We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #87 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel , good location and very helpful staff....I was not happy with the room that was given to me since the hotel is a vintage property and had sloping roofs . The room size was atrocious. When I expressed my dissatisfaction i was asked to wait for a day and then given a massive room with a superb view and all amenities .

Room Tip: The rooms in the suite section are brilliant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    1,042
    313
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,091
144
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cab driver made a face when we told him the name of our hotel - he thought we could have walked from the train station! It was close but not that close! The hotel is in a fabulous location, close to transport, (including the ocean and riverboat port), shopping and tourist attractions.The rooms were as pictured and a good size but the air con was far too hot (even for mid-October), no adjustment in the room so we needed to get a fan from reception. The mattress had a ridge in the middle and wasn't very comfortable. There was a nice cozy little bar just off the foyer. The staff were very helpful and made some good recommendations for restaurants etc. and although the hotel breakfast seemed reasonable, we chose to have breakfast in one of the many cafes close by. After the hotel has it's refit and re-opens next year I wouldn't hesitate to return as hopefully most of the detractions will be updated in the refurbishment.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a classic hotel with a very good location, near Damsquare and the central station.

The rooms are old but comfortable. However the view was bad - to another building.
Breakfast was really good and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a really good hotel. The location was good, was close to the central square and the local nightlife. The staff were very helpful and polite and the room was spacious. The morning breakfast buffet was fantastic with a big selection! I recommend this as a hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The rooms are exactly what they look like in the photos, are clean, spacious enough and with good toiletries! The breakfast area is cozy with a reasonable breakfast selection. They also have items you can order from the ala carte menu, at no added cost, which they cook fresh upon ordering, such as pancakes. Internet is fast and free anywhere in the hotel. The lobby is spacious with a lot of seats, so you can just hang out there while waiting for friends to pick you up or for the airport taxi.

The staff were polite and assisted us in every need. They even booked the airport taxi for us since our flight was early in the morning. There are also 3 pitchers of water in the front desk, one with mint, lemon and lime, if i remember correctly, that you can help yourself to after a long day's walk or before heading out.

The hotel itself is centrally located and is almost midway between the train station and Dam Square.There are a lot of restaurants, cafes, even a laundromat within arm's reach. Shopping places are also abundant in the alleys adjacent to the hotel. Tourist areas are close by and public transport is easily accessible from the hotel. There is also a convenience store a few meters away where you can buy supplies and snacks and gifts.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. I was pleased with every aspect of it throughout my stay. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Location is absolutely fantastic - 10 minutes from the Centraal and 3 drom Dam. Service is great. rooms are not large, but sufficient. Bed quality is great.

Hotel is in obvious need for renovation - actually its closed from yesterday untill March for this purpose, so hopefully it will absolutely great when re-opens. Last working day the approach of the repairs was obvious everywhere, but staff was very helpful

Breakfast was quite good

And yes - quality of the wifi was perfect

Room Tip: Probably, front rooms could have a noise from trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This hotel has a great central location, you couldn't get much better. We got the train from the airport and only had a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station to the hotel. The reception staff were very polite and made us feel very welcome.
We stayed 2 nights and were allowed to check in early upon arrival. We were then kindly given a secure storage room for our luggage on checkout, so we could spend the day continuing our enjoyment of the city.The room was basic and very, very small! ... I'm guessing 'boutique hotel' is the alternative phrase for 'couldn't swing a cat'! It was also quite dark as it looked out onto a triangle of other rooms, so natural daylight was not an option! To be fair, it was clean and the bed was comfortable so can't complain too much.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but we did take advantage of their happy hour cocktails, which were fantastic! The service was again very polite.
We would return to this hotel without hesitation, the location and staff make up for the size of the rooms!

Room Tip: Choose a King room if budget allows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.