We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #75 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We, my friend and I, went to Amsterdam for a concert at Ziggo Dome. The Concert were unfortunately cancelled. The Convent Hotel were nice though. Only 10 minute walk from Central Station. Supernice service. I read on TA some bad experience, but gave the good ones a chance. Clean hotel and good location. Good choice! I'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    989
    293
    71
    21
See reviews for
285
1034
142
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked into this hotel after checking tripadvisor and we were pleased with the location which within an easy stroll from the railway station. We booked 4 rooms through Expedia but apparently only 3 of them were prepared. Perhaps this explained the tiny room (526) my husband and I were allocated. The sloping roof made it a little difficult to exit the bed but we coped as it was only for 2 nights! All the rooms were clean and had coffee making facilities, although the trays weren't replenished fully. I would have appreciated a room safe rather than carrying my passport around with me. However, the staff on reception were very pleasant and professional and we did appreciate the availability of a baggage room. We thought the breakfast at the hotel was extortionate at 23euros but we had a great English breakfast about 20 yards away for 6euros. We did enjoy our stay!

Room Tip: Avoid room 526
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Convent Hotel is old, but very comfortable. The reception staff was outstanding. There had been a mixup in my reservation, and they were very accommodating in fixing the problem. They gave excellent advice regarding restaurants; they had tram cards for sale; and they replaced a forgotten room key graciously. No matter how many times I approached the desk with a question they were always friendly and helpful. The location is excellent: an easy walk to the Central Station and a tram stop outside the door. The room I had was very small, but the room my daughter had was much larger; as with old hotels the rooms vary in size and configuration. There is a small breakfast available as well as the breakfast buffet. I wish I had known about that because the small breakfast would have been sufficient and much less expensive. All told a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

1st week April 2014

Wonderful reception staff and as with all folk we encountered in Amsterdam, very friendly and helpful. Good sized room overlooking the front street. Now, a previous report warned against a front of house room because of noise, but decent double glazing cuts most of it out so it really wasn't a problem. Anyway, trams (which are the main source of noise) cease operations midnight to 6am.

The breakfast was full and varied, fruits (dried and fresh), pastries and breads, cereals, meats, cheese and cooked eggs, bacon, beans etc, coffee, tea, hot choco, fruit juices. Very, very good as far as I am concerned.

The location is brilliant. Amsterdam is a smallish city so nowhere is that far away, but the Convent is close to the railway station (so no taxi needed) and there are plenty of good restaurants/eateries around and about.

If I have any slightly adverse comment, it is the bathroom which was tired (and thus my 4 rating, not 5). The shower was a feeble flow from an over-bath hose although little complaint about the temperature stability. I don't spend long in the bathroom so this less satisfactory matter was not much of a problem.

Comfort: beds were very good although somewhat thick duvets meant being too hot and no sign of cold air came from the apparent air conditioning system. I suspect it was not turned on so early in the year. Room service was discreet and efficient.

We benefited from a 3 for 2 nights offer. There is a baggage room if you are staying beyond check-out time. This was a great bargain but the hotel is actually good value for money without such a bargain.

Room Tip: We only know of our room which was fine; second floor, front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just back from 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. The staff very helpful. I lost the card key to room on second evening. They gave us two new coded cards no problem.stayed on 1st floor large bed .plenty room
We had a safe box behind reception for our money and passports.no charge. Locked room to leave our bags in on last day. Offered us room to fresh up if we wanted .
Breakfast lovely. Until 10'30 am !!!
Clean rooms.towels changed..and lovely rituals products...
Tea and coffee making in room.

Very central we went to Ann franks. (We booked on line and printed ticket off) you then go to front of very long Que.....booked in advance for this. The zoo well worth visit, allow good 4-5 hours.we walked every where as you get to see more of Amsterdam..
All shops near to Dam Square.two streets of shop's

We booked through Booking.com. Maybe cheaper going straight to hotel direct maybe cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I arranged a surprise birthday treat for my parents to stay at the Convent Hotel, so they could visit the Tulip festival. I was in constant contact with hotel before hand and nothing was to much trouble. They arranged flowers in the room for my parents arrival, and help organize the trip to the tulips. They had a wonderful 3 night stay, and could not rate the hotel enough. They said the room was lovely with really comfy beds just what they needed after a days sightseeing, the breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. Staff were friendly and always on hand to help.
Good location for all their needs. Thank you, Convent

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This very comfortable hotel is conveniently situated for all attractions since it is in the heart of Amsterdam. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel and it's only a few minutes walk from the bus/trains/trams/boats stations.
The check in procedure was completed swiftly by the very attentive staff and any questions we had were answered in a very professional manner.
Although our room was on the small side it was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities provided.
We felt that the breakfast was somewhat expensive so we went to the cafe next door every morning. However it was delightful to have a drink in the bar in the evening - it is done out like an old Pullman railway carriage - very comfortable.
Highly recommended hotel for a sightseeing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.