We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #89 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    1,051
    318
    78
    22
See reviews for
299
1,103
146
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tashkent Province, Uzbekistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the INK hotel for 5 nights and we enjoyed a lot. The hotel was renovated so everything is new and clean!! We took the classic room with the queen size bed and it was excellent for a couple. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room has a small refrigerator and coffee machine and wifi- all these are free. I found just one flaw in the room, the shower's door didn't close well so the water was dripping out every time when we had a shower. Everyday we received new towels and toiletries but I'm not sure if the room was cleaned. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. All staff was amazing, friendly, kind, patient and helped us with everything!! Although the hotel is new, the staff is skilled and agile. Everything is working well and smoothly. In front of the hotel there is a tram station that will take you to the all main attractions. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the Dam square, Royal palace, Magna Plaza, Red light district and Klaverstraat.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santos, brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was very afraid to book the hotel because the renovation, but after some emails, I decided to book it and enjoied every single minute. I was upgraded to room 545, that isroif and has wood on celling. As an architect and traveler, that is my opnions that can get it even better:

PRO:
- location, when you are on a place that you have attractions for all directions (N, S, E and W), you are good. Very short walking distance to canals, central station, Dam Sq., Red Light district, shopping area;
- lobby very well design with an open plan that include reception, bar, lounge, restaurant;
- people that work there are always ready to help you and make your day;
- everything brand new;
- breakfast = heaven;
- loved the map art on room;
- the water on bath has good pressure and temperature;
- nespresso machine on room.

CONS
- need a curtain on bathroom;
- need some shelf or furniture on bathroom because you have to organize your stuffs on the floor;
- the sheets are hard to be new, I expected something more confortable.

I want to congrats Rob on name of all staff for make my married birthday so special.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice new hotel. Still under some construction (drilling in the room above mine in the early afternoon). Smallish but well designed rooms with comfy beds, free wifi and a rather sexy mirror setup. Not for those who like lots of privacy as the bathroom is all glass and no door between the bedroom/bathroom (although the toilet and shower stalls have frosted glass doors).

Room service hamburger may be the best hotel hamburger I have ever eaten. Just amazing. Great fries too although they could have been hotter. Nice bar in the lobby with some interesting cocktails. Apparently you can order room service from the full restaurant menu before 10pm but I didn't discover this until later as they don't put the restaurant menus in the room, strangely (the room service menu is unnecessarily limited ). Very central location close to the center of town and relatively quiet despite being on a main road. Still seem to have some teething issues on the housekeeping. There seem to have been a lot of messes in the hallway and the maid left a used towel in a ball on the bathroom counter rather than replacing it.

I'd definitely come back assuming the price was right - I actually considered staying an extra night but at $300 it seemed too steep to extend. Hopefully they'll fix some of the early "teething" problems.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel had been open less than a month when we stayed there. As you would expect everything was new and clean. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The standard rooms are a decent size and the beds are very comfortable. We prefer showers and that is what the room has. Warning - there do not seem to be any baths in the standard rooms if that is your preference. Very central. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bath better check first with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised about this hotel as I had been looking at pictures of The Convent hotel (of which INK hotel was previously named). The hotel has undergone a makeover which is evident, everything looks brand new including the lobby, restaurant and rooms.

The staff were so welcoming even after a little mix up with our room (we booked a double but her computer said a twin, luckily I had the print out to prove) she gave us the double room with no arguments.

The room was lovely, big huge bed, free toiletries, big shower, Nespresso coffee machine, huge TV etc. It was very quiet, the only sound we heard was the church bells on a morning!

The hotel is in a fantastic location with Dam square being 2 mins walk, 5-10 min walk from Central Station, it is on a main strip which helps when finding the hotel on a night! Lots of shops, restaurants, supermarkets around.

Overall a brilliant hotel which made for a fantastic trip!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Rachel,
We are so happy to read your review. Thank you for your kind words.
We are looking forward to see you soon.
INK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went for a friend's birthday big group of us and booked a few rooms very very comfy beds! very clean good size great location no outside noise noticeable and all at a very fair price! would highly recommend

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Papipsi,
Thank you! We are looking forward to welcome you soon.
INK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDEFINING LUXURY AND TIME INK Hotel Amsterdam redefines luxury into the freedom of time. The hotel is build upon local heritage, as it was formerly known as the headquarters of newspaper “De Tijd”. ‘Time’ is the signature of INK Hotel Amsterdam and has ruled the design of the hotel. The hotel living room, once the place where stories were written and printed, will now turn into the F&B concept. This hotel will boast a unique food concept and iconic bar with a convivial cast offering high-end cocktails. At INK Hotel Amsterdam YOU define your time: whether you work, play or sleep. INK STORY INK Hotel Amsterdam houses a rich history. Formerly the building was functioning as the headquarters of the Dutch newspaper “De Tijd” from 1904 to 1986. This illustrious past has been translated into the modern boutique design made by Concrete Architects. In the design you will discover different and surprising elements, all relating to its past. Time is the new luxury: the time to read in the pressroom; the time to write, to draw, to discover, to smile at others, to socialise, to share, to enjoy... endlessly. INK HOTEL IN AMSTERDAM INK Hotel Amsterdam will be the perfect place to stay, work, play and relax. Its location in the center of Amsterdam is ideal for visiting the city. It is a five-minute walk from Central Station, situated next to Dam Square. From the moment you enter, the hotel will show it’s characteristic design. A small square, in the midst of the hotel shows the original state of the canal houses. As one of the few, this hotel will have her own courtyard. Inspired by the past, the hotel plays with the hectic energy of a pressroom. The F&B concept will offer a unique all-day food and drink concept. There is a garden room that offers meeting facilities and private dinning. The hotel has 149 rooms, including 4 Suites, each personalised with their own story. INK Hotel Amsterdam is part of the MGallery collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.