We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fabulous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #87 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed as a 'birthday surprise' long weekend, with an early morning flight out of Bristol. This meant us arriving at 9.30am in the knowledge that we couldn't check in until noon. Faced with the prospect of dragging cases around Amsterdam (not easy on cobbled streets) we decided to ask if they could mind our cases in the hotel until check-in time. What a fabulous reaction we had from the front desk staff. 'No need to store your cases, we have a room that you can check into straightaway'. After a rapid check-in, Rob, who I assume was the manager, and his assistant on reception (whose name I didn't get) proceeded to point out loads of places on the map that we may find of interest, including the brilliant Noordmarket which was only a 15 min stroll away (in fact, everything was a short stroll away!!). We then went up to our room which was absolutely perfect for our needs, including a bath / shower, mini-bar, multi channel TV, and bath robes among other things. We didn't find the room run down or 'tired' as other reviewers have mentioned. Every time we returned to the hotel after our trips out the concierge and front desk staff were very friendly and took time out to ensure we had everything we needed. Another welcome surprise was the free use of the fitness / sauna room for which you could book a slot for your exclusive use. Lovely after a long day out walking along the canals and checking out places that we didn't know about (thanks to Rob), although we have visited Amsterdam many times. To sum up. We found it to be amazing value (having booked a promotional offer through their newsletter), comfortable, spotlessly clean, excellently located, and very well run with the most comfy bed I've ever slept in, hotel-wise.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front and there are trams and traffic directly outside so you may want to consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    1,046
    314
    78
    22
See reviews for
296
1,094
144
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed here for my wifes birthday, the large luxury room was excellent, the living area was large with a settee two arm chairs and a small drinks table, the bed was huge and very comfortable.
Bathroom a bit tired but adequate, the room service could be improved, no shower cap, the toileries and tissues weren't replaced and light bulbs weren't working, small details but important
Location was great, a couple of small cafes doing good breakfasts, on a couple of tram routes and walking distance to the station

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I was looking for a good central hotel and this one was a great surprise - 6 minutes walk from the Grand Central train station, comfortable, great staff service and close to everything you need from Amsterdam. I got a special 50% discount by booking via their website, so I was on the Luxury room, that have a private lift access and the windows are for the less busy street - so you can really have a nice night sleep (or day, if you´ve spent your night two blocks across the street at the Red Light district). Pros: service (great front staff people), bed comfort (yes the one I´ve used was really good!), bathroom (cool shower), location (Dam, Redlight, restaurants, coffeeshops and shopping, just around the corner) ; Cons: maybe a small update at the rooms, but minor stuff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Arrived early morning to 'dump our bags' but the room was ready and was in it by 10am , also ofered a late chack out free of charge until 2pm on the Sunday. Service was as good as expected , rooms although a bit dated were comfortable with the whole hotel very quiet although busy. Food/drink overly expensive but the overriding feel of being in a country hotel in the middle of the city outweighed any negative points. Location excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Convent Hotel had an excellent location as mentioned many times before. Close to Dam Square, the Central Station, Anne Frank House, Red Light District and transportation. The staff were pleasant but not overly friendly and really not helpful. The rooms were good sized but really need to be updated and given some new life, the bed was not very comfortable at all-lumpy and hard. The bathroom had a deep tub which could be hard for some to navigate! The room was quiet, we stayed on the back of the hotel overlooking the alley and there was no noise or disturbances. The restaurant and bar prices were outrageous so we ate outside of the hotel and there were plenty of options very close by. Overall, I don't feel it is a 4 star hotel in any aspects, the room rates were really high for the service and shape of the rooms. Next time in Amsterdam, I will definately find a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel, there was no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.