We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in every respect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection) (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #82 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Average in every respect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotels in Amsterdam are very expensive, but the price for this hotel is reasonable. It's located in a tacky neighborhood, but it's within walking distance of the Anne Frank House. Skip the bar breakfast for 9.50 euros; you get only one cup of coffee, a free second cup is not allowed. The rooms are clean, small, and a bit shabby. It's convenient for the #5 and #2 tram lines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    1,066
    321
    78
    22
See reviews for
301
1,122
147
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, our plane arrived "early" in the morning but we were graciously accommodated at once! (10:00 am.). Only glitch was obtaining the "early booking" incentive indicated on my Accor hotel loyalty program reservation

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotels location couldn't be better. It is just a short walk from Central Station, right in the heart of the City. It makes it an absolutely ideal location to explore from. The hotel's buffet breakfast is excellent, one of the best I've seen, catering to more or less all tastes and with a high quality. My Gluten Free requirements were easily dealt with. My only criticism is the room which for a deluxe upgrade I would consider very small and we felt the bed was tiny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived in Amsterdam by train so the first plus was walking distance. Check in was great but our room key failed each day. I have to admit I was a bit disappointed with the wear and tear in our room but if I weigh everything up I still give it a high score. We loved the bars happy hour for the bargain cocktails and the convenience of having our breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

While on a tour in Amsterdam, my girlfriend was taken ill and had to be transferred by ambulance to the Onze Lieve Vrouwe Gasthuis Hospital and ended up having emergency surgery. The tour group left the next day for Belgium, obviously without us. I was stranded, so far away from home. The staff of The Convent (Rene and Rob) stepped up to the plate, ensured my comfort by telling me to stay in my room (and not have the upheaveal of moving rooms). They also secured an exceptional rate for my stay including breakfast and taxes. While my girlfriend was hospitalized for the remainder of our trip (7 days) and was only released the night before our flight home, the staff treated me as family. Always asking if they could do anything for me, always asking about my girlfriend's progress. I can't say enough about the hotel as a whole, and in particular, Rene and Rob. Thank you so much. We will return to Amsterdam some day and will definitely make The Convent our "home away from home".

Room Tip: no matter which one you choose, it will be exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuveau, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is very well located close to Central Station and Dam square. We were staying in nice rooms, quiet, good furniture and nice bathroom.
The breakfast is fine, but if purchased separately, a bit expensive.
The staff is friendly and helpful for advices.
Overall a nice stay in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is amazing. A 10 mins stroll from Centraal station. Well in the center. We did not use public transport once. Everything is within walking distance (provided you are OK with walks up to 30 mins).
The room was clean but the bed was too small. We actually did not think it was a double bed.
In terms of facilities, there is a bar and a small gym.
Did not try the breakfast but plenty of great breakfast locations around the hotel (and cheaper too).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDEFINING LUXURY AND TIME INK Hotel Amsterdam redefines luxury into the freedom of time. The hotel is build upon local heritage, as it was formerly known as the headquarters of newspaper “De Tijd”. ‘Time’ is the signature of INK Hotel Amsterdam and has ruled the design of the hotel. The hotel living room, once the place where stories were written and printed, will now turn into the F&B concept. This hotel will boast a unique food concept and iconic bar with a convivial cast offering high-end cocktails. At INK Hotel Amsterdam YOU define your time: whether you work, play or sleep. INK STORY INK Hotel Amsterdam houses a rich history. Formerly the building was functioning as the headquarters of the Dutch newspaper “De Tijd” from 1904 to 1986. This illustrious past has been translated into the modern boutique design made by Concrete Architects. In the design you will discover different and surprising elements, all relating to its past. Time is the new luxury: the time to read in the pressroom; the time to write, to draw, to discover, to smile at others, to socialise, to share, to enjoy... endlessly. INK HOTEL IN AMSTERDAM INK Hotel Amsterdam will be the perfect place to stay, work, play and relax. Its location in the center of Amsterdam is ideal for visiting the city. It is a five-minute walk from Central Station, situated next to Dam Square. From the moment you enter, the hotel will show it’s characteristic design. A small square, in the midst of the hotel shows the original state of the canal houses. As one of the few, this hotel will have her own courtyard. Inspired by the past, the hotel plays with the hectic energy of a pressroom. The F&B concept will offer a unique all-day food and drink concept. There is a garden room that offers meeting facilities and private dinning. The hotel has 149 rooms, including 4 Suites, each personalised with their own story. INK Hotel Amsterdam is part of the MGallery collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.