We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful beds and pillows but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #75 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“wonderful beds and pillows but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at The Convent this year,and the cracks are,unfortunately beginning to show.
Lets start with the good. Wonderful beds and pillows, probably the most comfortable we have ever experienced on our travels.The girl on check in was very welcoming. She knew we had stayed before and was happy to check us in around 10.30am as well as offering us a room with a view (looking out onto Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal).
The lobby is pleasant and the three jugs of flavoured water upon arrival is a nice touch.
Our room, number 245 was certainly different (in a good way). Once you've entered the room you are faced with stairs leading down to the actual room. Interesting after a few drinks.
Decor wise its the same as the rest of the hotel rooms. More of that under the "not so good bits!".
The bar is a nice enough place to spend some time and the little taster plates the bartender brings over are always devoured. (nuts, cheese etc).
I feel asthough I am being generous with 4 stars, 3.5 would be closer to the mark, maybe even 3 if I was writing this in a bad mood!
Lets get to the not so good bits.
Drinks are expensive in the bar, 15euros for a single malt whisky, ouch!
The room we had this time was really starting to show its age. (I am aware the hotel is having a refurb in 2014, it can't come soon enough in some of the rooms). Worn carpets, wallpaper starting to peel, dirty, scratched and worn sinks. Maybe I'm being picky?
Our main issue this time around was we had a late flight home so decided a late check out would be a nice idea. 60 euros to check out a few hours late! Wow, I was prepared for maybe 30 euros but 60 seems very steep considering the hotel was, no doubt no where near full capacity. I paid the 60 euros and we checked out just gone 5pm, it has however left a slightly bitter taste in my mouth this time. Not really sure what being a le club member actually gets you?
Anyway, to sum up, we look forward to visiting after the refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    659
    970
    282
    71
    21
See reviews for
278
1012
141
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a Hotel that exceeded our expectation.
We received a warm welcome at reception.
Our room specification was noted and we were given a perfect room , quiet and on a high floor. The room was a good size, very clean with easy chair tea and coffee tray and mini. Bar-soft drinks only,
Bathroom was good with excellent quality toiletries and vanity pack for ladies .there were plenty of towels, dressing gowns and slippers.
The public areas were comfortable and the bar served good snacks.
We had one breakfast which was good but expensive.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night and was pretty happy with the standard and service.

We arrived late and the hotel were really helpful in directing us somewhere to go and eat that would still be open.

The room was great - I had a suite with separate lounge area and working station, so perfect for business. Decor a little tired but the beds were very comfy with a down mattress topper, meaning I had a fantastic nights sleep!

Free wifi and basic facilities in the room.

Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed for three nights with my husband and children. We arrived exhausted and ready for a good nights sleep before exploring Amsterdam. On arrival the reception staff couldn't have been more welcoming. When we went to our rooms they were not what we were hoping for and not conveniently located for the children. The staff quickly rectified this and couldn't do enough to up grade us to the rooms we were expecting. The breakfast each morning was really pleasant with a good selection and great service from the staff. The free WiFi was such a relief and worked really well. We felt so relaxed and would definitely recommend this as a convenient and pleasant place to stay if visiting Amsterdam. I would suggest asking for the newly appointed rooms at the front of the building which are located in their own wing with a small but efficient elevator. One of these rooms are worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Definitely try and book the newly appointed suites located at the front of the building in the separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.