We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, Amsterdam 1012 RE, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Room had the old world charm. Good food. Service was excellent. Helpful staff,guided us well. Water at the reception desk exotic. Cycles available. walking distance from the canal cruises, train station and tram station. Very close to Dam Square and the high street.Relaxing atmosphere in the reception lounge too. Free internet and printing services. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this terrific review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam. It is our great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the service, the location and the atmosphere. We hope we may welcome you another time in Amsterdam.

Yours truly,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    734
    1,019
    287
    70
    21
See reviews for
275
996
140
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of our Europe trip and this was one of the top hotels of our vacation. The location is absolutely perfect, it's on a quieter street with plenty of cafes and restaurants, yet a 5 minute walk from all of the central Amsterdam sites. Also, this hotel is easy to find, definitely a plus for us after arriving by train to Amsterdam for our first experience in Europe.

We absolutely loved the front desk staff, very friendly and outgoing, always positive, and always willing to help with questions. The hotel was compact overall as are most in Europe, but for the amount of money we paid, downright stunning room with a fantastic street view!

If we end up in Amsterdam again, this will definitely be on the top of our list!

Room Tip: Top floor is great just for the views, but I doubt there's a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your marvelous words about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam by MGallery.

It is our great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the location and more of all that you loved our employees.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Located near Dam Square and the Red Light District, this was a perfect location for a one night stay before we got on a ship. Room was small but not a problem. Front desk personnel were extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was ready when we arrived at 10AM, which was a bonus. Try to get the deal with breakfast, since 23 euros pp is too much to pay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words in this review.

We wish to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We selected this hotel due to the location and the positive reviews on this site. It turned out to be a great choice! We arrived early in the morning ~8:30 and were greeted by staff who were very friendly. The desk agent said that they would have a room for us shortly and immediate provided us with a no-cost upgrade and also a full breakfast at no cost. Our room was ready in about 45 minutes and we were just thrilled. A nice sized room (by European standards) in the smaller wing of the hotel (only 7 rooms). A very clean room with a nice walk-in shower.

The location is perfect - as has been said here you are only about a 7 - 10 minute walk to the central station and access to all of the canal boats, trams, and trains. The walk is lined with cafe's and small shops, so heading out each morning included a short stop for a coffee and pastry.

Many of the major sites are within an easy (we are in our 60's) walk from this location, although we did book a 48 hour canal bus ticket (through Viator.com) along with a "pass the line" ticket for the Van Gogh Museum in advance. It is good for 48 hours unlimited travel from the time you first use it. We used the canal bus to get to a few of the more distant museum and just to relax when we wanted to just sit and have a leisurely cruise.

The restaurant in the hotel serves a buffet style breakfast, that while nicely varied, was a bit pricy at 26 Eu/pp. The roll and coffee in the lounge at 9,50 was nice, as well. The lounge also has a small menu for those times when you just don't feel like going out for a meal. The drink service was excellent (thanks, Ricardo) and fairly priced, keeping in mind that drink are served by tightly controlled volumes, not an "open pour".

Although our room was slightly above street level at the front of the hotel, it was absolutely quiet, thanks in part to insulated windows inside of the old ones. We never heard a single sound from another room.

I could go on, but much has already been said.

Bottom Line - as in real estate, location is everything (almost) - this hotel has it all, clean and friendly, fairly priced, great location, friendly staff - all the things that make a great experience. And, yes, we will be going back in 2015 and staying here again.

Tip: Conexxion offers a shuttle from Schipol to the hotel for about 1/2 the price of a taxi; we booked it on-line in advance and had no problem at all.

Room Tip: Inquire about a room upgrade if you are staying for more than a few days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
It is wonderful to read such amazing words about you stay with us here on TripAdvisor.
These are the words we are all working hard for and what we love to hear.

In 2015 you will be more then welcome again, we might be a little different then as we will renovate next year!

Yours truly,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here during a weekend break to Amsterdam from London. It is about 20-25 mins taxi ride fron the airport and cost about 50Euros although the central station is nearby, 10 mins walk if on wishes to take the train from the airport. The staff are generally helpful and friendly.
The room was good sized with reasonable toiletries provided and large comfy bed provided. The decor is typical Old European hotel style ie dated, although it seemed cleaner than most.

The location is only few mins walk from the Dam square and right in the shopping district of amsterdam. Generally pleasant hotel although not cheap at around 200eurors a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to describe your experiences at our hotel here at TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to hear that you have enjoyde the hotel's location and our staff.
We hope we may welcome you again another time!

Kind regards,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a classic, comfortable hotel with some wonderful history. A warm welcome on arrival made you feel at ease immediately. Our room was very clean and homely. Bed and pillows were excellent. The foyer had a nice atmosphere and there was a lot of interesting items to view. Quite a relaxing area to sit and read or just have a chat. I recommend this hotel and would stay again while in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for these marvellous words!
It is our pleasure to read that you felt at ease immediately.

We hope we may welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for my stag so I hasen to add it was quite a large weekend.

The hotel was great; very centrally located so you could walk pretty much everywhere, very comfortable and exactly what was needed so if some people want to go back early its easy etc

The bar was fine in the hotel as was the breakfast though nothing to write home about.

Rooms were solid and everything you needed though at the same time not amazing. The hotel was perfect for the occasion though may not be if you are looking for a special weekend away with wife.

If I was to pick one issue with the place for our trip it was that the barman was incapable of making cocktails at a decent speed and while happy hour was on we were rationed as he couldn't make them fast enough. In fairness we were odering 8 at a time but still, not great to be told we were not allowed to order any more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de Looij J, General Manager at The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving a review at Tripadvisor.
We can imagine you have had a wonderfull time in Amsterdam all together.
I am really sorry to read that you were told to not order any more cocktails, I think it was a little bit too much for the barman at that time. I will discuss this matter here.

We hope this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Yours truly,

Joachim de Looij
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, Amsterdam 1012 RE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.