We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, good location and all round good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #85 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good location and all round good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip as it was just about the only hotel with vacancies but I don't regret it. It was a short walk from the train station and also easily reached by tram. The staff were very friendly and the room in decent condition. I had two single beds which I always find strange but not unusual for Europe. There was coffee and tea in the room and amazingly, a really good hair dryer that didn't take ages to dry your hair! All in all, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    1,042
    313
    78
    22
See reviews for
295
1,091
144
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Amsterdam, our first time in more than 20 years. The Convent is well located for tram, rail or walking. We had a ground floor room facing the street and while this may sound unattractive it was spacious, quiet and a very pleasant space to relax between gallery sojourns. The staff were helpful and friendly and the whole place has a quiet sophistication about it. We didn't use the restaurant apart from breakfast but this was a good standard.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed four nights recently and will definitely return. I had been frustrated with many hotels in Amsterdam (where I visit for business once a quarter) because of lobbies filled with noisy tourist groups waiting for their bus. The Convent, true to its name, has a quiet lobby. In fact, the whole hotel is very quiet. My room was right above the entrance on a busy street, but none of the noise came through the windows. The room was a decent size, not large but sufficient. The location is at mid-point between the Central Station and the Dam plaza, with a tram stop half a block away. If you want the hustle and bustle, it's steps away, but if you need to unwind quietly, the hotel offers it. The breakfast, included in my package, was very good with many choices. The staff left you alone but was friendly and helpful if you needed something. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found the room a bit small . It had NO drawer space for putting away clothes . Great bed . Good service . Definetly not 4 star

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totana, Spain
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently spent four nights at this hotel which is ideally placed for exploring Amsterdam city, and less than 10 minutes walk from the Central Station.

Our room was well equiped and spacious, with a good standard of decoration and good lighting. The bathroom was also of good size with combined bath & shower, and an adequate supply of toiletries. There was no safe in the room, but a facility is provided at Reception. The room price booked through the Accor web site was reasonable, and in line with other centre hotels.

The staff were all helpful and friendly, and happy to provide umbrellas to keep off the rain!

We chose to eat breakfast in the bar as we did not want the full buffet breakfast, and at under €10 a head was good value. We would have no hesitation in using this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very friendly people, who can't do enough for you to help make your trip the best possible experience.
The rooms are lovely, and they use the wonderful Ritual brand of Toiletries, which are beautiful.
The Hotel is a 10 minute walk from Central Station, and is close to all the wonderful places, the 9 Streets, the Jordaan, and the whole Central area. Everything is just a walk away. Highly recommended, and I have just had my second visit. The price is also very reasonable for such a lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.