We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #77 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sosnowiec, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Hotel has very good location- close to station and Dam square too. Opposite to exit is tram stop so connection with interesting places in Amsterdam is very simple. Hotel is nice with beatiful lobby, rooms are small but elegant and convenient to short vacations. Four kinds of breakfasts are very good idea- we don`t eat very large breakfast so the Dutch kind or healthy is sufficient (and also prizes are differential). The bathroom is also small (a litlle bit too small) but the hotel is localisated in very old buildings. In conclusion, the place and its localisation is very good and service is well and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    997
    295
    71
    21
See reviews for
287
1043
142
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

Rooms were small, but were better than other European rooms. Fantastic location to central Amsterdam, within walking distance from everything. I would definitely stay agin when next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Convent Hotel is centrally located, in downtown Amsterdam minutes from the Central Train Station.
Streetcars and buses right out front. Easy access to all attractions. The beds are to die for.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is part of the Sofitel chain.
We arrived extra early one morning and our reserved room was not ready yet, but the Manager gave us a
smaller room so we could go to sleep after our flight from Athens...for this they threw in
free breakfasts (22 Euro value per person).
We climbed into the amazing bed and slept until 2:00 pm since we had been up since 3:30 am.
Seems strange to be sleeping in 2 different hotels, in 2 different countries within 6 hours.
The next morning we got up and had our free breakfast buffet.
The Convent hotel puts on a very good breakfast buffet.
I was thrilled to find shot glasses full of chocolate sprinkles,
I knew what to do with them, when in Amsterdam do as the Dutch.
MMMMMMM the chocolate sprinkles with unsalted butter eaten opened faced on delicious bread.
My wife really liked their fresh strawberry/orange juice.
She said it was the best juice she ever had.
We highly recommend the Convent Hotel, or any in the Sofitel chain. They are top notch.

Read more: http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/euro-2011-trip/1/1307094150/tpod.html#ixzz1SJVgY0kA

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here as a family of 7 adults for a wedding anniversary. The hotel was amazing, the staff were great, the rooms were spacious and clean (BIG COMFY beds too - a plus!) plus the rooms were dark and quiet, which is hard in a hotel (I didnt use my ear plugs once.) the location of the hotel was also brillant - just minutes from the Dam square and about 5-10 mins to the main train station.
Breakfast was standard continental with lots of choice.
We would definately stay here again. 10/10

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

10 min. walk from Central Station, this reasonably priced hotel is a great base for exploring Amsterdam. Even closer to some of the touring highlights like the Grand Palace, Amsterdam Church, Dam Square and more. Good sized rooms, free wifi, good cleanup each day. Quality service as you expect from Accor. Shortcomings: Street is a bit noisy but sound proofing is OK. Typical European "open shower" with partial glass means part of floor will get a bit wet. Overall, this is a good value in a high priced city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The rooms on the website looked good, and whilst i know they always show the best rooms, we were in a very dated room - we'd paid for a room with a sitting area, which we got - but the armchairs were shot, to the extent that you could actually sit on them (you sank into the base of the chair !)

The bed was equally bad - with a strange hump in the middle which left you feeling like you would roll out of bed

The reception staff were excellent and friendly and very helpful when we asked questions. The wifi was free, which is always good

The bar was curious (in a nice way) but the staff were appalling - they had run out of many items, and rather than suggest alternatives or say what they had, we were told to go and complain, as the bar man was 'sick off never having stock and customers complaining'. Not surprisingly we never saw anyone else using the bar

The location was good, short walk from the station (ten minutes) and very central

Room Tip: Ask for one that has recently been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Quite good hotel in a reasonable location.
Check-in staff very pleasant.
The room was of a good standard though the bed could have done with being levelled - there was a slight slope to the outside which, although not uncomfortable was not ideal.

The bar is what let this place down for me. On our second night we thought we enjoy the 'happy-hour' cocktails. There were about 5 or 6 cocktails to choose from, I chose a Mojito however I was told they had no mint, nor did they have basil. This ruled out a Mojito and two or three other options. I didn't want any of the other cocktails so asked if I could have a gin and tonic at the same price as a cocktail (G&T was more than a Euro more expensive). No, was the answer. I didn't think this was particularly good service; so decided to take my custom elsewhere. I told the barman this - and his response was to exclaim "it's not my fault!" and I should just put in a complaint. I said I might do just that; to which the response was "Good!".
I'm afraid I found that exceptionally bad service and am wondering what happened to 'owning the problem'?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 67, 1012 RE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100 % non-smoking hotel is located in the lively heart of Amsterdam between the Central Station and the Royal Palace (on the Dam). Also within easy reach of Schiphol Airport. Housed in three historic buildings - 13th and 14th century monasteries anda 19th century printing factory - the hotel offers 148 non-smoking rooms. For a cozy lunch or dinner try our "Duke of Windsor" Bar & Brasserie. Public parking (200 cars) under our street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Convent Hotel
Amsterdam Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.