We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Chose this hotel for a friends' reunion and it didn't disappoint - from the professionalism and helpfulness of staffing on our arrival when they provided valet parking for our car (which was a real relief as we were not looking forward to having to find a spot ourselves), through to their attention to detail, it made it a very, very pleasant experience. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone bent over backwards to help, advise and ensure you had the best stay possible. Fabulous luxury room with the most amazingly comfortable bed ever!! Exceptionally well-appointed shower room with lots of nice extras - all accommodation was extremely well cared for and of the highest quality. The location was superb - everywhere was accessible on foot. A truly memorable stay and one we hope to repeat in the not too distant future. Only (minor) gripe was price of breakfast (22 euros per person) which was excessive for what was on offer so we decided to eat elsewhere, but don't let that put you off paying a visit to a truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    1,042
    313
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,091
144
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
clacks alloa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Well run friendly hotel. Very convenient for all sight seeing either walking locally or by public transport. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Staff professional and helpful. Well positioned hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone. Got to say also, the bed was absolutely wonderful, so difficult to get out of in the morning because it was totally comfortable!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Excellent hotel! Exceptionally hospitable, helpful and professional staff. Clean rooms with very comfortable beds. Historical building with big lobby. Nicely decorated lounge bar for an evening drink or a night cap. Perfect central location close to all major attractions at the same time a bit away from noisy tourist streets. Walking distance from the Central train station. Direct tram line to Van Gogh and other major museums. Would highly recommend both for business travelers and tourists, including families with children.

When booking make sure that breakfast is included in the rate – otherwise a bit expensive (but there are several places that serve cheaper breakfast just a few steps away).

If you want a tasty and reasonably priced pizza/pasta – there is a very cozy small restaurant “La Betolla” just across the street.

When going to museums or attractions ask the Hotel Reception for discount coupons.
If you have an extra day or even half a day – take a train and visit The Hague (50 minutes on a fast train).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

An average hotel in it's category (****). Seriously, could be renewed. Been there ten years ago and it was a wonder.

Nowadays, the wonder blemishes a little... Just a regular ****, very classic, nothing to except...

Good but could do so much better...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

This was our first stay at The Convent Hotel, and it will not be our last. Staff could not be more helpful, especially Carmen, who arranged a bouquet of yellow roses for my wife. The room (and the hotel) was spotless, the breakfasts were excellent and the location was very close (2 minutes walk) to the main shopping area and Dam Square. Many other reviews have made mention of the comfy beds, and we can certainly concur - they are a real struggle to get out of - far to comfy for your own good! Also worthy of mention is the wet room bathroom with a glorious 'drench' shower that really wakes you up.

If you are looking for a romantic break in Amsterdam, we don't think you will find better than The Convent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I'd seen this hotel a few years ago when it was a Sofitel and loved the bar and how it looked like the orient express, and I was lucky enough to stay there last weekend. I had a luxury room (a junior suite) in a quiet part of the building. The bed was enormous and the living area spacious and comfortable.

The "Ritual" bathroom gels and shampoos were lovely, a nice touch, the robes and slippers a luxury after a hot bath.

Only things they could have improved on were;- we needed more coffee whitener and sugar, as there wasnt enough for 1 drink each, a small but frustrating thing. Plus when I arrived they were offering the same room to my friends as an upgrade for a total room price of £130 per night, where as I'd paid £200 per night and they would not adjust my price to match. Lesson is, don't upgrade in advance, just ask when checking in !!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I was a little worried about showing up to the hotel. Well, it turns out there was no reason to be. I travel consantly and gennerally stay at 4 or 5 star hotels (us and Europe). Well not only was this hotel clean and spacious, but the reception was one of the friendliest that I have ever delt with (definately the best in Europe). Will definitely go out of the way to help you. My room was clean and by European standards, quite large. The bed was very soft and comfortable. I slept great (and I usually have problems sleeping in hotel beds). Location was ideal, walking distance to almost everywhere you'd want to go. And If somewhere is too far to walk, the tram station is right across the street. RLD, central station, and all the other sights are nearby. What even makes it better is that it's in an area that isn't crazy........but within a 5 minute walk, your in the craziness of Amsterdam!
I would dedinatly stay there again on my next trip and would highly reccommend it.

The only negative is that you have to pay for internet. Also, I read several reviews about the high cost of their breakfast..... Well every morning, I ate breakfast (not the buffet) and paid a total of 15€ with tip for a delicious , fulling breakfast

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.