We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Accessible But.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€119 (EUR)
Ranked #74 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Quezon City
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“So Accessible But.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Last May 23,2014, my husband and I went to Amsterdam. It was our first time to go there so I really made sure that we will enjoy the place and maximize our stay. Through the web, I searched for the right hotel where it is accessible to all major tourist destinations and likewise meet our requirements. I finally chose Park Hotel because of its good reviews despite not being on the top 50 of all hotels in Amsterdam which I am really very particular about. During our stay did I realize why it wasn't in the top 50 at least. The service of the staff in the reception when we arrived which was past 1:00pm was really dismal. The person who attended to us made us wait until 2:00pm or so to send us to our room despite the fact that there was already an available one for us. My husband overheard a lady receptionist asked the guy who attended to us why not send us to our room already since there were available ones for arriving guests. We were so tired traveling and the least these people in this hotel can do was to be kind and make us felt welcome. I have been to hotels in Europe as attested in my reviews and I never had experience such snobbery if that what was all about. The redeeming factors actually were those in the night shift. They were really nice and helpful and our room was nice with the small balcony although rather noisy since it's overlooking the street and we were assigned to the lower floor. If ever I return to Amsterdam, I won't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear CezCLee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your experience at Park Hotel in Amsterdam.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your recent stay.

I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously, and will take appropriate actions to improve in these areas. And despite of your recent experience we hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    551
    247
    99
    55
See reviews for
110
711
71
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely comfortable BUSINESS style hotel near wii key museums and shopping.
Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet (specially in back).
Public tansport is a short walk ( 5 min.)
Front desk was a minor head ache…as they kept changing key card… some mix-up in our reservation.

Room Tip: High Floor on the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear SeattleShanu,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review . Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced at our Service Desk.

We are happy that you have enjoyed all other facilities of the hotel and would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed there with my girlfriend for a weekend break and I was quite satisfied with Park Hotel's location and services.

Very soft and comfortable beds, very clean toilets and showers with shampoo, nice soaps, body lotion etc.

The minibar menu is also nice, and the hotel is just across the Hard Rock Cafe.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone; the only issue was the airport "shuttle". As usual, a shuttle is supposed to be a free service but you need to pay around 20 euros pp for airport transfer. We used the public transport instead.

Room Tip: Toilets are a bit small in regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Denizrende,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Park Hotel experience.

We guarantee our guests a good night's sleep with the new generation Jensen® Original zone system mattresses. You can take a look at our website and also order the bedding collection.

Thank you for recommending us. We are grateful for your support and we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Perfect hotel and room if you do not have the basic room. Our friends did not upgrade which cost 40euro extra and their room was very small, with no place to put anything and the bathroom was in the same room. The room had poor lighting and in general was very poor. Our room was perfect. Separate bathroom space and room for everything. Excellent location and staff very friendly. Go to this hotel. But upgrade.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ruthlin,

I’m absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I want to thank you for recommending Park Hotel on Tripadvisor. Of course I apologize for the fact that we could not meet to the expectations of your friends.

Despite of this experience we hope that we can welcome you all again in the future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The Park is in the perfect location. The staff beyond helpful but there are issues. The basic rooms are extremely small, super plain. The junior suites are much nicer but way more expensive. Our biggest issue was the horrible amount of dust. The room on surface looks clean, bed etc... But there was literally an inch of dust of top of bed frame that when we opened windows blew everywhere. The bathroom had a freestanding pedestal in it with fake flowers on top there was inches of dust and literally garbage behind it and it was visible. It was easily movable so not sure why not cleaned

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear tskelly,

I appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We sincerely regret the streak of bad luck you had regarding to the issues in your room. I will certainly have the housekeeping department look into and further address your concerns.

Please be advised that your experience does not reflect the normal experience of our guests.

We would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations. So we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Park Hotel! Standards of the rooms were immaculate, staff were very friendly and helpful! The location of the hotel is just perfect! you're so close to the Leidesplein and all the shops, a canal cruise station is directly opposite, there's so much to do at your doorstep! The Momo cocktail bar is fantastic! We found the hotel very warm and inviting! It looked beautiful lit up at night time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne J, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Anglesonian,

I would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Park Hotel.

As you noted the location of our hotel is one of our strengths. We thank you kindly for recommending our hotel via Tripadvisor.

It will be an honour to welcome you again next time you visiting Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here recently with my children. This hotel cannot be faulted. The rooms, the service, the friendliness of the staff were exceptional. The hotel's location right next to Vondel Park, opposite the Hard Rock and close to Rijks Musuem makes it perfect to see the beautiful side of Amsterdam and all it has to offer. Trams, busses, taxies not to mention boats or bikes literally outside the front door. Would I return yes, would I stay at this hotel? In a heart beat !!!
Thank you to all the staff at the Park.

Room Tip: For family book a Junior Suite - we had a small balcony from which to check out the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Pamela N,

I’m very happy to read that you and your children enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel in Amsterdam.

We are heartened by your wonderful praise of our hotel, and would like to thank you taking the time to write this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We would welcome you again in a heart beat!

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.