We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Convent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank You Convent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Arrived in Amsterdam planning to stay in holiday apartment we booked in advance. Upon arrival were very disappointed with the apartment which did not suit our needs (we are a couple with a baby). Had to find alternative accommodation on the spot which was unpleasant. Walked over to the Convent where I had stayed 3 times before hoping they will have a room available. From the moment we entered the hotel, everything changed for better - and more. Staff were amazing. Nice. Professional. Extremely helpful. We booked a room and had an amazing stay much thanks to the hotel, the spacious room, the excellent location and the professional service. Highly recommended for any traveller who wants to enjoy an upscale hotel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    969
    282
    70
    21
See reviews for
277
1009
140
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very clean very accessible! A Metro line is right outside and in front of the hotel. The rooms are roomy and comfortable as is the shower A/C and heating works very nice. Unless you bought a breakfast package, stay away. The price is outrages for a simple breakfast, you are better off and eating somewhere else for the price. Walking distance to shopping, red light district, river and city tours. This is a very young and hip area to be in. Not really advisable for families unless you don't mind they see paraphernalia of all sorts. Would I go back? YES! everything that I liked in the area is close by, and other stuff is a short hop on the metro.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and found our stay to have been very nice.

We were greeted by friendly, happy staff which quickly checked us in.

On the website which we booked the hotel through it gave us a choice to select a double-bed or a queen size - to which we selected the queen size as apparently that's larger(?!), but only to be told at the hotel that it's actually smaller (?!). The nice receptionist gave us a king size bed which was great!

Though the sleep was not so good due to the mattress having a duvet on it (to maybe hide the uncomfortable sleep) the room was clean if a little dated and maybe due for refurbishment if I may say so.

As previous users mentioned, the location is great so that is a very big bonus . There is also free WiFi all throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We cannot fault the location as it is very handy for the centre,shops and the western canal ring but sadly this hotel did not have much else going for it. The rooms were tired to say the least with grotty carpets, furniture which needs replaced, marks on the skirting boards and a bed which sags at both sides with a ridge in the middle - basically, a full refurbishment is required here.
We were greeted on check in fairly coolly but functionally with not too much forthcoming with extra information when we asked questions. That was the last of any service/friendliness until check out six days later. No one ever acknowledged you and we might as well have rented a room in an appartment for all the interaction we had with the staff. we had a bar snack on the second night and, although a nice bar decorated like a pullman carriage, the service was functional but not particularly friendly (the food choce was limited but ok - there are plenty of good restaurants within a five/ten minute walk, so no need to use hotel).
The exception to all this came on check out when the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly (Rene and Melanie) - it just makes you wonder where all this friendliness had been the previous six days.
It is billed by Accor as a hotel with character - it could be but the whole place needs redecorated, rooms refurbished and new beds. Service needs to be looked at as well. Once that is done then this could be a very good place to stay as the location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A charming, old world hotel that is in a great location with transport to access the city on the doorstep. Only issue for me was the accessing of shower. The bath was quite high and bath surface a but slippery, could be awkward for some older people or those with mobility issues.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my friend and we both appreciated the excellent location. Easy access (10min walk) from Amsterdam Central station, Dam square and 15min from Anne Frank´s House.Great shopping street next to the hotel. Couldn´t be better. Cleanliness was good and the room was quiet.
If something negative should say the service from some receptionist was not perfect. Some might even be offended.Or may be our humors didn´t match.
Anyway - great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.