We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice area of amsterdham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€119 (EUR)
Ranked #75 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice area of amsterdham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

just arrived back so fresh in he mind !! found this hotel off trip advisor great value trams near leidserplien stop within reach of museums shops vondel park and about a 10 min ride to dam district polite staff lovely drinks and truffles mmmmmmmmmmmm only 1 fault the matteress on the beds were a bit large for the bases and if you are a restless person you could end up on the floor in the middle of the nite

Room Tip: we were in the back but I was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    552
    247
    99
    55
See reviews for
110
712
71
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I thought this hotel was brilliant. Close to all the cultural spots/museums etc.
The breakfast was excellent and if booked 24hrs before it is reduced.
The room was excellent, bit on the small side but what the hell, bathroom arrangements a bit of an oddity as the shower/toilet is really in the main room so you have to get on well!!
The beds were perfect (for us).
The room was at the rear of the hotel so no complaints regarding noise.

Overall a brilliant break in a brilliant city.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel rooms in Europe are small - fact! So we took a Junior Suite at the Park Hotel. I'm glad we did so as even it was hardly spacious. Nonetheless this is an efficient four star business hotel. It is a mere 200 metres to the newly renovated Rijkmuseum and to that extent is a perfect location. The van Gogh Museum is a further 5 minutes away and is also an essential visit. But I digress - this hotel is modern, has a strong service culture and MoMo its restaurant has brilliant food at good prices. Breakfast is as hearty as you want to make it. Beds and pillows are wonderful. Every thing worked! Just two words of caution - (1) its central location means it can be noisy so ask for a room facing away from the front street (2) I can't abide paying for the internet ... free WiFi is a right these days and hotels need to be brought to account if they don't provide it. Park Hotel management, this issue needs attention . PS don't forget to take in Rembrandt's House its so worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed a while ago but had a great time. The bedroom was both stylish and comfortable. The 'walk in wet room' in our superior room was small but as expected. The location is brilliant - right in the centre of the action - near the museams, the shops and a five/ten minute walk you'll find lots of lovely places on or near the canal to have breakfast. If I was in Amsterdam again and wanted to be in a similar location, I would definitely book again as I think it's fairly priced for the combination of contemporary decoration and city centre location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

For a reasonably expensive hotel, the Park Hotel is a bit of a let-down. The staff are very helpful and for the most part friendly. The 25 Euro charge for breakfast was way too high so I did not bother. I was attending a conference, and the conference facilities were pretty good with nice lunch and good coffee from machines with pods. The internet has free internet supposedly available only in the lobby areas, but it worked in my room on the first floor, and apparently on the second floor too. I guess this made up partway for the fact that it is an optional extra in the room, something a bit odd in this day and age, and alongside the ridiculous breakfast buffet price, does give the impression that they are trying to wring you for every penny.

The internet whilst free, required a new unique code each day that could only be used on one device - so if you needed to use wifi on your phone and also ipad/tablet/laptop then you had to ask for another., The system also appeared not to work very well. I had several duff codes in the 3 days I was there, and often their server/router went down when you were trying to authenticate.

The room:

When I asked if the rooms were double or triple glazed, I was told no, and so I asked for a quiet room. I was told it would look out over a courtyard. I guess maybe there is a translation issue as it looked out on the roof of the conference area. Still it was very quiet which was all I needed.

The bed was very comfortable.

TV was pretty old and did not have many stations.

The really odd thing was that there was no bathroom, simply an area of the bedroon that had a basin and some tiles and then 2 glass doors behind which were the loo and a shower.

The shower had a monsoon head which was nice. but the weird design of having the towel rail on the outside of the door meant that you either had to come out of the shower to get it, or open the door and reach around it to get the towel, both methods causing you to drip water all over the tiled part of the bedroom floor.

On the second morning, I came out of the shower to find a lake heading right to the room door.

Whoever designed the bedroom/bathroom setup must have sampled some of the local intoxicants!

In Summary:

They must think they are a boutique hotel, but they are not. It is an OK hotel in a convenient location where the customer is to be plundered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I were first time visitors to Amsterdam and stayed here. We found it to be within easy walking distance from Centraal station and it was a great way to start our stay by walking through the city to the hotel. It's in a great location to be within walking distance to all the major attractions and areas within the city.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we arrived too early to check in, it was no problem for us to leave our luggage in the luggage room so we could go and explore the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I know that some posters have found the bed too soft, but I found it to be perfect. There was no separate bathroom which was a different experience for us, but lovely power shower and again clean. Bedding and towels were changed regularly. The only downside to the room was that my reading light was coming out of the wall and wires were exposed. This wasn't fixed during our stay despite being reported. However, this was such a minor issue that it didn't impact on our stay in any way.

There is a sitting area downstairs in the lobby which was great for when you came back in the evening but didn't want to go straight to your room. There were drinks and free wifi there although it was a bit of a pain that the wifi code changed regularly and you had to request a new wifi code each time you came in. Also, the drinks were fairly pricey with 8.50 euros for a small glass of sauvignon blanc. We didn't have breakfast or eat at the hotel so can't comment on this.

All in all it was a really good stay and I would recommend it to other travellers and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel following reviewers on here's recommendation for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel. It's within walking distance of the Museumplein as well as Centraal station. There is an abundance of restaurants in the vicinity. Which brings me to the breakfast. 23.50 is a ridiculous price to charge for what is basically a continental breakfast. You can get a much cheaper full British breakfast for less than half that price in the local area.
The room was very comfortable. The bed was so soft that I could sleep in the afternoon, even though there was traffic outside. I love the continental pillows! The bathroom has plenty of supplies and decent size towels! The shower is over the bath.
There is an iron and ironing board which is really great -better than the usual trouser press. The mini bar is well stocked, and the tea and coffee are welcome. Other reviewers have criticised the size of the room, but you must bear in mind that the Dutch are economical with space!! One feature of the room that I didn't like was the decorative lights on the curtain rail. That's what keeps me awake!!

The lobby and reception are very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.