We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covenient location, small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #84 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Covenient location, small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I chose this hotel since the location was near the tourist places. The hotel was located in Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal street which is 5 minutes walking from the central station and 2 minutes from Damrak and 3-4 minutes from Dam square. This street is less crowded than Damrak and very conveint if you want to go everywhere. For the first side the hotel seems attractive but the rooms they gave to me was very small even for one person even the room was double. The breakfast was simple and limited. The front desk personel were friendly and good during check-in, check-out but there was no concierge service. You can consider this hotel as a good 3 star one in Amsterdam but the price in comparison to service is very high. When you are in the room, if you want privacy, keep the door locked. Otherwise, it is very probable staff (minibar check-in or housekeeping) knock the door and without waiting a second open the door and since the rooms is small you can not hide everywhere. This happened to me two time in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    1,042
    313
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,091
144
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Khabarovsk, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Pros: This hotel is a boutique and clean. The staff is very friendly. Great location! Most things are within walking distance, but the tram stops right in front of the hotel if you need to get on it. Free wifi in the rooms is definitely a plus!

Cons: Unfortunately, this hotel does not have a concierge, but the front desk is great at making recommendations. There also isn't a pool or a gym in this hotel, and there is not a safe in the rooms.

We also had friends stay at the Grand Hotel (A different Sofitel property) and that was also very nice. If I were going to plan the trip over again I would definitely stay at the Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: when booking ask for a room toward the back of the property. The front of the property faces a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The overall service is good, Receptionist is very much welcome. We were upgraded with champagne and breakfast. However, it would be good if the hotel can increase the quality of the food. We all agreed that the food at Ibis Styles is much better than what we had at MGallery Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel is older, but well kept. Front desk and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and clean. Our breakfast was included and was delicious! Very convenient to town. We were able to walk to most places and the metro stop is right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed twice at this hotel, once in January and once in April and enjoyed both the stays. Rooms can be a little small and not always the greatest views but the rooms are nice and the place is clean and the service is great. Free Wifi. Also the hotel is in a great location close to all the bars and restaurants and coffee shops that we love. Is only a little over five minute walk from train station and trams and buses go by in front of hotel all the time so easy to get any where you want.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Arrived in Amsterdam planning to stay in holiday apartment we booked in advance. Upon arrival were very disappointed with the apartment which did not suit our needs (we are a couple with a baby). Had to find alternative accommodation on the spot which was unpleasant. Walked over to the Convent where I had stayed 3 times before hoping they will have a room available. From the moment we entered the hotel, everything changed for better - and more. Staff were amazing. Nice. Professional. Extremely helpful. We booked a room and had an amazing stay much thanks to the hotel, the spacious room, the excellent location and the professional service. Highly recommended for any traveller who wants to enjoy an upscale hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.