We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    510
    229
    92
    52
See reviews for
99
662
66
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went on a girls holiday as two mature ladies looking to visit the main attractions in masterdom e.g. Rijks museum and also eat out The concierge service was excellent The atmosphere in the hotel was very good and it location is superb Would recommend definitely to others!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Just a short note to thank you for your kind comments. Sounds like you had an amazing ‘girls holiday’. Maybe we have the honour to welcome you again during your next ladies weekend?

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Definitely a modern vibe going on here. I upgraded to a larger room which was very comfortable, clean, and up to date. The location is terrific, and the staff are VERY accommodating. The breakfast is great, too (although a bit pricey). I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A modern hotel with comfortable but small rooms. Room was clean and well maintained but the shower did stink of drains. The shower and WC were in the bedroom, separated from the sleeping area by glass walls. We were at the front end of the hotel so there was great of the canal, The hotel is in a great position. Trams and canal boats for getting around the city are really handy being not far from the front doors. Across the road there is the Casino, a Hard Rock Cafe and the Aran Irish bar as well as a selection of shops and other places to eat. The Vondel Park is almost next door if you fancy a walk or jog and the red light district, Central Station and Dam Square are all walkable though a bit of a way. Much nearer are attractions such as the Heineken experience, some of the main museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum) and Coster diamonds where you can learn about diamond cutting, polishing and various different things that affect the value of the stones as well as a museum of diamonds. Overall a great place to stay for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Front rooms are much better then the back ones. However don't take a room close to the cafe/rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a rail package involving a visit to the Rijksmuseum, which is practically next door to the Park hotel. It is also well placed for most other tourist sights in Amsterdam. The hotel is modern and smart, with lots of sleek black lines and chrome fittings. Our bedroom was comfortable, with two easy chairs and a good-sized bed- perhaps just a little too soft? Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice of hot and cold food, including rather nice little dishes with mouthfuls of salmon and herring.Having it included in our package was quite a bonus.The pastries were often replenished and there was a good variety of fresh fruit drinks. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had afternoon tea a couple of times in the Living Room, which was pleasantly served, with macaroons and chocolates. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing wrong was the design of our room. Other reviewers have said that the rooms are small and ours was certainly not spacious, but this was a small defect compared with the ridiculous design of the bathroom arrangements which weren't so much ensuite as actually in the room. The lavatory cubicle was extremely small and had no latch on the door, so swung open easily. When lying in bed one could look right into the cubicle, which one doesn't particularly want to do. Presumably the idea of having the washbasin in the bedroom was to give the impression of more space, but in fact it would have taken up less room to have had a normal ensuite without the stupid lavatory door and a proper partition wall around it. This was just tolerable for a couple of nights' break, but it would be unpleasant to spend longer in such a room. We found that it was preferable to use the hotel's public lavatories as being in fact more private.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Recommended by a friend and my boyfriend and I were so happy with our decision. I work in the hospitality industry so I tend to be critical but it was a great experience from beginning to end. The following to note:

-Safe and convenient location very close to Rijksmuseum, shopping, dining, tram stations and bus station.
-Friendly and helpful front desk staff who were patient in assisting us with mapping out our tour of the city. Suggested purchasing Rjiksmuseum entrance passes at the front desk but we did not pay attention and found a long line at the museum just to get in to purchase tickets. Walked back to the hotel (one block) to purchase tickets and we were then able to bypass the long line.
-Extensive breakfast buffet with everything you could think of or need and attentive staff.
-Spacious and modern guest room with WiFi access.

We would not hesitate to return to this hotel and when we are traveling to other cities, we will make sure to search for other Warwick hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoncliff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

somewhat expensive breakfasts [25 euros, reducing to 18 if pre booked], but excellent choice and freshly squeezed juices; friendly service. The bedrooms are of an interesting design; basin [without stopper]stands on a unit beside the bed, toilet and shower are in glass cubicles. Shower has giant water output which on full overwhelms its drains and speedily leaks into the room; from it arise drain odours. Air conditioning slightly noisy and in one of our three booked rooms hard to adjust. All is forgiven, as it is only a couple of hundred meters from the Riksmuseum.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Feedback is very important to us, as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points in our organization as we aim to serve our guests at the highest possible level. Therefore I’m sorry to read about the air-conditioning in the room, I hope you do understand that this is a coincidence and certainly not reflective of our standards.
I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to welcome you back in the future at the Park Hotel.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.