We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added New West Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New West Inn Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
knebworth,herts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Massive room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very helpful reception staff throughout our stay, free parking which is a bonus in Amsterdam. this hotel is outside the city centre in a quiet area near to three supermarkets and other local shops (all within walking distance. The nearest tram stop is a 10 minute flat walk and it takes 25 mins to the central station. We bought 48 hour tickets on the tram for 12 euros which are valid for 48 hours from first use (we found the conductors on the trams to exceptionally helpful with ticket information.)
We chose to eat breakfast at the hotel and it was reasonable for the price I would advise getting there earlier rather than leave it to the last minute as some items not replaced.
Front desk provide info on what to do in Amsterdam and we got a discount for a 1hr canal trip 4 for the price of 3 (worth doing)
Massive room with aircon,comfy beds and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    250
    146
    48
    41
See reviews for
72
177
21
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good place, like a 4 star room, is big enough and comfortable, many options and places around paying a good price nearby of airport but is far away of center city but is better if you have many stuff is easy go to center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zafferana Etnea, Italia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent four days in May in this hotel with my girlfriend and the family and it was a pretty comfortable stay: the best part is the easy access to the city center by tram and the reasonably low prices. The tram is 15 mins walking from the hotel and it gets to the city center in approx. 25 mins. The prices are reasonable especially for Amsterdam, it is possible to get bigger family rooms and therefore it gets ever more convenient. Free parking outside.Definitely recommended for a family trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

remco hotel was worst Hotel in my whole life, hotel rooms was dirty, manager is really not nice person and after 2 weeks they took £95 from my account for city and tourist tax and drinking penalty as they said. discrimination non dutch tourists is on the very high level. First and last time in Holland, thanks Remco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed (me and my girl friend) for 3 nights, we payed 35€/night in july, Of course we didn't expect a lot, but when we went there it was totally different. The room is big, clean, staff is so friendly and the area is quite + free parking.
Recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The air conditioning and TV both were not working when I first checked in. The guy at the front counter was friendly but when I called to tell them about the issue they were rude and not helpful. He said he was the only one working so give him some time. It was already 1030pm at this point. Additionally, there are basically no lighting in this room, you can barely see the shower and sink. On the plus side they have an airport shuttle for 16 euros and comes every 15 min I believe. It's pretty far from the Centre but I am only staying one night and off to the airport in the morning so I didn't mind paying 47 euros for the single room. It is relatively clean but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First impression of this hotel is very positive .It is clean, rooms are big and sunny and staff is very kind and helpful. It is located quite far from city center but neighborhoods is lovely. Near to that hotel you can find nice park with bunnies, ducks and geese. It is a very good place were you can rest from city noise.
But I can see three minuses.
1) Refrigerators are not installed in room. This is a first 3 stars hotel that I have seen in my life without fridges.
2) When I made one big bed from two beds in twin room this bed was extremely uncomfortable, therefore we had to sleep in one of them.
3) There were only two paper cups and one small bag of Lipton tea in our room. Nobody took care to add teabags or cups during our stay.
In general this hotel is good, and with very small effort it will be worth 5 stars in trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New West Inn Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.