We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #89 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in June and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very nice and our room was very clean. The staff that helped us check in and check out were very friendly and helpful. The room was perfect size for the two of us although the view out our window was not great. We had a view of another building so you might want to ask for a view of the street. We were not in our room much so it did not really matter and it was better than having no window at all. The bathroom was nice and functional though the water took a bit of time to warm up but that is to be expected in an old building. Also the bed was amazing and so comfortable, I slept like a log. The absolute best part about this hotel is it's location. You can walk to almost all of the big sites and you are right near the downtown/red light district but far enough that it is not too loud at night. Amsterdam is an amazing place and this is a great hotel to take it all in at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    1,051
    318
    78
    22
See reviews for
299
1,101
146
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent a weekend with some friends in Amsterdam. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the central railway station. Hotel was superb and better than we expected. Lovely lobby and courteous staff. Rooms spotless, 2 great big pillows on each bed! Bathroom clean, shower hot and powerful. Only criticism was the nozel on the end of the hair dryer had been superglued stuck and could not be twisted round!!! This is only a worry if you have to style short hair!!
Great lounge bar, make sure you get cocktails before 7pm they are cheaper and you get a lovely dish of nibbles aswell. Would come back here if visiting Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After a long overseas flight we arrive at The Convent Hotel and the mgr said that he gave our 3 rooms away to a tour group that arrived one day early. He re-booked us into a lesser quality hotel (The Ibis) and apologized for our inconvenience -unbelievable that a hotel mgr can just give away confirmed rooms!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had 3 rooms confirmed and re-confirmed for one night, June 4th. When we arrived at the hotel after a long overseas flight, the mgr said that a tour group arrived one day early; therefore, he cancelled our reservations and re-booked us into a down graded Ibis Hotel. Was apologetic and gave us a free breakfast at The Ibis. Unbelievable that a hotel can change someone's reservations at their descretion!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 1 night here and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel room was equipped with all the necessities including a good selection of toiletries, free WiFi and cozy bath robes. The room was clean and private and we were very happy with the feel of the room. The downside however was the fact that there was no safe to lock in our valuables (If you need to lock away your items you could use the safe provided at the reception).

Also, there was a beautiful but rather creepy looking portrait (painting) hanging over the bed which was quite scary but we had a good laugh at it. Overall, the hotel is located very close to the city center and all the famous streets and sights. The staff were very welcoming and provided us with a city map and information on the various highlights of Amsterdam!

We could also place our baggage free of charge at the baggage deposit room after checking out since we had a late night flight. So we could browse the city a little bit more without dragging our bags around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The title really sums it up. We were pleased with our selection of hotel, the front desk staff were helpful and it was located close to everything. Our stay included breakfast which was great - croissants, breads, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cheese and meat trays, fruits, juices. Our room was small but the bed was comfy and we weren't in the room much. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

While travelling in The Netherlands, I became ill in Amsterdam and was admitted to hospital for 6 days. During that time, the staff at the Convent Hotel not only took very good care of my friend who was now alone in a strange city, but also asked constantly about how I was doing and even sent a beautiful fruit basket to the hospital for me. When I was released from hospital and returned to the Convent Hotel the night before flying home to Canada, they welcomed me back as if I were a family member they were glad to see once again. The entire staff we dealt with on our trip could not have done anything further to help us during our very stressful situation. We will definitely go back to complete our trip and look forward to seeing our friends at The Convent Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDEFINING LUXURY AND TIME INK Hotel Amsterdam redefines luxury into the freedom of time. The hotel is build upon local heritage, as it was formerly known as the headquarters of newspaper “De Tijd”. ‘Time’ is the signature of INK Hotel Amsterdam and has ruled the design of the hotel. The hotel living room, once the place where stories were written and printed, will now turn into the F&B concept. This hotel will boast a unique food concept and iconic bar with a convivial cast offering high-end cocktails. At INK Hotel Amsterdam YOU define your time: whether you work, play or sleep. INK STORY INK Hotel Amsterdam houses a rich history. Formerly the building was functioning as the headquarters of the Dutch newspaper “De Tijd” from 1904 to 1986. This illustrious past has been translated into the modern boutique design made by Concrete Architects. In the design you will discover different and surprising elements, all relating to its past. Time is the new luxury: the time to read in the pressroom; the time to write, to draw, to discover, to smile at others, to socialise, to share, to enjoy... endlessly. INK HOTEL IN AMSTERDAM INK Hotel Amsterdam will be the perfect place to stay, work, play and relax. Its location in the center of Amsterdam is ideal for visiting the city. It is a five-minute walk from Central Station, situated next to Dam Square. From the moment you enter, the hotel will show it’s characteristic design. A small square, in the midst of the hotel shows the original state of the canal houses. As one of the few, this hotel will have her own courtyard. Inspired by the past, the hotel plays with the hectic energy of a pressroom. The F&B concept will offer a unique all-day food and drink concept. There is a garden room that offers meeting facilities and private dinning. The hotel has 149 rooms, including 4 Suites, each personalised with their own story. INK Hotel Amsterdam is part of the MGallery collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.