We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #86 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The Convent is very conveniently located. It's less than 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central station. It is a short walk to Dam Square and The Palace. It is a stone's throw from the Singel canal. Be sure to walk the three canals Prinzengracht, Keizergracht and Herengracht. Here you will find Amsterdam at its finest. Don't take the boat trip in front of Central Station for 13 euros, instead take it from Munt Plein at the bottom of Rokin for 8 euros. Same tour, different departure location. Don't miss the flower market which is in the same location. Do eat in the Italian restaurant opposite the hotel for seriously good pasta at very reasonable prices. If you can afford it, upgrade to a luxury room at the Convent - well worth the money. Try to get breakfast included in the cost of the room. It is seriously good! Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - yummy. Just one of the many options available. Beer in the lovely air conditioned hotel bar was just the same price as a beer in a crummy bar on the main road! Amsterdam is the most expensive city we have visited in a long time.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    1,044
    314
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,093
144
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LukewarmCatastrophe
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My partner and I have just completed a short tour of Europe and stayed in a variety of standard of lodgings, ranging from 1 star hostels (hovels?) to this little gem, a stones throw from Centraal Station.

After several nights in humid, overpriced hostels in Switzerland, we arrived at the smart, air conditioned (hooray!) Convent Hotel to be greeted by a wonderfully warm and helpful receptionist who actually looked pleased to see us, rather than just viewing us as another obstacle in her day as so many hotel staff often view their guests. I may as well mention now, that EVERY member of staff we dealt with in this hotel was nothing short of first class in terms of their service to us, whether it was a smile or a joke, we felt very welcome and I can't praise the hotel enough for this.

Our room was on the first floor, 135. No street view, but I didn't ask for one, so no complaints at all. The room was cool and surprisingly spacious, with fully adjustable air-con, the decor was pleasant and well-appointed, and everything looked crisp and smelled fresh and clean. There were tea and coffee making facilities, a flat screen tv, a large desk, a chair, a huge comfortable bed with feather pillows and a private bathroom with a hot, powerful shower and great and abundant complementary toiletries.

We had an early check out the next day to get to a concert and wanted to leave our rucksacks in the left-luggage facility. The receptionist ordered a bell boy to deal with this for us and it was done so quickly and politely. Upon returning to collect our rucksacks after midnight, we told the receptionist we had some "left luggage" to collect to which he remarked "LOST luggage!!??" and he gave us a cheeky smile - again, great service and even though we had checked out of the hotel already, he was happy to let us use the bathroom facilities in the reception area to freshen up before our long journey to Germany later that morning.

This is the first time I've used a Mercure hotel. I am actually an Accor Loyalty Card holder as I use the Ibis/Etap chains quite a bit back in the UK when I am travelling about and the Mercure's are often a little out of my ideal price range as my requirements from a hotel are very basic (I don't order breakfast/room service/require conference facilities, etc!) but we got the Convent Hotel at a VERY good rate during Accor's 50% off promotion so only paid £56 for the night which is pretty incredible for a 4 star hotel in the middle of Amsterdam. I really can't rate this hotel highly enough and we were actually sad to leave which I think says it all.

We will DEFINITELY stay again. Thank you to all staff who made our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Although my wife and I arrived early our room was ready and the friendly reception staff checked us in. The concierge was very obliging and all staff continually smiled. The location is very central and within easy walking distance of the Centraal Station & Dam Square. It is on a main tram route so getting around can be very inexpensive, although nearly all 'must see' attractions are within easy walking distances. The cost of breakfast at the Hotel was fairly prohibitive (22 euros per person). However, within a few doors of the Hotel is located a cafe called 'Bon Appetit' and provides a relatively inexpensive full English breakfast, altough the staff can be a bit slow - but don't let that put you off. The are other numerous cafes in the area but beware of the price differences. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night Amsterdam break and would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel. Watch out for special break offers, especially on 'EBookers' (we paid £50 per room per night - Room only - bargain)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a group. We arrived early in the morning so our rooms weren't ready, yet (which was totally ok), but were offered to change clothes in the sauna. We went to a bike a trip for the whole day (got great driving instructions from the guy at the front desk) and upon arrival at 6 pm we were told that not all of our rooms were ready! That was quite annoying since we all were sweaty and tired from the bike trip and all everybody wanted was a relaxing shower. We could sort out this annoyance with a (very) late check-out the following day, which made it up to us.
Rooms were nothing to write home about, but were quiet. One room smelled strong of tobacco smoke, even though it's a non-smoking hotel.
Central train station is within walking distance, a tram station is in front of the hotel, the area was quiet and safe.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Convent Hotel after a recommendation from a friend who had travelled to Amsterdam in January 2010. As a party of two females travelling alone my priority for accomodation options was a safe location, cleanliness and security of 24 hour reception and attentive reception staff. This hotel ticked all the boxes. We enjoyed a speedy checkin after a short walk approx 5 - 10 mins from the Centraal Station. Our room was booked through Expedia and was classed Deluxe with buffet breakfast included. The room (105) was on the first floor with 3 large windows looking out to the street. The room was very large with lovely feather pillows and duvet on the bed. A comfortable nights sleep no street noise (Thursday and Friday night). The bathroom was very large also even by Australian standards. The reception staff offered information on public transport and sold us a 48 hour tram pass for 11 euro this was an exellent buy as the tram stopped right outside the hotel entrance. The breakfast room was spacious and the food selection good. The lobby was a relaxing space with a library and lounges which I used while my daughter used the computer in the business centre for a small fee. We had a great stay at The Convent the location is fantastic, service and ambience first class.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We love Amsterdam and this hotel was excellent value for money. It was clean, excellently located and very helpful staff. CAN'T RECOMMEND HIGHLY ENOUGH!
Beddington's restaurant was recommended by hotel staff was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I booked the hotel same day on train to amsterdam. it is located in centreof shopping,entertainment, amusement. central station is walking distance.Dam sqaure is just behind the hotel afew minutes. the staff is just great with huge smiles on their faces. It was just perfect for the budget we had for a european 4 star hotel. the hotel is originally a old buildings renovated into a beautifulluxury hotel. living in the middle east, we are quite spoiled with hotel quality. this hotel is good for people coming from middle east.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.