We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Great Location and Smells AMAZING!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cozy, Great Location and Smells AMAZING!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great Location near the IAMSTERDAM sign and the museums. Cozy rooms although feels a little tight considering the bathroom toilet and separate shower is near the bed. Water can leak out of the shower to the floor. I think it may be a European thing. But overall we had great customer service and I bought some of their smell goods (oils) that they have in the lobby for my own home.

The one minor discrepancy was that we booked this through priceline and the hotel tried charging us for the stay. We got it squared away but they charged us before refunding us the money. So be artful about that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Lyricspoetic,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write about your Park Hotel experience on Tripadvisor.

I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously, and will take appropriate actions to improve in these areas. The next time you have the opportunity to travel, we hope that you will be our guest again and provide us with the opportunity to demonstrate the unparalleled service and experience you deserve.

The next time you are visiting the area we would be pleased to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    539
    246
    97
    54
See reviews for
110
700
69
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I booked the Park Hotel online after looking at other reviews. It was our first visit to Amsterdam and we definitely were not disappointed. Check in was easy with a lovely greeting from a friendly lady who couldn't have been more helpful. Throughout our stay the reception staff were incredibly friendly helpful and knowledgeable about the area and attractions. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel room was compact as stated in previous reviews. However it is a boutique hotel so this is to be expected. The room was big enough for me to do yoga in though so that gives an example of size. It was well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and mini bar. We didn't have a view from our room but that was not a problem as we were not sitting in the room all the time. The beds are very very comfortable with feather topper and pillows. The location of the hotel meant we could walk everywhere despite having city travel cards. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Vondel Park are minutes away, as is the Hard Rock Cafe. It is worth knowing that the tram from the station to get to the hotel is number 2 or 5. I think the best stop would be the Rijksmuseum stop, walk back along the main road and then the PARK Hotel is on the corner. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing these lovely words regarding to your stay at Park Hotel in Amsterdam.

Your kind review is greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

It will be an honour to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break to Amsterdam. We had never been before, so did a bit of research beforehand. Wanted to stay in a good hotel with a good location. We found this hotel and liked the look of it. We thought it all seemed a bit too good to be true because the price seemed very reasonable. When we arrived through the doors of the hotel, heading towards the reception desk,we were greeted with a big smile. From then on our stay was fantastic! The location couldn't have been better. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bedroom we had was lovely and clean, and really well planned. Although we could hear a small amount of road traffic, it all added to the experience of staying in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. We will definitely stay at the Park Hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Chrissie R,

I was very pleased to note how much you enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel.

Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

I want to thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review.

The next time you are visiting Amsterdam we would be pleased to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the Park Hotel for 3 nights in August 2014, the location of the hotel was excellent, right next to Vondelpark and a two minute walk to Rijskmuseum. The hotel itself was easy to find and right next to the canal. We stayed on the 5th floor in a double superior. The free wifi worked great and we had no problems with the hotel service at all. The gentlemen on reception when we arrived were efficient and very helpful, providing us with information about Amsterdam and transportation on the trams. The room was a good size for a city hotel and the bed was exceptionally comfortable as everyone says and the shower was powerful to wake you up in the morning! My only slight problem was that the room was in need of a new layer of paint - the walls were chipped in places and there was a small stain which looked like make up on the inside curtain! Like many, we thought €23.50 for breakfast was a little steep - we ate at the pancake place around the corner and found lots of other cafes nearby. This lobby is also wonderful to have a drink and read of a magazine. Also, theres a place to rent bikes around the corner, Mac Bikes, €11 for 3 hours and great to use in the park next door! I wouldn't hesitate to book in this hotel again when in Amsterdam.

PS. If visiting the Anne Frank museum queues tend to be about 2 hours long, so save some time by booking online and going straight in!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear hedgiepurple,

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your Park Hotel experience on Tripadvisor.

I will certainly have the maintenance team look into your room and further address your concerns. Please be advised that your experience does not reflect the normal experience of our guests.

Did you know we also have bikes and a scooter for our guests?

We kindly thank you for recommending our hotel so highly, and we are very pleased to know that you have spent such an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

stayed here for two nights and could not have picked a better place. we only had one full day to see amsterdam and it was a great base to see everything at ease. was in walking distance of one of the main shopping areas, the Heineken brewery and i am Amsterdam sign. when we arrived there we were extremely tired and the hotel staff could not have been better. the check in was fast and friendly, and we had a baggage man take our luggage up to our room for us which was great.
when we got to our room it was clean and the bed was to die for. we had the best couple sleeps there during our trip.
the hotel staff were also helpful in recommending cool places to see like local markets (which was only about 10 minutes away) and circled everything on the map for us. they also recommended great places to eat close by and we went to an Indonesian restaurant that was basically next door to it where we had a incredible dinner absolutely stuffing ourselves!
highly recommended and would stay there again if we were to go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Ken Z,

We are heartened by your wonderful praise of our hotel and staff, customer care is amongst our highest priorities and I would like to thank you for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay.

It will be an honour to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Sandwiched between Vondel Park and the Rijksmuseum, this hotel offers a touch of luxury at reasonable prices, providing a superb base for exploring Amsterdam. Most attractions & excursions are within easy walking distance and the transport options are many & varied! However, we were put off ordering breakfast by the rather handsome price of Euros 23.50 per person! I don't think we were being mean because Amsterdam is not at all suitable for penny pinching, but there are loads of options of a more reasonable start to the day - e.g. pancake restaurants, coffee shops, bakeries, etc. The accommodation is superb, especially the beds - possibly the most comfortable we'd every slept in, anywhere! And a word on the service, which was friendly and helpful at all times, especially when we reported a bad smell coming from the bathroom drain late at night. Within minutes we were relocated to an upgraded room - no fuss - and a letter of apology was under our door in the morning. We wouldn't hesitate to come back... enough said.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Daishy,

I appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us and I want to thank for you kinds words regarding to your stay.

A tip: when you book your room including breakfast in advance you pay €18,50,- p.p. for as you noted yourself a large variety of food.

We are all happy that you have enjoyed all other facilities of the hotel and are honoured to know that you would like to return in the future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here this weekend for 2 nights as part of a group of 6. The hotel was pretty much perfect for our needs. We were told we'd been upgraded when we got there so not sure if we had a deluxe room but it was fairly plush!

The room itself was large and looking out onto the canal and the Hard Rock Cafe.The beds in the room were luxurious and very comfy. We were supposed to have wifi (I think) but my iPhone could not find any networks at all in our room on the 4th floor. The bathroom was fine with a lovely shower. The mini bar was well stocked but quite pricey. We didn't eat there (breakfast was 25€!)

The location was perfect for what we needed. It was right in the museum quarter and it was easy to get anywhere we wanted. The transport links are great with boats, trams, taxis etc all readily available. We were within walking distance to loads of bars, restaurants, cafes etc...

The doorman managed to call us a taxi to take us to the airport for 40€ which was great for 6 of us.

Overall, we liked the hotel a lot and would definitely consider it if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear BRUCIE_lucy_Brain,

I want to thank you for the time you took to share your feedback regarding to your stay at Park Hotel in Amsterdam.

I will certainly have the maintenance department look into the WiFi signal in and near your room. You can always let us know during your stay if you experience any issues so the staff can offer you a solution or solve any issue straight away.

We thank you kindly for recommending our hotel to other travelers, and hope to welcome back in the future for a truly distinctive stay.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.