We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously Small Room . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #72 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Hoboken, USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Ridiculously Small Room . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My opinion of the Convent Hotel is definitely jaded by the size of my room--which was ridiculously small. I reserved a standard room and I was given the opportunity to upgrade upon check-in. However, the standard room was not cheap and I thought it would be sufficient. I was wrong. The room was tiny, barely enough room to walk along the sides of the bed. The walls were slanted, which made the room feel even more claustrophobic. The decor was dated, the closet space was severely limited and there was no drawer space. Therefore, I couldn't even unpack my bags. So, if you're considering staying here, be cognizant of the spatial limitations or upgrade to a larger and more expensive room.

Despite the negatives, the hotel staff is professional and helpful. The hotel is centrally located--close to the train station, the old town and the Dam area. The Concierge/bell hops are especially helpful.

Lastly, my favorite restaurant in Amsterdam was De Belhamel. Great atmosphere/service and the food is outstanding. If you're going on a Friday or Saturday--call ahead for reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    986
    291
    71
    21
See reviews for
285
1031
142
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Convent Hotel in Amsterdam offered us an early check-in upon our early morning arrival. Staff was helpful and friendly, and recognized us whenever we were in vicinity of reception area. Room was comfortable, maybe a bit outdated but still roomy and comfortable nonetheless. Beware of the "555" phone service for international calls, as there is a $45.00 connection fee. A call that was made to the US for less than 1 minute (only to leave a voicemail message that we had arrived safely) cost a whopping $46.00 plus change. Hotel - great. 555 phone service - rip off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying t the Convent recently and could not be more pleased and satisfied with our stay. We had an extremely large room especially for European Standards. We had asked for a nice quiet room with a nice view and got more than bargained for. The staff went out of their way to please us and help us in any way they could. The hotel is extremely well situated as Amsterdam is a small city and can be easily walked.
If we ever return to Amsterdam (most likely) we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed here last year in oct and had a good sized room, not the best views (facing the other end of the hotel) but didnt bother me too much.
ROOM:
Very clean, sheets clean and very comfy bed. Felt like I felt like I slept on a cloud!
Bathroom was clean, didnt see cracked tiles etc, but was spotless
We didnt eat breakfast here as it was 22 euros for a buffet! which we thought was far too expensive. However if you turn left out of the hotel and walk a little down, there is a large supermarket which was more or less same prices as you pay here so we got a few things from there. We had a mini bar (small fridge) so we used that to keep things cool.
There was a bar where you can have a drink or some food, but it looked very old fashioned from the decor, and we are not drinkers so we didnt stay there, so cant comment much on that. Though the prices looked expensive for a drink, cant remember how much and theres so many bars/pubs around the corner from the hotel, we didnt feel it was worth checking it out anyway.

LOCATION:
Great location, just 5 mins walk from the train station and if you turn right and then right again, you come across loads of argentinian restaurants serving steaks, etc. We ate there and had a lovely meal of very well cooked steak with some chips and salad for 8 euros. Just beyond this is Dam square so the location was very central.

SERVICE
Staff were friendly upon arrival. We asked about a tram pass and the lady at reception gave us a 10 single pass ticket for 7 euros( I think). She explained to get it stamped for each trip on the tram which worked out to be cheaper and any unused trips can be used next time(no expiry)

Overall great hotel, clean room, and fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Went for a weekend to Ansterdam with a friend. The hotel looks good and is very conveniently located being a short walk from Amsterdam Central Station as well as the many attractions. However the room was small, had a strange layout and a small bathroom and shower. The facilities in the room were adequate but not what I would expect for the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with friends, first time in Amsterdam, and this hotel was perfect for us. The location is great, the rooms are fine, there is a lovely lobby area with comfortable sofas and newspapers etc, and the breakfast is really plentiful and good quality. However, the thing that makes this hotel so good is the staff, all of whom where just so friendly, helpful and courteous, couldn't do enogh for us and reall made our trip go so smoothly. All in all a superb hotel in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I can't fault the location, the staff or the comfiness of the bed but as a business traveller I was disappointed with the room. It was up in the eaves and was small, dark and difficult to work in. Also, the room service menu was limited, there was no real space to eat it once it arrived, the internet was unreliable and no iron in the room. Small issues to some but as a business traveller you notice these things.

However as I was leaving I saw one of the other rooms being cleaned and it looked so much bigger and brighter so perhaps if I had got a different room my review would be different and with hindsight I should have asked to be moved in the first place!

The moral of the story is ask to be moved if you get room 501, although joking aside I think the hotel need to address the iron, room service and internet issues.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.