We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, Amsterdam 1012 RE, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just a couple of nights at this property in early February. We wanted to take in the sights at Amsterdam before heading home from Germany.
The hotel is in a great location where there are a lot of restaurants and shopping places. It is near the Dam and you can walk to pretty much all the tourist attractions like the red light district, Anne Frank's house, Van Gogh museum, Madame Tussaud, etc.

They have pitchers of cold water with citrus by the Front Desk which one can help oneself to and makes for a refreshing drink. The lobby is very pretty and cozy. It looks like a sitting room which it probably was before as the hotel used to be a mansion.

The rooms are not very big but reasonably clean and comfortable. I just have to mention that I found it rather odd that the bathroom/toilet did not have an exhaust fan despite the fact that there were no windows inside the bathroom. I was actually quite bothered because I shared the room with a colleague.

The amenities are by Ritual and had soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion.

Sleep quality was good and the bed was quite comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent as well as the service. I enjoyed the coffee so much as well as the croissants and freshly-squeezed juices. Although the restaurants outside also offer Dutch and English breakfasts and charge lower.

Wifi is free although they will ask to access and post on your Facebook so friends will know that you're billeted there.

Front desk staff was quite helpful especially the lady from Surinam who was quite pleasant. The guy who checked us in was not as friendly and couldn't even find our Agoda booking at first.

Overall, this hotel certainly succeeded in giving customer satisfaction.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    691
    961
    261
    63
    17
See reviews for
254
926
133
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I really liked the hotel for the fantastic staff, all of who were smiling and genuinely seemed to be willing to help. The hotel is smallish no doubt and can do with a bit of modernisation but yet the room I stayed in was spacious and bed was quite comfy.

The location is fantastic, walk-able from everything you need for both business and pleasure. Even though my room overlooked the main road, there was hardly any traffic noise in the night that I could hear in the room.

Overall a pleasant stay !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Whilst the staff are attentive and the location is good for amsterdam, this place is really starting to look tired and dated. It needs some tender care to bring it up to the standard it claims. On the plus side the location is excellent for easy transport around the area. But the standard of the reception area and the bar is not lived up by the bedrooms and the general carpets around the building. Could do a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Being a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station, and a 10 minute walk from most of the other attractions (Red Light District, Dam Square) the hotel already ticks boxes. Checking in and out was simple and the staff who dealt with us each time were both polite and helpful. We paid extra for a superior room, so without seeing the basic I wouldn't know how much more luxurious our room was. Although it was a little small, the bed was wonderfully comfortable, the shower and bathroom were fantastic (even the little toiletries were lush) and everything was spotlessly clean. The only minor downside is that our room backed onto an alley with a hostel on it, so at times it was rather noisy. As well as the room being lovely, the bar downstairs is also perfect, comfortable seats, nice chilled out atmosphere and a brilliant drinks selection. All in all, good value for money and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolter End. Bucks. Uk.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very friendly welcoming staff;comfortable room with large comfortable bed.Excellent breakfast.The hotel is in a central location,and convenient for the touristy parts of Amsterdam.Highly recommended.The only downside was the online booking experience,where we effectively double booked.the first booking resulted in a message to rebook.we were then double charged.It was sorted out and the staff at the hotel were very apologetic,upgrading our room.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Apart from cleanliness of bathroom this was a good hotel, with convenient location - short walk to the main station. Had more character than the average modern chain hotel. Breagfast was good with reasonable choice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My family of four stayed in January for 5 nights. Although starting to show it's age the hotel is full of history. We were advised that it is to be closed later this year for a couple of months,gutted and then refurbished. I sincerely hope the old ambient is maintained. We had rooms 415 and 445, there was plenty of room in both with arm chairs in both rooms. One faced the road and although there were trams running past we did not hear them. The showers had good pressure and temperature control. Located 7-10 minutes from the station it is easy walking even with baggage. There are restaurants all around the hotel with Dam square a 5 minute walk. Amsterdam for those who have not been there before is a very walkable city with good public transport as a back up.
What made the stay at the Convent Hotel so enjoyable was the staff, the ladies at reception on check in and the gentleman when we checked out, the staff in the breakfast room were all more than helpful with their advice and directions to different attractions and not forgetting the room maids. To you all, thank you for a most enjoyable visit. My wife and I look forward to returning one day when the changes have been made, please do not change it into another modern run of the mill hotels try and maintain some of it's character.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, Amsterdam 1012 RE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.