We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located for shopping and sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ideally located for shopping and sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had a pleasing 2 night stay at the Convent Hotel. Check in was welcoming, entertaining and professional. It was great to see front of house reception staff with a sense of humour. We were placed at the front of the hotel on the first floor. It may have been a little dated, but was spotless and suited the classic large windows and high ceiling. I would agree with other reviews about the quality of the bed. We had two singles pushed together to make a superking, however it did affect the comfort level in the centre of the bed. This would be the only critisism of our stay.
We were impressed with the size of the bathroom, which was very well stocked with quality products. Towel robes and slippers are also included.
The room was light and spacious, and air conditioning was a bonus as the weekend we stayed was very warm.
We didn't eat or take a drink at the hotel , so couldn't comment. However, did pop our head in to the bar and appreciated the dark, cosy, gentlemen's club feel it had..
The hotel is ideally located for shopping and sightseeing and we would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    1,039
    311
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,087
144
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

May be it was a nice hotel in the 70s but now it needs to be upgraded.
This was the worst bed i have ever sleepted in an hotel, a old box spring matress that they put a fake pillow top on.We complain at the front desk but we were told that all the room had the same bed. The bathroom is adequate nothing more. No safe in the room.
Breakfast was ok.
Free Wi-Fi was fast.
Location is perfect.
The staff was very eager to help
I don't know why it is call MGallery Collection, just a name..... to attract people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, Usa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Check in was prompt and courteous. Room was of a good size. Lots of toiletries. Good size towels. Very good location for sightseeing. All the good points were neutralized by 1 bad one. On 2nd day of stay, there was NO hot water for the entire hotel. If you want to get your clock started, try a cold water shower first thing in the morning. Walking distance to Anne Frank House. Nice lobby. Did not eat at the hotel, since there are cheaper places nearby.Ibis hotel near train station might be a better bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed for three nights, and enjoyed our stay here, with just the one exception – the bed was rather uncomfortable. We booked a king size bed, and as so often seems to happen in Europe, we got two singles pushed together with a mattress protector over the join. The end result was bit wonky, which did not make for a comfortable night’s sleep – a shame.

In every other respect, there is nothing else negative to comment on.

We asked for a quiet room and were given a larger one on the second floor, overlooking the little alleyway to the side of the hotel. The room had all the usual amenities with the exception of a safe, but these were available on an individual basis via reception if needed. The en-suite bathroom was fine, with a good shower and a decent range of toiletries. The mini-bar was well stocked and not too expensive. Rooms were kept clean and tidy.

I believe that the hotel is due to be refurbished; it is absolutely fine as it is, but perhaps could do with some modernisation. It is a unique building, in a converted convent, so I hope their plans will not take away any of the charm of the place.

We were out most of the time, so we did not use the hotel bar or restaurant, the hotel bikes for hire, or the business suite and fitness centre. These amenities seemed to be of an acceptable standard though.

The hotel staff were really great, from housekeeping to reception, they could not have been more helpful and friendly. Reception were happy to provide advice, directions, tickets for attractions and even though it was busy and hot, they never lost their cool and approachable demeanour. They dealt with everyone efficiently and attentively.

We arrived over two hours ahead of check in time, but we were given a room immediately. On our last day, we were able to make use of their secure luggage room to keep our things safe while we enjoyed our last day in the city.

The hotel is conveniently located a short walk – no more than 10 minutes, even with luggage – from Centraal Station, just on the very edge of the Western Canal zone of the city. It’s quiet enough but near to all the attractions either on foot, or via tram – several run from right outside the hotel. Dam Square is right around the corner, and it’s a ten minute stroll to the Canal Ring. The Rijksmuseum was just a ten minute tram ride away.

Disabled access would be no problem, with an access ramp into the building/reception, and lifts.

The hotel offered what sounded like a great breakfast but at over EUR 20 a head, we opted to make use of the little local cafes right next door instead, which were a much cheaper option.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and I would recommend it as a place to stay without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back or overlooking the alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the start of our 12 day holiday in Europe. It was a very pleasant start for our holiday. The Reception staff was very helpful and the check-in procedure was very quick. Gave lots of information re the attractions in the city and supplied us with lot of maps and leaflets etc.
The room size was fair and was decorated nicely. I thought the room looked a bit dark because it didn't have any ceiling lights. But you soon get used to it and will fall in love with the old charm. We had the breakfast in the hotel which was really good. there was a choice of Continental or cooked breakfast and even a healthy one with juices, cereals, yoghurts and fruits to choose from.
The housekeeping was good and the room was very clean and kept fresh everyday. The only drawback was the bed which was raised at the middle and you tend to slide of to the edge.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back away from the main road and had no problems at all during the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.