We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously Small Room . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hoboken, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Ridiculously Small Room . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My opinion of the Convent Hotel is definitely jaded by the size of my room--which was ridiculously small. I reserved a standard room and I was given the opportunity to upgrade upon check-in. However, the standard room was not cheap and I thought it would be sufficient. I was wrong. The room was tiny, barely enough room to walk along the sides of the bed. The walls were slanted, which made the room feel even more claustrophobic. The decor was dated, the closet space was severely limited and there was no drawer space. Therefore, I couldn't even unpack my bags. So, if you're considering staying here, be cognizant of the spatial limitations or upgrade to a larger and more expensive room.

Despite the negatives, the hotel staff is professional and helpful. The hotel is centrally located--close to the train station, the old town and the Dam area. The Concierge/bell hops are especially helpful.

Lastly, my favorite restaurant in Amsterdam was De Belhamel. Great atmosphere/service and the food is outstanding. If you're going on a Friday or Saturday--call ahead for reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    1,069
    321
    78
    22
See reviews for
303
1,124
147
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Convent Hotel in Amsterdam offered us an early check-in upon our early morning arrival. Staff was helpful and friendly, and recognized us whenever we were in vicinity of reception area. Room was comfortable, maybe a bit outdated but still roomy and comfortable nonetheless. Beware of the "555" phone service for international calls, as there is a $45.00 connection fee. A call that was made to the US for less than 1 minute (only to leave a voicemail message that we had arrived safely) cost a whopping $46.00 plus change. Hotel - great. 555 phone service - rip off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying t the Convent recently and could not be more pleased and satisfied with our stay. We had an extremely large room especially for European Standards. We had asked for a nice quiet room with a nice view and got more than bargained for. The staff went out of their way to please us and help us in any way they could. The hotel is extremely well situated as Amsterdam is a small city and can be easily walked.
If we ever return to Amsterdam (most likely) we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed here last year in oct and had a good sized room, not the best views (facing the other end of the hotel) but didnt bother me too much.
ROOM:
Very clean, sheets clean and very comfy bed. Felt like I felt like I slept on a cloud!
Bathroom was clean, didnt see cracked tiles etc, but was spotless
We didnt eat breakfast here as it was 22 euros for a buffet! which we thought was far too expensive. However if you turn left out of the hotel and walk a little down, there is a large supermarket which was more or less same prices as you pay here so we got a few things from there. We had a mini bar (small fridge) so we used that to keep things cool.
There was a bar where you can have a drink or some food, but it looked very old fashioned from the decor, and we are not drinkers so we didnt stay there, so cant comment much on that. Though the prices looked expensive for a drink, cant remember how much and theres so many bars/pubs around the corner from the hotel, we didnt feel it was worth checking it out anyway.

LOCATION:
Great location, just 5 mins walk from the train station and if you turn right and then right again, you come across loads of argentinian restaurants serving steaks, etc. We ate there and had a lovely meal of very well cooked steak with some chips and salad for 8 euros. Just beyond this is Dam square so the location was very central.

SERVICE
Staff were friendly upon arrival. We asked about a tram pass and the lady at reception gave us a 10 single pass ticket for 7 euros( I think). She explained to get it stamped for each trip on the tram which worked out to be cheaper and any unused trips can be used next time(no expiry)

Overall great hotel, clean room, and fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Went for a weekend to Ansterdam with a friend. The hotel looks good and is very conveniently located being a short walk from Amsterdam Central Station as well as the many attractions. However the room was small, had a strange layout and a small bathroom and shower. The facilities in the room were adequate but not what I would expect for the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with friends, first time in Amsterdam, and this hotel was perfect for us. The location is great, the rooms are fine, there is a lovely lobby area with comfortable sofas and newspapers etc, and the breakfast is really plentiful and good quality. However, the thing that makes this hotel so good is the staff, all of whom where just so friendly, helpful and courteous, couldn't do enogh for us and reall made our trip go so smoothly. All in all a superb hotel in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I can't fault the location, the staff or the comfiness of the bed but as a business traveller I was disappointed with the room. It was up in the eaves and was small, dark and difficult to work in. Also, the room service menu was limited, there was no real space to eat it once it arrived, the internet was unreliable and no iron in the room. Small issues to some but as a business traveller you notice these things.

However as I was leaving I saw one of the other rooms being cleaned and it looked so much bigger and brighter so perhaps if I had got a different room my review would be different and with hindsight I should have asked to be moved in the first place!

The moral of the story is ask to be moved if you get room 501, although joking aside I think the hotel need to address the iron, room service and internet issues.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDEFINING LUXURY AND TIME INK Hotel Amsterdam redefines luxury into the freedom of time. The hotel is build upon local heritage, as it was formerly known as the headquarters of newspaper “De Tijd”. ‘Time’ is the signature of INK Hotel Amsterdam and has ruled the design of the hotel. The hotel living room, once the place where stories were written and printed, will now turn into the F&B concept. This hotel will boast a unique food concept and iconic bar with a convivial cast offering high-end cocktails. At INK Hotel Amsterdam YOU define your time: whether you work, play or sleep. INK STORY INK Hotel Amsterdam houses a rich history. Formerly the building was functioning as the headquarters of the Dutch newspaper “De Tijd” from 1904 to 1986. This illustrious past has been translated into the modern boutique design made by Concrete Architects. In the design you will discover different and surprising elements, all relating to its past. Time is the new luxury: the time to read in the pressroom; the time to write, to draw, to discover, to smile at others, to socialise, to share, to enjoy... endlessly. INK HOTEL IN AMSTERDAM INK Hotel Amsterdam will be the perfect place to stay, work, play and relax. Its location in the center of Amsterdam is ideal for visiting the city. It is a five-minute walk from Central Station, situated next to Dam Square. From the moment you enter, the hotel will show it’s characteristic design. A small square, in the midst of the hotel shows the original state of the canal houses. As one of the few, this hotel will have her own courtyard. Inspired by the past, the hotel plays with the hectic energy of a pressroom. The F&B concept will offer a unique all-day food and drink concept. There is a garden room that offers meeting facilities and private dinning. The hotel has 149 rooms, including 4 Suites, each personalised with their own story. INK Hotel Amsterdam is part of the MGallery collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.