We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #89 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just got back from a one day trip to Amsterdam. Chose this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The hotel is centrally located and the staff friendly and helpful. The bed was hmm....I have never seen one like it! It really looked like a mountain and valleys as described by a previous reviewer, however, it was very very comfy. As a matter of fact, I had my best sleep on this bed in whirl wind tour of Europe. The wash hand basin in the bathroom can do with a replacement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

It is my pleasure to read that you have experienced our staff as friendly and helpful. And our beds were a complete new experience for you? I am glad you found it very comfortable.

We hope we may welcome you again for a good night sleep in the future.

Kind regards,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    1,051
    318
    78
    22
See reviews for
299
1,103
146
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here two nights for business. Booked it because a colleague had said this was where he was staying and had a good price. So main lesson is not to listen to colleagues!

Price was €199 per night and breakfast was €23. Breakfast was fine - they had cold meats and the meat was of very good quality and safe to eat. They also had mixed fruit sliced to go with cereal, but mainly apple - I prefer pineapple.

Staff in hotel were very courteous and helpful. Decor in hotel is a little faded. For nearly €200 a night I was expecting something different - I would have been as happy staying in an NH or IBIs at a lower price.

Location is fine - a short walk from Central Station.

The map they give in the hotel is absolutely useless - not enough streets are marked and too small a scale. You need a good map and a compass in Amsterdam or you will easily walk around in circles for hours.

The Hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Tram for the RAI which is about a 12 minute ride away. 24 or 48 hr Tram tickets can be bought at the hotel are as cheap/cheaper than 2 journeys a day bought on the Tram itself.

Room Tip: Buy a 48hr Tram ticket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for this extensive review here at Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations.
I also would like to mention that prices for the rooms may vary, I assume you have stayed with us in a busy period with a lot of conventions going on in Amsterdam.

We hope we have the opportunity to better serve you next time if you give us the chance.

Sincerely,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, centrally situated so easy to get to all the sights. The staff without exception were frendly, helpful and efficent. The room was comfortable, tho a bit hot when windows closed. Breakfast very good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving this review here at Tripadvisor.
We hope we have the chance to welcome you back in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights & very good hotel.Location is ideal,only 5 mins from Train station & not too far from Dam square.The Beds were very comfy, slept like a baby!!!Bathroom was average. Only complaint I can give is the lack of lighting in the room.Staff were friendly aswell,all in all very good hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here at Tripadvisor.

It is a delight to read that you liked the location, the beds and our staff. I am sorry to read that the lighting was not ideal.

I hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Yours truly,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my boyfriend. The hotel is in a great (safe) location around the corner from Dam Square and a 5 minute straight walk to Centraal train station. There are lots of cafes and restaurants on both sides of the road, plenty of choice. The staff are very friendly and seem to genuinely care, even the housekeeping, I have no complaints about any of the staff. Rooms were clean and made up well every day. Housekeeping starts to come round early (8am I heard them knocking on our floor) so put Do Not Disturb on if you won't be out at that time. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate and was the best I'd had in a hotel. Something for everyone (fried: bacon, eggs, sausage etc, cereals, breads, meat, fruit etc), even soya milk if you require it. Fresh orange juice machine and other juices. There is a bar on the ground floor which is very quirky- made from an old train carriage. It still feels like it is one. You can pick up umbrellas to borrow for rainy days which was very useful as we had one day when it rained from leaving at 10am until getting back 11pm. Hairdryer in the bathroom and complementary toiletries such as soap, shower gel, cotton buds, showercap etc.Shower has decent pressure, but not a 'power shower'. The beds are super comfy and quite roomy.

I'd stay here again, and recommend it to others, but I would look elsewhere first to see what else is available for similar price.

