We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€119 (EUR)
Ranked #72 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The Park is in the perfect location. The staff beyond helpful but there are issues. The basic rooms are extremely small, super plain. The junior suites are much nicer but way more expensive. Our biggest issue was the horrible amount of dust. The room on surface looks clean, bed etc... But there was literally an inch of dust of top of bed frame that when we opened windows blew everywhere. The bathroom had a freestanding pedestal in it with fake flowers on top there was inches of dust and literally garbage behind it and it was visible. It was easily movable so not sure why not cleaned

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear tskelly,

I appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We sincerely regret the streak of bad luck you had regarding to the issues in your room. I will certainly have the housekeeping department look into and further address your concerns.

Please be advised that your experience does not reflect the normal experience of our guests.

We would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations. So we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    549
    246
    98
    55
See reviews for
110
709
71
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Park Hotel! Standards of the rooms were immaculate, staff were very friendly and helpful! The location of the hotel is just perfect! you're so close to the Leidesplein and all the shops, a canal cruise station is directly opposite, there's so much to do at your doorstep! The Momo cocktail bar is fantastic! We found the hotel very warm and inviting! It looked beautiful lit up at night time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne J, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Anglesonian,

I would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Park Hotel.

As you noted the location of our hotel is one of our strengths. We thank you kindly for recommending our hotel via Tripadvisor.

It will be an honour to welcome you again next time you visiting Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here recently with my children. This hotel cannot be faulted. The rooms, the service, the friendliness of the staff were exceptional. The hotel's location right next to Vondel Park, opposite the Hard Rock and close to Rijks Musuem makes it perfect to see the beautiful side of Amsterdam and all it has to offer. Trams, busses, taxies not to mention boats or bikes literally outside the front door. Would I return yes, would I stay at this hotel? In a heart beat !!!
Thank you to all the staff at the Park.

Room Tip: For family book a Junior Suite - we had a small balcony from which to check out the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Pamela N,

I’m very happy to read that you and your children enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel in Amsterdam.

We are heartened by your wonderful praise of our hotel, and would like to thank you taking the time to write this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We would welcome you again in a heart beat!

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very nice, very trendy hotel with generally helpful reception. Very soft beds. A/C worked very well. Such an amazing location! Steps from a canal (and canal tours if you want that). Steps away from restaurants and bars. 10 minute leisurely stroll to coffeeshops, tourist areas, etc. But TINY room. Wow. TINY-er shower! Wow. Free in-room wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms without balconies are quieter, but rooms with balconies have open air accessibility. Non-balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear SMULawyer,

I was very pleased to note how you experienced and enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel in Amsterdam.

As you noted our central location is one of our strengths.

We are grateful for your support and we hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was very nice. Beds were comfortable, not too soft, and this is from a couple with bad backs.

The location was perfect for us, between Leidseplein, Museums Quarter and Amstel. There are also several trams stops nearby. Dam Platz and old city center are within walking distance.

The breakfast in the neighbouring Momo restaurant was rather pricy but good and diverse. However we would recommend having breakfast also in the nearby places such as Omelegg or Four pillars for pancakes.

The hotel staff was very friendly and rooms were clean.

You can also buy museum tickets from the hotel lobby.

The only notion is that the hotel is also very modern in a way that some might find uncomfortable: the toilet and the shower are two closets in a living room, separated by a blurred glass door. So we wouldn't probably recommend these rooms for a couple that just met.

The view from our room was very boring, some ceiling and walls. A street side would have been prettier, overlooking the old town, but probably way noisier too.

Arrival tip: when coming from an airport, the bus 197 stops only a couple hundred meters away, and costs 5 € per person.

Room Tip: The view from our room was very boring, some ceiling and walls. A street side would have been pretti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear moritz2006,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review . Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in your room.

We are happy that you have enjoyed all other facilities of the hotel and would be very grateful if you could give us another chance to fully meet your expectations.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a modern room with a view of the canal. The bathroom was large. I had room service and it was not great. The hotel was pricey but the location was fantastic - easy walk to van gogh museum or into the heart of the canals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear NCreviewer,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously, and will take appropriate actions to improve in these areas. You can always let us know during your stay if you experience any issues so the staff can offer you a solution.

We hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Super close to the museums, round the corner from the bus to the airport(5 euros versus 37 for a cab). Super friendly and helpful staff. Great bed. AC was nice and quiet. The room looked over a busy street with trams, so it was a little noisy. Even numbered rooms face away from the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne Z, Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Solarrichard,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel in Amsterdam. As you noted in your review our location is one of our strengths.

We would be pleased to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Warm regards,

Suzanne de Zwaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.