We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Drapes in High Ceilinged Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2 enjoy 3
Ranked #89 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gardnerville, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Drapes in High Ceilinged Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were on the first floor with extremely high ceilings in the old fashioned style, very, very tall windows and awesomely beautiful drapes. I don't remember anything wrong with our sink. The huge tub was great for soaking and the beds comfortable. The location was great and reception was pleasant. I loved the Orient Express motif in the bar. Most of the furniture and accessories in the bar were from one of the old dining cars. My only complaint was that the room was too hot and we had to sleep on top of all the covers. It appeared that the air conditioning was not working. When I mentioned this a couple of days later, they explained that the hotel was a "green" hotel and when it is colder outside than inside the air won't work as you are expected to open the windows to cool off. That was all well and good except our windows were 6 or 8 feet tall and were of the transom type that have to be pulled open from the top. The hotel is actually three different buildings and perhaps the negative reviews all come from the same building which is actually older than the others. All in all we were quite happy with the hotel except for the thermostat that didn't work.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    1,047
    314
    78
    22
See reviews for
296
1,095
144
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Travelled as extended family of 8 plus young child. Great hotel in an excellent location. Staff very helpful, especially with any requests for the toddler travelling with us. Lovely rooms. Wide choice for breakfast. Lovely bar. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the Convent Hotel for 4 nights on a short break. We were a little worried about this hotel, which we booked weeks ago, reading some TA reviews "tired and in need of renovation", but we needn't to have worried. We arrived at c. 11am and asked for a quiet room. We had to wait until after 2 pm, official checking in time, which is fair enough, and indeed, we did get a quiet room on the 4th floor away from the street. We sacrified some light, but we did not hear any noise from the street. The room was of a reasonable size, well decorated and clean. No complaints. The staff was always smiling and helpful.
As other reviewers remarked, the location is great, close to the station, shops and the fashionable Jordaan district. The museums however, are a little further away. We go regularly to Amsterdam, and I would come back to this hotel.
One tip to the management, why not extent the hours for the Dutch breakfast until after 9 am, before this is a little early for us when on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Centrally located, around a 10 minutes walk from central station. very close to all the main attractions and the main shopping street. Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful.
Room could use more lighting specially near the closet area. Bathroom amenities are worn out could use some restorations.
overall enjoyed my stay, would definitely consider this hotel when returning to Amsterdam

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed at The Convent on a few different occasions but this was the nicest room we had been given. The room overlooked the road and although you could hear some tram/traffic noise it was not loud enough to be a nuisance. The bathroom was a good size with a full size bath and plenty of room to move around. Reception staff were friendly and the use of the umbrellas is always appreciated in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times and it is my prefered hotel for central amsterdam, especially if you get a decent rate. It is just a few minutes from the central station and on a safe road, as other parts of central amsterdam can be less salubrious.

The hotel has a homey rather than modern feel but it is clean and pretty up to date. Staff are especially helpful and friendly, and have been over several visits. This time there were a couple of small issues in the room (a light on the fritz and a dodgy shower lead) and when i mentioned them in the morning they were very quick to get it sorted, and to make me feel like they cared.

One oddity is the way they make up the beds - they put a thick duvet between the mattress and undersheet. I think this is a style of some sort, but I am not so keen on it so i took it out, but the mattresses are comfy and the pillows good.

Book early, get a decent rate and this is a great deal for central amsterdam

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms I have had were a bit taller and felt more spacious, not sure this counts for all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.