We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added New West Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New West Inn Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is quite a distance from the city centre (10-15 min walk to a tram or bus and 30+ minutes into the city) but is at least reasonably affordable by Amsterdam standards. The room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. Although there was a lot of choice with the buffet breakfast it was only mediocre in quality. (The restaurant does not open for lunch or dinner so you really have to make sure you arrange to eat out - there are plenty of good priced ethnic takeaways and restaurants a 10 - 15 min walk from the Hotel) The staff were friendly and tried their best to help, but there was only very limited information about tram/bus/train availability - which is vital to know if you actually want to get around! Both the inside and outside of the hotel is in desperate need of some maintenance and refurbishment and, although there are signs everywhere emphasising no smoking, most of the rooms and even some of our bedding stank of smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Remco Hotel.
It's nice to read that you are positive about our rooms and staff.
We are excited to tell you that our restaurant will open very soon for lunch and dinner!
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review, which helped us to enhance the facilities and services of our hotel, and we hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Remco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    235
    147
    51
    44
See reviews for
80
187
22
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sinaai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is about half an hour away by tram from the city centre (with some waiting time . It's in a quiet area and there is ample free parking. Nice large rooms, always clean, friendly staff. This is the third or fourth time we go to Amsterdam and we always stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We're glad to read that you had such a good experience and that you are so positive about our staff and our rooms. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Remco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few times now and never been disappointed. Rooms are always clean, a good size and have everything you need. Reception are always helpful and there's a bar and breakfast but didn't go in there. Even when we had a broken safe they promptly replaced it with new.
The hotel is about 10 minutes away from the tram spot but in a nice quiet area and about 30 minutes from Dam centre. I'm a country bumpkin so would prefer somewhere quieter anyway rather than staying in the hustle and bustle of the centre, so this hotel is ideal. No restaurants immediately around it but found a beauty Italian just down on the main street, best calzone I've ever had.
Will be staying at this hotel again. Remember though, its a little bit out of town so travelling is required. The benefits though are a good nights sleep and a refreshing walk to the tram, next to the canals smoking a phat one!

Oh and there's a ruddy great park just down the end of the road if you fancy exploring!

Room Tip: All rooms I've had have been cracking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We're glad to read that you had such a good experience. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Everything was good with the hotel. The staffs are really helpful. The location of the hotel is easily accessible, 10 mins walk from tram station (no.17 osdorp line - hoekenes). 30 mins ride on tram and u'll arrive in city centre. I come in a group of 4 for a room with 4 single beds, the room is very spacious and same goes to the toilet. Totally worth the amount paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Remco H, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. So nice to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are positive about our rooms, the staff and the location of the hotel.
We hope you will choose our hotel again next time you come to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yongin, South Korea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It's a bit far from the city downtown and the main railway station of Amsterdam. But if you take tram to get here, it's one-way! About 20 minutes. Then walk 5min, and you'll find it. I think the WiFi is poor, but not much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 4 days.
Giving 4 star mainly for the pleasant staff who are very helpful
Out of town - takes five minutes to walk to Tram 17 which takes around 20 minutes or so to get to town centre
Straight bus to airport - number 69 about 15 minutes walking from hotel.. cheap , didn't know this option when I flew in, hence writing it for TA community to benefit
Mini supermarkets nearby
As other reviews, big rooms... although a bit worn down
Looked little dodgy outside, but felt safe and never had a problem,I found people very helpful actually

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed one night, super deal since free wifi and parking are included. The hotel has a nice garden where one can sit, and the room was spacious. Just the toilet wasn't entirely clean, that's why one point comes off. If you have a car, this is a top deal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.