We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Form wins over function - unfortunately...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, Amsterdam 1071 ZD, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Hastings, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Form wins over function - unfortunately...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

As anyone reading these comments will have spotted, the reviews differ depending on what kind of package you are on. We had one to include breakfast which was generally brilliant (the scrambled egg could have been hotter) – we ate about four courses each and that filled us up for the rest of the day, but even so we would have baulked at paying 25 euro each for it separately.

It appears that the bathroom problems previously reported come from the type of room we were in – a “superior” ie the basic room. The trouble is that someone thought how stylish it would be to have freestanding shower and toilet cubicles, without actually considering the practicalities. Cubicles do not protect the other occupants of the room from noises and smells whilst they are in use, and there was no extractor fan to clear any pong lingering afterwards. The toilet cubicle also smelt badly of stale urine and clearly was not cleaned properly, and the overall structure was so small that when standing up from a sitting position one almost inevitably banged one's head on the wall. The shower had two sprayheads, one fixed, and once we worked out how to use it it was not bad, good water pressure and temperature. However, there was nowhere to easily dry towels eg if two of you had a shower in the same morning.

The bed was comfortable although the duvet was rather too warm (and this was in March!) but again, the designer had not thought hard enough about the lighting which was appalling. Each side of the bed had its own little bendy LED light which meant that instead of throwing out light, it was directed (eg onto your book) and gave the impression of reading by torchlight. There was a spotlight at the top of the wall to one side of the bed which was angled so as to blind you when you turned it on if you were still in bed, and the lighting for the bathroom mirror was useless (including the illuminated shaving mirror which did not illuminate). We had a room looking out over the main road (the Stadhouderskade) and the tram bells were a bit noisy, plus the people who decided to honk their car horns at 4.30am were annoying, but overall the noise wasn't too bad. The windows were also a bit drafty but again, not really a problem for us.

Plus points in the room – a real hairdryer, and the curtains blacked out fully. There were tea/coffee facilities (kettle, cups etc) in the wardrobe but we did not use these, nor the minibar in the fridge. Plenty of wooden coathangers but not a great deal of storage space for clothes if you are staying more than a few days.

Like others we only had breakfast in Momo but it did look very busy – there are, however, hundreds of good places to eat near the hotel of an evening. The location is good, far enough away from the city centre for peace and quiet but near to museums, shops, and so on – let's face it, you can walk pretty much anywhere in Amsterdam! We caught the 197 bus from the airport to very near the Rijksmuseum and the Park Hotel is just a short walk. The staff were helpful and the hotel itself is very stylish, with a lovely “living room” area in the lobby with designer seating, loads of books to read and beautiful art and sculptures to enjoy.

I would probably stay at the Park again as long as breakfast was included, but next time I'd go for a room with a properly separate bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor. Comments like this are very important to us and enable us to improve the Park Hotel experience. I am sorry to learn that the Superior Room wasn’t exactly your type of room. So as you say yourself, try our Executive Room next time.
Great to hear that you would love to stay in Park Hotel Amsterdam again!

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    534
    235
    93
    54
See reviews for
88
634
63
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

we stayed at the park hotel in april 2011 for 3 nights.
i asked at the desk if we can have canal-view room, we got one by paying €20/night.
it is a very nice place to stay, it's just next to the rijk and van gogh museom, and the area is just beautiful, the tram is around the corner. with few words : position of the hotel was great.
we had no breakfast, so i can't say anything about this, we prefer to sleep bit longer and have breakfast somewhere in a nice bar.
the only negative thing was the BED, the matress was tooo soft. i asked at the frontdesk if all beds in the hotel were similar....well, unfortunately yess. anyway , the bed-thing is a personel thing.
so, i can truely suggest the hotel to evrybody.

