We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Hotel - luxury boutique?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Park Hotel - luxury boutique?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I truly understand that hotels all over the world are trying to over live the economical crisis as most of the businesses do - and this is the reason why sometimes price does not match the service provided. Park hotel in Amsterdam was definitely clean, good located hotel. I would not give this hotel 5* just because those small details that you are looking for in 5* hotels were not there. What I do not understand is why they switch off the access to the air conditioner in the morning or was it our room only? And what exactly was boutique about this hotel - In any case - if you are ready to pay this amount of money just for staying in city center go ahead, location is very good, otherwise I might try cheaper hotel...I think shower, wc, tv and comfy bed can be found in 4* and 3* hotels as well ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your comments about your Park Hotel experience. I would like to apologize for the for the fact that we didn’t meet up to your expectations. But please not that Park Hotel Amsterdam is not a 5* hotel but a 4* hotel. I hope you enjoyed the amazing area around Park Hotel during you stay and hopefully you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    609
    274
    112
    59
See reviews for
121
819
74
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elverum, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It`s get only a 3 from me, even it is a excellent hotel.
Internet is not for free in the room, if you are lucky you can catch the signal from the lobby.
But even if you do you only gets a card that admits you 1 hour.
ln 2012 the internet should be for free.
The staff is very nice and polite but it seems like they just been to the polite school.
It is not for real, just learned.
If it wasn`t for this 2 issues it would get a 5 from me.
The location is very good, we had window to the street and it was no noise.
Breakfast buffet is not too big but contain everything you need with good quality.
The split level loft suit is just outstanding.

Room Tip: Split level loft suit is really cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, I’m glad that you let us know where you thought we could improve. But of course I’m even happier to read that you loved your split level loft suite. I hope the ‘pros’ would out way the cons and you’ll consider staying with us again.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Park Hotel is one of these Boutique style hotels, you always have lounge music around you. The connected restaurant is great, the location as well. So what's missing? Well, a hotel is at first about accomodation. The rooms are small, bathroom is only partly renovated, the front road is so loud, that I could only sleep with earplugs. Than the front of the hotel is enlightened heavily, you can't block this completely when shutting the curtains. To make it look more appealing from the outside, some coloured LED lamps are inside the room behind the curtain and it could be a management game to find the switch.

For me, it is also about work. Wireless LAN doesn't work in every corner of the hotel and you have to open the connection manually again and again. The big conference room is almost without daylight, which makes it difficult to stay awake, the toilets are below the conference room and can be scented upstairs, the presentation equipment could be more up to date.

You end up at the counter paying and meet again these beautiful people and say to yourself: I should come back here, but not for business.

Room Tip: If they offer you a front room, change to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a few nights here with my wife while expiring the city. Great rooms, hotel bar is nice and full of 'trendy folk' so dress up. Easy walking into the nice parts of the city. Gym is okay too. Park nearby if you want to go for a run outside

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the great comments and for sharing your praises. We look forward to welcome you and your wife back to Park Hotel Amsterdam!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from staying in the Park Hotel and i was disappointed after reading the reviews on trip advisor.The location is good if you only want to stay down the expensive end of town.All the best pubs and coffee shops are located up the other end near Central Station in and around the red light area.Id imagine the majority of guests who stay in this hotel are slightly older and less inclined to want to venture up town to where the action is.
So to the actual hotel...
We spent the first two nights in a room facing the canal which was a mistake.The view was nice but the room was cold due to the windows which are ancient and let in a severe draft.We eventually figured out that the heating in the room takes about 30 mins to heat up.
We arrived back to the hotel on our third day of the trip to find a letter under the door to contact reception.Turned out our room developed a leak in the ceiling which was dripping down onto the bed so we were moved to an executive room which was a nice room and slightly larger than the very small standard room we just left.
During our stay we also got locked out of our room 3 times due to our keycards not working.
We didnt use MOMO restaurant as judging by the price of the breakfast we thought it best to venture up town and get dinner.
The breakfast was nearly 25 euro per head for a bit of toast,cerial,crossaint and tea/coffee.
Lastly when we went to check out they tried to charge us for having breakfast every morning which we clearly didnt.
All in all the hotel is very clean but the location didnt suit our needs.The room change and keycards not working 3 times was very inconvenient.The noise and draft in our first room facing the canal was very disappointing and all in a quite expensive supposedly 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write. Your stay with us sounded a little bit like a negative experience. Please accept my apologies. This is certainly not the level of service we aim to provide our guests.
I’m glad that our Executive Room suited your needs more than the Superior Room.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located to get to any place in the City. You can hop on and off of tram, canal boats, city bus, and easy to get to from the central train terminal. I would come back to stay here purely for its superb location.
The rooms are small and a bit noisy but that's what you get if you stay in any big city centers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
There is no better thing to read that our guest definitely will come back! So thank you for your great compliment. See you soon in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Avoid any rooms facing the canal / street as most of the rooms have extremely poor insulation from weather and noise making it impossible to sleep properly in the room with children..We had two rooms on 5th floor facing the canal but asked to change it to quite rooms looking inner part of the hotel without any view but much much better insulation ! It is impossible to understand that they have not done anything about this problem which is clearly visible in terms of aging window frames! However, Hotel management was quickin addressing the issue (assuming they get this complaint alot) Concierge is non-existing in practice (they are not update gave me the impression of this service being offered for the hell of it !) Rooms look clean but did not like the carpeting and small bath towels.. Lobby of the as well as in-house restaurant "momo's" is above average.. Overall, hotel does not justify the room rates it is currently enjoying...I would give it a 3-star and would probably try another hotel if I am back in amsterdam again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I would like to say thank you for taking time to write. First of all I want to give you my sincere apologies because it didn’t sound that you experienced the true Park Hotel feeling. Unfortunately Park Hotel isn’t really your style but I do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam with your kids. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we will definitely will take a closer look at it.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.