Things that stopped me giving it 5 star -
* The lighting in the room is quite poor. Lights and lamps near the door, window and by the bed, but no light overhead. When there was no natural light left, to do my makeup and hair I had to sit on the floor infront of the mirrored wardrobes by the door because the best light (excluding the bathroom) was there. Not ideal.
* There is a large mirror above the desk (next to a lamp) but it's so high that when you sit there you can't see yourself in it. I'm tall so it's not just my height, you'd have to be a giant to see in. If it would've been head-height I wouldn't have had the problem mentioned above.
* The decor is quite old school, maybe not to everyone's taste, not a problem for me however in some places a bit of TLC needed, scuffed wood etc. Not a big issue but for the price you do expect it to be neigh on perfect.
* The walls are quite thin. On the first night I could hear both rooms either side of mine's TVs on, one of them absolutely booming. Judging by where our TV was, their TV would've been on the other side of the wall to where our bed was. On the last night I could hear music from a bar on the street into the early hours, a booming bass noise. You could hear people in the lobby talking and walking to the lift. Take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. I do not expect to hear outside noise from anywhere when staying in a hotel these days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at the Convent hotel Amsterdam.

It is my pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the service, the location and the breakfast and I am sorry to read that some inventory did not worked well for you. As we will renovate our rooms next year I will absolutely discuss these matters with our designers.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the hear future.

Warm regards,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was lucky to obtain a three nights for the price of two deal and together with Accor's Platinum Loyalty status was treated to a large luxury room with kingsize bed, sofa and two easy chairs. The room overlooked a quiet pedestrian street, the double glazing effective at blocking any noise from the nearby tram stop. The only quibbles with the room are that the lighting is quite poor for a room of that size - working lighting at the desk area is adequate though - and the decoration is a little tired (the bathroom especially needs updating, but it has all the needed features and is quite usable) I understand that the hotel is to be refurbished soon.

The hotel is just a couple of tram stops from the Centraal Station with its easy access to AMS airport; it is also just moments walk from Damm Square and many of the central sights. Of course being central Amsterdam the hotel is close to the tram lines and many locations can be easily reached.

Breakfast was tasty and varied; the hot eggs and bacon may not be the style that Brits or Americans are used to though, however the cold cuts, cheeses and breads more than compensated. The €23 cost per person appeared too high for what was available but as we on a breakfast inclusive rate it was worth eating. There is also a smaller, cheaper offer in the bar for under €10 if you just want a hot drink and pastries. There are a wealth of places nearby the hotel where you can grab a breakfast.

Accor's loyalty scheme is generous in how it recognises regular guests - the welcome from the hotel staff and the little complimentary "extras" made a good stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving this extensive review of the Convent Hotel Amsterdam here on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed the room, the breakfast and our location. Indeed we will renovate next year.

Our loyal guests are very important to us and we then hope we may welcome you in the furture!

Yours truly,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDEFINING LUXURY AND TIME INK Hotel Amsterdam redefines luxury into the freedom of time. The hotel is build upon local heritage, as it was formerly known as the headquarters of newspaper “De Tijd”. ‘Time’ is the signature of INK Hotel Amsterdam and has ruled the design of the hotel. The hotel living room, once the place where stories were written and printed, will now turn into the F&B concept. This hotel will boast a unique food concept and iconic bar with a convivial cast offering high-end cocktails. At INK Hotel Amsterdam YOU define your time: whether you work, play or sleep. INK STORY INK Hotel Amsterdam houses a rich history. Formerly the building was functioning as the headquarters of the Dutch newspaper “De Tijd” from 1904 to 1986. This illustrious past has been translated into the modern boutique design made by Concrete Architects. In the design you will discover different and surprising elements, all relating to its past. Time is the new luxury: the time to read in the pressroom; the time to write, to draw, to discover, to smile at others, to socialise, to share, to enjoy... endlessly. INK HOTEL IN AMSTERDAM INK Hotel Amsterdam will be the perfect place to stay, work, play and relax. Its location in the center of Amsterdam is ideal for visiting the city. It is a five-minute walk from Central Station, situated next to Dam Square. From the moment you enter, the hotel will show it’s characteristic design. A small square, in the midst of the hotel shows the original state of the canal houses. As one of the few, this hotel will have her own courtyard. Inspired by the past, the hotel plays with the hectic energy of a pressroom. The F&B concept will offer a unique all-day food and drink concept. There is a garden room that offers meeting facilities and private dinning. The hotel has 149 rooms, including 4 Suites, each personalised with their own story. INK Hotel Amsterdam is part of the MGallery collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.