We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the train station and trams stop almost at the front door. There are several bars, cafes and restaurants within 100 metres of the front door including a couple of excellent breakfast cafes. The main canal network, red light district and coffee houses are just minutes away on foot, but the hotel is very quiet and has a relaxing atmosphere. Half price cocktails during happy hour were a welcome treat and staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    1,044
    314
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,093
144
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is in a great location but is passed it's sell by date. The decor is faded. We skipped the 23 euro breakfast as there are loads of cafés on the doorstep. The staff are pleasant but quite informal. I would revisit once the hotel has been updated but would give it a miss until then at the current prices. Nowhere near the M Gallery standard.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I can highly recommend this hotel, it is in a great situation, it is very central and close to Dam Square, shops and restaurants. It has a charming bar. The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main thoroughfare
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

stayed here 4-7aug 2014, excellent hotel with every attraction nearby. station is a 15min walk or a bus ride away. the room was spacious and clean. the bed was amazing and the pillows to die for, its what you need after a fun filled day. the maid came in every day to clean and make the bed. it wasn't to noisy and the airconditioning was a bonus. the reception staff bent over backwards to help and there is a locked room for your luggage if you were flying late, also a free safety deposit box was provided , a fabulous stay and well recommended.

Room Tip: we stayed in 225 facing next doors building, but it didn't bother us in the slightest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nice hotel, lots of charm. The room was quite comfortable and well appointed. Definitely a hotel for those who like old fashion properties. The location is excellent, within walking distance of everything. The service though is quite minimal, the staff here is polite but not very warm or cheerful. Be ready to wait quite a long time to be served at the front desk as the reception area is quite small and staffing is minimum.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A decent hotel in a fantastic location. The whole hotel could use a refurbishment as the decor is quote old fashioned and the rooms are showing their age. We were there for our honeymoon and the staff made nothing of it - barely even a congratulations.

We were on an early flight from the UK and had been advised they would do their best to have the room ready but it wasn't when we arrived. fair enough but we left our luggage and went for a walk. when we returned they advised it would be about another 15 minutes, an hour later we were still waiting. I understand check in is 14:00, but just tell us factually rather than keeping us waiting.

The TV seemed to be linked to the lights and flipped on and off without any provocation - I ended up having to unplug it so we could use the lights! If I had paid full price I would have been disappointed really, it is a great location but the hotel is just not up to scratch. The breakfast is €23.00 per person - we didn't try it as that seems excessively expensive and there are some great cafes just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great hotel just minutes from Dam Square, comfortable well appointed room ( although a wee tad stuffy overnight -could do with more forceful air conditioning). Staff could not have been more helpful -a great bunch who really focused on making our stay as pleasurable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.