We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The saving grace of this hotel is the location. The staff is outstanding and helpful. However the hotel is badly in need of refreshing. The carpets are very dirty, bed was lumpy, toilet flushing iffy and if you open your window be prepared for noise all night. I don't think this is worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    1,018
    306
    78
    21
See reviews for
288
1,065
143
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The location is perfect in the heart of Amsterdam , rooms was nice but must be renovated old bathrooms , reception very friendly specially mr TAREK he did his best to help us , breakfast was not special but okie , bed was very comfortable and the checkout was quick and professional

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. High standard room on 5th Floor. Deep bath and powerful shower. Plenty fluffy towels and towelling robes with slippers.Great comfortable king size bed. Lovely gift bag left in room with chocs and place mats when we arrived back on our first day. Plush lounge and bar. The bar staff very friendly. Hotel is a short walk from Central Station and Dam Square. We purchased a 2 days tram ticket which was ideal for further away areas such as Van Gogh museum and Dutch resistence museum. Amsterdam has fantastic restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went for a short visit to Amsterdam and was my first visit. We got the train direct from the airport to Central Station Amsterdam. This hotel is really easy to find literally a 10 minute walk from the station. It looks small from the outside but quite large inside. Our room was great and we had booked a kings sized bed. All the facilities in room you would expect and very clean. Not noisy at all in fact very quiet and great nights sleep. There are loads of restaurants, bars,coffee shops near to the hotel and its 5 minutes to Dam Square and 5 minutes to main street/shops. Buses and tram stops outstide hotel but every tram/bus is at the central station. You can walk to almost every tourist attractions from here. Highly recommend this hotel.Queing absolutely mad at all museums recommend queue busting tickets.Reception staff very helpful and you can store your bags until your train/flight is due.

Room Tip: upgrade to a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier last month. Overall, i think this will suit a lot of people's requirements...

As has been said by pretty much everyone already, I think the Convent's location is very good if you're looking to be based right in the centre of Amsterdam.

The people working in the hotel were all very nice and courteous. The place was clean (*see below), we didn't have any problems with noise and the hotel bar was great.

We did have a problem with our room, which was unfortunate, however the hotel quickly offered us an alternative. Good going Accor! You can't always get things right, but it's good to know that you try your best when things don't go exactly to plan.

The thing i personally didn't like about the Convent was its location, and that's not really something that should put people off staying here. I would say however, that the Grasshopper bar/Cafe next door wasn't a particular nice place and tended to attract quite a few scumbags. We almost had a couple of problems at the bar and outside the hotel - i smoke, so would pop outside the hotel every now and then - and by 1am, it probably wasn't wise to just be standing there (bear in mind i travelled with my g/f and wasn't with some rowdy bunch of lads looking for trouble).

Amsterdam isn't a big place, so for me personally, next time i'll go back to the Frommer Hotel just on the outskirts of the city where it's a bit more residential. I really have no problem with the hotel itself and thank them for a good stay. I'm sure many travellers will really like this place, but coming from a big city myself, it's not a place i'd want to stay in again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 2013. The location is great, short walk to Centraal station and not much further to all the main museums. All staff very friendly and helpful although we did feel we had to queue quite often to be served at reception. We were upgraded on checking in to a refurbished room which we were very happy about. The room our children had was a bit tired. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our room looked out onto one of the narrow streets but that didn't bother me, and the noise from revellers going home at night didn't bother me either. Breakfast was included in our deal and was very good, great choice, lots of fruit, great pancakes. All in all, very happy with our choice - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a three night stay. Hotel is only a ten minute walk from central station and on the tram route. It's a great location as it's a really quiet hotel and only minutes walk from Dam square. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and coffee shops right on the doorstep of the hotel. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms are not huge but clean and well furnished. The breakfast had a great selection that would appeal to all, ranging from cereal, fresh fruit to pastries and freshly cooked to order hot selection. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and ensure to get a room towards the back of the hotel as it's really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.