 into City centre, cab costs about €35,
The room was spacious and beds very comfy, the toilet is good with a powerful shower, drink prices were a bit steep but ok, coffee was €2.50 for a wee cup, breakfast is €10 you get Boiled Eggs, cold scrambled eggs, cold streaky bacon sitting in cooking oil, you get corn flakes, coco pops & muesli, there is a small selection of cold meats, natural youghurts, and various bread with a toaster, tea & coffee & juice
The staff were good, bar closes at 11pm during week and 12pm fri-Sat

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review. So nice to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are positive about our rooms and staff.
We hope you will choose our hotel again next time you come to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,
New West Inn (former Remco Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is another hotel on our car trip in Europe. It was basic, but we had everything that we needed. My wife and son were happy to be together, so maybe 90% of the trip and reviews usually depend on mood as well. beds were comfortable as well. We like breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 4 star review. We hope you will choose our hotel again next time you come to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,
New West Inn (former Remco Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendes, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is nice, comfortable and very clean. The staff is extraordinarily helpful! The only problem is the distance to downtown. It takes almost 30 minutes to get to where everything happens and they close at midnight, or 1230am, after that, you have to catch a taxi which is aproximately 35 Euros to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 5 star review. The hotel is indeed not in the city center but just outside it. A lot of our guests see this as a positive thing. Most of the hotels that are inside the city center are much more expensive. Our hotel is just outside the city center, therefore we have lower prices and you are not far from the city center. There is a good public transport connection day and night, so you can reach the city center within 20/25 minutes.
Once again we would like to thank you for your nice review, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Remco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Remco Hotel and overall its a terrible hotel we would not recommend it to anyone.
The area of the hotel is quiet and creeps you out a bit while walking to the tram (as there s nothing else around to walk to..) On our first night going out a beggar welcomed us in the front of the hotel. Also, it is quite far from center and the tram (reachable in 15' on foot) takes 30 min to get you there.
As for the room (we were on the fourth floor), as soon as we entered we noticed how cold the room was, the heating panel showed 24 C but didnt react to any changes, the heating was clearly broken. Then we noticed a small heater in one corner of the room, which also didnt work. So we went back down immediately and complained about the temperature. The receptionist told us that her colleague set "now" the room temperature to 24 C again and it will be warm in latest 30 Min. Going back up again, we noticed that the heating still didnt work, only the small heater in the corner suddenly worked. (which didnt seem to be powerful to heat this room at all and produced a burned awful smell in the room). Clealry the receptionist lied to us, she could have just told us that there is a problem with the heating.
Anyway, the mattresses were in a bad condition, quite uncomfortable and caused us backpain.
The free WIFI didnt even reach our room (tried with 2 different cell phones and one tablet.
Everytime we called from our room to the restaurant or the receptionist, noone bothered to pick up. The cappuccino we ordered one time from the restaurant was disgusting and so were the ordered meat balls.
On our last day there was a note in the elevator that the water will be shut down in the entire hotel TODAY at 11am for SOME hours.
The garbage from our room wasnt removed at all.
We are sorry to not be able to say one good thing about this hotel, but after this experience we advise: dont go there

Room Tip: check the mattress immediately, our mattresses were so crappy it caused a lot of backpain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Remco Hotel and it's a really good hotel, during the breakfast yiu can find whatever you want eat and a good staff will support you for everything you need there.
The hotel is located in a really quite side of Amsterdam and the rooms are availabe of everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. So nice to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are positive about our rooms, the location of the hotel and the large variety of food at the breakfast.
We hope you will choose our hotel again next time you come to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,
Remco Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.