We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam. The room was clean, the bathroom had a great shower and a flat screen tv. The bed was comfortable and more importantly there was a nespresso machine in the room. The breakfast had a good variety of food including the important english breakfast. Even though in the centre of the city we didn't hear much noise within or outside the hotel. Free Wifi also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    734
    1,025
    290
    72
    21
See reviews for
277
1002
140
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotels in Amsterdam are very expensive, but the price for this hotel is reasonable. It's located in a tacky neighborhood, but it's within walking distance of the Anne Frank House. Skip the bar breakfast for 9.50 euros; you get only one cup of coffee, a free second cup is not allowed. The rooms are clean, small, and a bit shabby. It's convenient for the #5 and #2 tram lines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, our plane arrived "early" in the morning but we were graciously accommodated at once! (10:00 am.). Only glitch was obtaining the "early booking" incentive indicated on my Accor hotel loyalty program reservation

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotels location couldn't be better. It is just a short walk from Central Station, right in the heart of the City. It makes it an absolutely ideal location to explore from. The hotel's buffet breakfast is excellent, one of the best I've seen, catering to more or less all tastes and with a high quality. My Gluten Free requirements were easily dealt with. My only criticism is the room which for a deluxe upgrade I would consider very small and we felt the bed was tiny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived in Amsterdam by train so the first plus was walking distance. Check in was great but our room key failed each day. I have to admit I was a bit disappointed with the wear and tear in our room but if I weigh everything up I still give it a high score. We loved the bars happy hour for the bargain cocktails and the convenience of having our breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

While on a tour in Amsterdam, my girlfriend was taken ill and had to be transferred by ambulance to the Onze Lieve Vrouwe Gasthuis Hospital and ended up having emergency surgery. The tour group left the next day for Belgium, obviously without us. I was stranded, so far away from home. The staff of The Convent (Rene and Rob) stepped up to the plate, ensured my comfort by telling me to stay in my room (and not have the upheaveal of moving rooms). They also secured an exceptional rate for my stay including breakfast and taxes. While my girlfriend was hospitalized for the remainder of our trip (7 days) and was only released the night before our flight home, the staff treated me as family. Always asking if they could do anything for me, always asking about my girlfriend's progress. I can't say enough about the hotel as a whole, and in particular, Rene and Rob. Thank you so much. We will return to Amsterdam some day and will definitely make The Convent our "home away from home".

Room Tip: no matter which one you choose, it will be exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuveau, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is very well located close to Central Station and Dam square. We were staying in nice rooms, quiet, good furniture and nice bathroom.
The breakfast is fine, but if purchased separately, a bit expensive.
The staff is friendly and helpful for advices.
Overall a nice stay in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.