Room Tip: 358 canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are always glad to read that our guests are satisfied staying in our hotel. I am sorry to learn that you did not like our beds. You may be interested to learn that we have special Jensen Original zone system mattresses, a product that is designed to give our guests the “ultimate sleep experience’. It is a new generation of zoned mattresses that combine superior back support with a soft shoulder zone. But everybody has got their own style.
Hopefully we have the honour to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Smart, very clean, a little pricey (although not for Amsterdam). My room was overlooking the canal, on a busy road; the view was ok, but the road noise and noise from the bars on the other side of the canal did disturb my sleep.
Buffet style breakfast in the Momo restaurant wasnt included, but was very good, and it is a very pleasant place to eat.
The hotel is situated on the edge of the central district, so its just a pleasant stroll into town. Very convenient for the galleries, and Vondel Park; we hired bikes from the hotel for one day, and that was fun.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to learn that you did not have a good night rest in the Park Hotel. On a more positive note, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcome you at Park Hotel Amsterdam in the future.
Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My partner and I traveled with my 8 year old daughter. It is normally difficult to find rooms that accommodate 3 in Amsterdam so we were pleased that the Park did. We were offered a nice suite with a king bed and a pull out couch. Bathroom was awesome with shower and tub. Service was great, friendly staff and helpful. We had breakfast included with our stay and it was excellent. The only draw back was the fact that they charged for wii fi.
We got a nice rate via Gate 1 travel not through the hotel directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like this. We were pleased to notice that you had an excellent stay with the 3 of you and that we did meet up to your expectations.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

As some above had said I was somewhat worried about hotel room and noise. We booked this through an online agent in US and was completely satisfied with our experience at this hotel. We have traveled a great deal in Europe over the past few years and this room (superior) was of average size for those we have found. Beds were unusual but comfortable, bathroom was great (loved the heated floor!). Our breakfast was included and was very good and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly to us....NO PROBLEMS! The location I would say is perfect. I cannot imagine staying close to the city center. We requested a quiet room and we had one! That may not always be possible and it may help we stayed 4 nights. We did not eat at MoMo;s thought they were very busy.....there were many outstanding restaurants just around the corner!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The hotel is kind of outdated: windows in rooms won't work, extremely mini-room, with mini-closet and its mini-bathroom. Very reasonable for what you pay..
*(windows that don't work = no smoking! I wasn´t caught, but Spaniards are often fined at check-out for smoking in the rooms)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Just a short note to thank you for the review that you have left. I was sorry to learn that you find the hotel outdated because we recently finished a huge renovation. It is therefore disappointing that we have let you down in your expectations of the hotel.
As a result of local legislation Park Hotel is a completely non-smoking hotel.
Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Best regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in February 2011 with my boyfriend, sister and brother-in-law.

After booking I was slightly worried as so many of the reviewers seemed to be reporting slight niggles with the room which spoiled their stay and as this trip was to celebrate a milestone birthday I wanted everything to be as perfect as possible. The bathrooms especially sounded less than ideal.

I needn't have worried as the executive rooms we had booked had a 'proper' en-suite bathroom as opposed to the leaking walk-in showers in other rooms. The raindance shower was absolutely gorgeous.

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Ours was on the 7th floor with a view down over the canal and the rooftops of Amsterdam. There were no problems with noise. My only criticisms would be that the room was very dark - the lighting seemed inadequate and there were no bedside lights. It was also freezing cold the week we were in Amsterdam and it was difficult to maintain the room temperature - sometimes too cold, sometimes way too hot.

The staff we encountered were capable and friendly. However, even though we arrived way after check-in time had started, it did about 15 minutes to assign rooms to us, but I think a full hotel the night before had held things up slightly.

The hotel is smart and stylish with a gorgeous lobby area where you can sit and drink cocktails from the bar, sink into comfortable chairs and flick through the endless shelves of coffee table books. A lovely way to end a busy day walking around.

The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the museums (my main reason for choosing this hotel). However, nothing is that far away in the centre of Amsterdam. There was even a City boat cruise starting from right outside the hotel which was perfect for our first afternoon.

I would recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
I want to take this opportunity for thanking you by writing a review on TripAdvisor.
We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at Park Hotel Amsterdam in the future.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, Amsterdam 1071 ZD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.