We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My friend and I stayed in The Convent in March, a great loacation, we had a twin room, the room was compact but was very clean and the beds were so so comfy, breakfast was good not sure if it was worth the price, but it's a city! we also has a sharing platter in the bar with drinks, this was great about 12 euros and plenty to nibble on. Receiption was very helpfull and the hotel was clean and well maintained, I was told that this hotel is getting a refurb in the very near future, we would stay again.

Room Tip: Room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    1,018
    306
    78
    21
See reviews for
288
1,065
143
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed in The Convent Hotel in March 2014. The room was clean and spacious but in need of updating and the shower which was in the bath flooded the floor every morning.

Despite this, the location of the hotel is very good and it was no problem walking to all the main sights. There's 2 trams that pull up right outside that will bring you to The Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum as they are a little further.

The breakfast is excellent and will set you up for day : good selection of breads, bacon, eggs, fruit, muffins and pastries.

I'd also recommend a restaurant near the hotel - Humphrey's on Nieuwezids Kolk - set 3 course meal for €24.95 which is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife treated me to a weekend in Amsterdam for my birthday and she chose the Convent hotel. Don’t let the name put you off, it’s a lovely place. As we were checking in, a man who was checking out told us we would have an enjoyable stay, and he was right. Our room was clean and spacious and the restaurant and bar areas were comfortable and welcoming. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. The hotel is well situated for easy access to everything in Amsterdam. Just a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station, the canal boat trips and being run over by more bicycles than you have probably ever seen! Treat yourself and have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I spent my 40th birthday at this hotel with family and friends, everything about it was great.
Between us we had a twin room and a double, lovely comfy beds, good quality bedding and extremely clean.
We had breakfast included which we thoroughly enjoyed, plenty of choice!
Within the hotel we used the bar which was run by Ricardo, lovely guy!
All the staff were very friendly, always happy to help, plenty of banter yet extremely good at their jobs.
Tarek the assistant manager, what a lovely man - so friendly, helpful and a great sense of humour. Along with the hotel manager who sent champagne within 20 minutes of knowing it was my birthday.
Excellent location, amazing staff, going back March 2015

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Convent MGallery is well-located hotel with a traditional flair. Located in an historic building, Convent is within walking distance of Amsterdam's central train station, it is on the No. 2 and No. 5 tram lines that connect to everywhere and within walking distance of central Amsterdam and nearby canal streets and homes. Decorated in a traditional manner, my room was cozy and well-designed. A comfortable home-away-from-home. Front desk could not be more friendly, informed and helpful. Hotel bar is a charming recreation of the Orient Express train.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carndonagh donegal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

myself and 5 members of my family stayed recently,lovely hotel ,so close to the shops,central station,Ann Frank museum and dam square.Took us an hour to walk to the van gogh museum and rijksmuseum ,but it was at a very leisurely pace. Very helpful reception and nice guy behind the bar but service slow in the bar or should i call it leisurely service , but very attentive.We went next door for breakfast to Buon Apetito price e5.50 versus e23 in the hotel is no comparison.i will have no problem returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: the tv's are tricky to get the hang of ,but they eventually work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.