We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, restful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice location, restful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I was booked to stay here for one night but due to the volcano one night turned into three. I was attracted to this hotel because it was in a historic building and was centrally located. It turned out to be a nice, restful place to stay, also very centrally located and close to tram lines, Central Station, the RLD, the Singel etc. Unfortunately the building inside is pretty much an ordinary, older hotel and does not convey much of a historic sense except in the lobby and the old-fashioned bar (which is very nice and the bartender gave good service), but the outside is nice to look at.

The bed was EXCEPTIONALLY nice and comfortable, a large bed (not two twins shoved together or any of that nonsense) with a lot of extra pillows. My room did not have a view (I had booked one of the less expensive rooms intending to spend most of my time in it sleeping) but looked out on some picturesque rooftops. The bathroom fixtures were not brand new but neither were they ancient. They were pretty clean and worked reasonably well except that the tub stopper did not hold the water in the tub for very long before it all leaked out. The room was pretty clean although I found you have to be careful that the maid doesn't throw out things of yours (such as note papers) on the tables in her hurry to clean up.

There is tea and coffee in the room and also a minibar, although it is not "fully stocked" unless you buy a higher priced room. (I'm not sure what the point is to that policy as I would have appreciated a better-stocked bar and don't see why I need to book a room that's too huge for me in order to get one, but whatever.) There is also a limited room service so I was able to get some soup and dessert, which was quite good. I did not try the breakfast as I don't like to eat a lot first thing in the morning normally. There is a convenience store (not part of the hotel) just across the alley a few steps from the front door, and also there is a supermarket a few blocks down the street, so you can get bread, cheese, cookies, drinks and that sort of thing and maybe keep some of it in the minibar fridge if you don't want to eat restaurant food all the time. TV was not pay and included all four BBC channels, although no US channels. Internet is pay but if you have a KPN or Tmobile subscription, you can use it to access the wi-fi, so I was able to use my subscription and did not have to pay.

Overall this is a nice place and I would definitely consider staying again. The biggest minus for me, aside from the tub that did not work, was the complete lack of a safe in the room. Really a pain not to have a safe place to store one's valuables and laptop computer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    1,044
    314
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,093
144
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed at the hotel convent in January 2010. We got a really warm welcome from the staff. They booked all 13 of is in quickly and efficiently.
The hotel is lovely, the rooms are clean , good size room and comfortable beds. The location is great only a few minutes walk from the train station and near enough to walk to all the local attractions.
I would definately stay there again and would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed in the Convent Hotel for a few days over Easter. It's a great hotel. Vey close to the station - about 5 minutes walk and easy to find. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and spoke excellent English. Although there are no safes in the rooms you can leave valuables in the hotel safe. The hotel is in walking distance to Anne Frank House and the museums.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed here two nights while on a coach tour. This hotel is very comfortable, easy walking distance to everything you might want. The Police station is actually across the street so it certainly seems like it would be safe.

Breakfast was good. Room was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I recently stayed at the Convent Hotel for 5 days with a friend & had a great experience & would definitely recommend it to others. Great location - close to the all the action of the Red Light District & to the train station. Our room was very nice & we were glad to have electric tea pot. The beds were probably the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on in a hotel...seriously! Big comfy pillows & blankets, which were great because the weather was freezing! Coffee shops & restaurants, bars are all close by, plus there is a little store right next door which comes in handy! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Spent a weekend in this hotel for my second trip to Amsterdam. The location is great as its right next to Dam Square, waling distance to Centraal Station, everything you need.
For a 4 Star hotel, the rooms are fairly dated - no safe in the room etc (they insist on cleaning your room according to their timetable otherwise they dont).
The reception staff are incredibly helpful and I would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much.

The room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. It is only a short walk to Amsterdam Centraal station and within 5-10 minutes from all of the bars, restaurants and nightlife.

The only thing which annoyed me a little was that one morning, housekeeping called us and asked if we could get out of the room so they could turn it over. It was only 11AM and we were having a sleep in that day. The housekeeper told us that it was the last room she had to do and wanted to finish. Not really acceptable at a 4 star hotel to be hurried our of your room like that. It was the first morning after we arrived so it wasn't like we were due to check out or anything.

Other than that, a good hotel and if you can get a decent rate, definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.