We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great hotel to stay in Amsterdam which is close to everything but on a quiet street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #75 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A really great hotel to stay in Amsterdam which is close to everything but on a quiet street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I went for a long weekend to Amsterdam in October 2013 and chose this hotel because it was a short walk from the Central train station and was a few streets away from the Damrak, the main street. It was a perfect location as it was easy to get to everything but on a quieter street away from the main nightlife areas of Amsterdam.

The reception staff were really nice and friendly when we arrived and were helpful with helping us plan our time in Amsterdam.

The room was nice and had all the facilities we needed. The hotel bar was really cool, decked out like a train carriage and the staff were really friendly.

Breakfast was really good offering lots of different choices.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay whilst visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    659
    970
    282
    71
    21
See reviews for
278
1012
141
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location which is still very central, only five minutes from Central station, a few minutes from the main sites and with a Tram stop outside. The wifi is free and the breakfast decent. The room was comfortable and only lacked a safe and daily top up of drinking water. All staff were very friendly and helped with recommending sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

a central hotel only 5 mins walk from the train station, 5 mins walk to most tourist sites and the trams stop close by.there's free wifi, but please be careful because it links and posts to Facebook that your staying in the hotel, could be useful to burglars, or could land people in a lot of trouble if they are not where they said they'd be
the breakfast is buffet style and plentiful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very centrally located hotel, walking dictance to many places and Central station. Several trams stop in front of the hotel. The rooms facing the inner side of the building are very quiet. And yes, the beds are very comfortable. Rooms are clean and small but nicely decorated. Bathroom is also small but needs renovation, high quality amenities. The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpfull. WiFi in the room is super fast. We visited this hotel twice on April and will return next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic – both Central Station and Dam Square are within a 5 minute walk. The train is right at the airport and they will try to assist you but you need to be specific – we boarded a train and then learned it was not direct to Central Station and needed to transfer with the assistance of a very nice girl who helped us out. When at the airport ask for the train that goes directly from airport to Central Station. Leaving Amsterdam the train was not running due to construction on the line so we purchased a taxi card from the reception desk for 44 € and saved a bit by doing so. Taxi ride back to airport was about a half hour ride (Saturday traffic was not bad). The king size bed in our room was very comfortable -we slept great!! Our room was on the 4th floor and was very quiet. We had nice weather in April and the air did not work that well so we opened the window to cool down the room to sleep. Room was clean and made up nicely each day. The hotel bar gets busy but they do a good job of waiting on you. They provide a snack with your cocktail which is nice. We did not get the breakfast – there was a mini-bar refrigerator in the room that had enough room in it to store yogurt and fruit for breakfast. In room coffee is instant however, it was very good. We used the hotel safe deposit box for our valuables. Hotel staff was very pleasant , friendly and helpful. We would stay here again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Top floor - 4th was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We walked in to this hotel over a busy weekend, hotel is a bit old and needs some sort of rennivation but great location , walking distance from Dam Square and has a reasonable price , we paid 179€ a night for three bed room ! Service was great ! Breakfast pricey !! Highly reccomended !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.