We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #75 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night at the weekend and found the hotel to be well equiped, comfortable and well maintained. The staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a cocktail hour and the drinks are reasonable priced for a city centre. The location of the hotel is ideal - walking distance from central station, a stone's throw away from Dam Square and a short walk to Joordan. Rates are pretty reasonable too for the location and standard of accommodation on offer - in the past I've paid more in Amsterdam for lesser accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    969
    282
    71
    21
See reviews for
278
1011
140
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have stayed at the Convent many times over the years and before when it was the Sofitel.
Though the years work my way up the room grades with this stay being the best room the suite on the top floor. For a four star hotel in Amsterdam this was a good size very clean and all the amenities a suite should have. The Staff great very helpful and the breakfast always nice choice.
This hotel is due a refurbishment its beginning to show, but does give a charming cozy feel.
In all its a nice hotel, with refurbishment done it would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week for 4 nights. It was a lovely hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam. The staff and rooms were lovely (but very stuffy!). The only bad thing was the noise on a morning. From 7AM to about 10AM the cleaners started. I understand they are only doing their job, but every hotel i have stayed in, i have never know cleaners start that early!

They were very loud, talking very loud and to be honest it spoilt my days there as i was unable to get back to sleep so i ended up being tired all day. I thought a little more consideration could have been made.

Other than that. A fantastic hotel!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We walked from the central train station. They were welcoming and had our room ready quickly even though we arrived at 9am. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Easy access to everything with a tram stop in front of the hotel and many places are walking distance. Breakfast was quite substantial and service was excellent. It was so nice to walk out of the hotel and not be in the crowd of tourists. The bar is so cozy and enjoyable. We enjoyed ending our evenings with a drink in their bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I went for a long weekend to Amsterdam in October 2013 and chose this hotel because it was a short walk from the Central train station and was a few streets away from the Damrak, the main street. It was a perfect location as it was easy to get to everything but on a quieter street away from the main nightlife areas of Amsterdam.

The reception staff were really nice and friendly when we arrived and were helpful with helping us plan our time in Amsterdam.

The room was nice and had all the facilities we needed. The hotel bar was really cool, decked out like a train carriage and the staff were really friendly.

Breakfast was really good offering lots of different choices.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay whilst visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location which is still very central, only five minutes from Central station, a few minutes from the main sites and with a Tram stop outside. The wifi is free and the breakfast decent. The room was comfortable and only lacked a safe and daily top up of drinking water. All staff were very friendly and helped with recommending sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;